ebookclassics

Blogger Diaries #6

caitlin 1

CAITLIN MORAN
I was sad not make it to Word on the Street in Toronto this past weekend, but I did have the opportunity to meet journalist and best-selling author, Caitlin Moran! Caitlin’s first work a fiction, How to Build A Girl, released this week and the book signing just happened to be taking place in my office building. If you’re familiar with Caitlin, you know the girl has rock n’ roll in her soul, so very curious that they would hold her event in the financial district and not somewhere — ahem — cooler.

A few amusing things happened while I waited in line:

  • Us early birds in line got into a earnest discussion about who would go up when she arrived because no one wanted to go first!
  • We hadn’t been waiting for very long, but one woman left the line and gave her book to one of the organizers, saying “I’m too Type A to wait.” What does that mean? Is she even a fan?
  • A mom with a stroller joined the line and I laughed when I saw that her baby boy’s t-shirt said: “Feminism”.
  • When my turn was next, an organizer asked if Caitlin’s old friend from London could butt in to quickly say hi. I was like, “Uh…”, but she walked away. Not like I’m going to stand in the way of Caitlin’s reunion, right?

Caitlin is gorgeous, so full of energy and enthusiasm for her fans. She hugged everyone that she met and chatted like she knew them forever. She didn’t sit on the chair provided, but chose to perch on the table so she could get up and greet each person. I was so excited to see her, I was shaking.

Caitlin told me the book tour was great because she was having a whole week away from kids and I asked if I could join her entourage because I needed a week off from my kids too! I mentioned listening to How To Be A Woman by audio book and she told me the How To Build A Girl audio book is narrated by Louise Brealey (eek! Molly from Sherlock) who is her very good friend.

caitlinmoran

* * *

read

BOOKS FINISHED

Girl Runner by Carrie Snyder – I loved this book so much! Read my review.

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro – An oldie, but a real goodie. An incredibly moving story, so thoughtfully written.

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton – Secrets and mysteries plague a very dysfunctional family in 17th century Amsterdam. A real page-turner!

Boundless by Kathleen Winter – An account of her Arctic voyage through the Northwest Passage. Beautiful, personal and complex, I had mixed feelings about this book that I’m still sorting through.

* * *

reading

UP NEXT
Jackaby by William Ritter – It bothers me that this book is a knock-off of Sherlock Holmes. Trying to read it and not judge.

Chez l’Arabe by Mireille Silcoff– I’m a big fan of Mireille’s National Post column. This is turning out to be the year of the short story for me.

Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan – Jim nails the absurdity of modern parenting.

How To Build A Girl by Caitlin Moran – I didn’t absolutely love How To Be A Woman, but I adore Caitlin so I’m going in with an open mind and an open heart.

How is your September going? What are you reading?

10 comments on “Blogger Diaries #6

  1. Naomi
    September 24, 2014

    I just read a really great review about How To Build A Girl over at The Gilmore Guide to Books. Made me want to read it! It looks like meeting the author was a lot of fun! Curious to hear your thoughts on Boundless.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 25, 2014

      I don’t know if this will make any sense, but in Boundless it seemed it was less about the journey and more about how the experience brought out certain memories and emotions in Kathleen Winter. I’m still processing how I feel about the book.

      Like

      • Naomi
        September 25, 2014

        I already feel bad for thinking this, now really bad for writing it, but was it a little boring? It kind of sounds like it, but I hope not!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          September 25, 2014

          I know exactly what you mean! I’m being cautious because I don’t want to say anything too negative because she is a gifted writer and it’s a thoughtful, personal book. It was a little boring but it helped to take a break from the book and come back fresh.

          Like

  2. lauratfrey
    September 25, 2014

    Wow! How cool. You look beautiful.

    Have you read Dad is Fat? I kind of want to get it for my husband (hopefully he wouldn’t be insulted!)

    I’ve got Chez L’Arabe coming my way too.

    I still feel like I’m drowning in reviews. Thinking of taking a little break in October. Gonna read some books and not tell ANYone what I think about them. How weird would that be? 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 25, 2014

      Chez L’Arabe is really good. I can’t put it down right now. So there may be some hope for me and short stories.

      Ha ha, I hope he won’t be insulted too. I found Jim Gaffigan’s observations on parenting and kids spot-on. So much I grew a little bored because all of it was nothing new to me. But it’s definitely funny.

      The number of books and reviews is overwhelming, isn’t it? A break is a good idea. I don’t think it’s weird at all to just read and not review every single one. I feel this has been on your mind for awhile. Do it and enjoy! 🙂

      Like

  3. citygirlscapes
    September 25, 2014

    Very cool, glad you went to see her! I’m looking forward to reading about what you think of How To Build A Girl.
    – ashley

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 25, 2014

      Thanks! The story has lots of humour and silliness, but in a good way so far. We shall see … 🙂

      Like

  4. DoingDewey
    September 29, 2014

    That’s so awesome! I would love to meet Caitlin Moran. She sounds like a lot of fun!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      September 30, 2014

      Meeting Caitlin was super cool and fun. I will never forget it. And on top of that, How to Build A Girl is turning out to be a good book.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

