ebookclassics

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

p&p

I have to whole-heartedly agree with the millions of fans over generations that declared Pride and Prejudice one of the best books ever written. I loved P&P from start to finish!

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

THE STORY
Elizabeth is the second eldest out of five daughters in the Bennett family. Perhaps because the family is not rich and has poor connections, Elizabeth’s mother, Mrs. Bennett is obsessed with marrying off her daughters to wealthy suitors. Things get interesting in their small community with the arrival of Mr. Bingley, a wealthy young man who brings along a small entourage consisting of his best friend, Darcy, his two sisters and brother-in-law. At a ball held shortly after the newcomers’ arrival, the Bennett family quickly discerns that jovial Bingley is attracted to eldest daughter, Jane, and fellow bachelor Darcy is nothing but arrogant and rude. In particular, Darcy slights Elizabeth not knowing she can hear every insult and this first impression influences her interaction with Darcy at future encounters. Even though her opportunities for marriage are limited, he is the last person in the world she would ever consider romantically. And so begins the tale of the lives and loves of the Bennett sisters, as seen through the eyes of Elizabeth.

THE GOOD
Pride and Prejudice is the ultimate romantic comedy which is probably why it has been adapted every which way imaginable. I laughed, gasped, worried and felt every frustration, hope, regret and desire along with Lizzy Bennett. She is an admirable heroine for being smart, independent, level-headed and humble enough to learn from her mistakes. Even though I knew the ending, the will-they or won’t-they tension of Elizabeth and Darcy’s courtship had me speed reading to find out what happened next.

THE BAD
As much as I was pleased with the happy ending, I found it a little hard to swallow that Darcy turned out to be such a softie in great contrast to who we meet at that very first ball.

CONCLUSION
Pride and Prejudice is not only a love story, but Austen’s examination of nineteenth century society and the opportunities or limitations young women faced due to their family, class and financial situation. I can’t imagine what it would be like for marriage to be one’s sole purpose day in and day out, with that fate determined sometimes by other people and sometimes just plain luck. You can’t help rooting for Elizabeth and Jane to find love and happiness, especially when up against so many obstacles both at home and in society. People are just downright mean to these girls! But at the end of the day, they have the last laugh and that’s what makes Pride and Prejudice such a satisfying read.

5/5 Stars

I read P&P for Austen in August 2014.

11 comments on “Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. heavenali
    August 19, 2014

    Oh I do love P &P 🙂 must read again soon although I have read it 4 times already 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 20, 2014

      It was my first time reading P&P and I enjoyed it immensely. Do you notice new things about the story every time you read it?

      Like

      • heavenali
        August 20, 2014

        I think so. Certainly read it on a different level now than my first reading of it . That is also true of my reading of Jane Eyre and several Hardy novels.

        Like

  2. Cecilia
    August 19, 2014

    I’m glad to read your very enthusiastic review! I read P&P in college and did not like it, but I am planning to re-read it now as an older adult as I think I may interpret it differently. There really must be a reason why it is so well loved. Was this your first time or was it a re-read?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 20, 2014

      It was my first time reading the book. I have heard quite a few people say they couldn’t stand it when they were younger because it was too frivolous and too concerned with domestic issues. I hope you enjoy it if you get the chance to re-read it.

      Like

  3. Ngan R.
    August 19, 2014

    I’m glad you enjoyed P&P. I recently began to re-read P&P (I think upon your mention of your reading it), and I notice that as I grow older, my reading of Austen’s novels are less in light of the romantic nature of the story, and more in seeing and trying to understand what these women were up against in the face of strict social and cultural norms at the time. The writing is witty and still entertains me through all these years, and I am always reminded how fortunate I am to have been born when I was.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 20, 2014

      I completely agree with you! We are so fortunate to have the freedom we enjoy everyday and not have the restrictions of women from Austen’s time. I can’t imagine how oppressive, frustrating and boring life would be! I think one of the reasons P&P is such a classic and resonates through the years is its strength as both social commentary and compelling romance.

      Like

  4. Brian Joseph
    August 23, 2014

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I have been reading a few of your posts and I am very impressed!

    You bring up a few good points. I also had trouble wrapping my head around Darcy’s personality at the end. I think that if a little bit of his social antagonism had showed itself his character would have been more believable.

    The luck or randomness of marriage was also striking. The elder Bennet’s found themselves on the wrong side of that issue.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 23, 2014

      My pleasure! I also enjoyed reading your blog. Darcy’s inconsistent behaviour did lead me to question whether he was a good fit for Elizabeth. But then again, I don’t want to mess with such a perfect happy ending!

      Like

  5. DoingDewey
    August 23, 2014

    Oh yay! I’m glad you liked this so much 🙂 I love this book and adore Jane Austen’s writing style, especially her sense of humor. Even though Austen sometimes ties things up a bit too neatly to be believable, I do enjoy seeing everyone get what they deserve. It’s a very satisfying kind of ending.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 28, 2014

      It was very satisfying! I knew I would like the book, but I was surprised by how good the ending made me feel.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

