ebookclassics

Blogger Diaries #6

collage

HOUSE OF ANANSI
Karen from One More Page and I had the opportunity to meet Carolyn and Cindy from House of Anansi. We had a wonderful time chatting about books, movies, TV shows, weddings and dating, among other things. The lovely ladies put together a thoughtful gift package for each of us based on our reading tastes and lifestyles. I immediately started devouring Hellgoing on the train after I left the restaurant. Thanks ladies if you’re reading this post!

anasi

* * *

OUTLANDER AND DIANA GABALDON … AGAIN
Are you looking forward to the Outlander premiere this Sunday? I watched the first episode online and it’s very impressive, gorgeous to look at and well cast. I found a video of the Diana Gabaldon event I attended and if you skip to 42:50 you can hear my question to Diana about commenting on blogs.

* * *

INSPIRE! TORONTO INTERNATIONAL BOOK FAIR
The event takes place November 13-16 here in Toronto and I have been waiting weeks for the author schedule to be released. It was definitely worth the wait because the schedule is jam packed. I was planning to take the Friday off to attend, but I just discovered that it’s a PA day for Ontario schools so I may have to go on the weekend. Stay tuned.

* * *

READING UPDATE
Lady Susan by Jane Austen – Review is coming. A very intriguing novella in the epistolary format about “‘the most accomplished coquette in England’. Curious to know if this has been made into a movie.

Hellgoing by Lynn Coady – Review is coming. A stunning collection of short stories some of which left me dazed and others scratching my head because I didn’t understand what happened. My typical response to short stories it seems.

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami – My first Murakami! … I don’t think I like it.

The Beautiful Truth by Colin McAdam – Introduced to me by Naomi at Consumed By Ink, I’m listening to the audio book. I will never complain about child narrators again now that I’ve had a chimpanzee’s perspective.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – The saga continues. Freemasons in Russia, who knew?

What are you reading? Are you panicking about the end of summer like I am?

6 comments on “Blogger Diaries #6

  1. A.M.B.
    August 22, 2014

    I can’t believe summer is almost over! I feel like I’ve barely had enough time to enjoy it.

    I haven’t read any Murakami, but I feel like I should give it a try.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 22, 2014

      It has flown by! Time feels like it’s constantly escaping me! I felt like I should try Murakami too, but I’m half-way through the book and not really enjoying it. But I will push on to the end to find out what happens.

      Like

  2. kmn04books
    August 22, 2014

    Oh no! I’m surprised that you didn’t like Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki! Looking forward to reading your point of view. I had such a great time at brunch with you, Carolyn, and Cindy! Hope to see you again soon 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 23, 2014

      Hope to see you again too! I’ve gotten deeper into the mystery of the four friends now, so things have become more interesting. I still don’t understand what the whole colour thing is about yet. Does that become clearer at the end of the story?

      Like

      • kmn04books
        August 23, 2014

        It’s explained fairly early on… I think you might have passed it already? Both the colorless part and “Years of Pilgrimage” part are explained!

        Like

  3. We had the best time at brunch! Thanks again for including us. We should certainly do it again soon!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2014 by in Headlines, Uncategorized and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

