ebookclassics

How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran

Click to visit Caitlin Moran's website.

Click to visit Caitlin Moran’s website.

I actually wrote this review on Wednesday and instead of saving the document, CLOSED it! Worst. Feeling. Ever. Well. Almost.

THE BOOK
British journalist, Caitlin Moran’s How To Be A Woman is a hilarious part memoir, part thought piece on feminism and other issues concerning gender equality. To emphasize some of her points, Caitlin shares anecdotes from her personal life, including her childhood in a working class family, identity and body issues she faced as a teenager, becoming a music journalist in a male-dominated industry, getting married and starting a family.

THE GOOD
I listened to the audio book for How To Be A Woman and enjoyed hearing Caitlin’s voice ranting inside my ears. Although Caitlin her spin on feminism is nothing we haven’t heard before, I did nod along to the odd nugget of wisdom and laugh out loud to some of her memorable quips, such as:

“So here is the quick way of working out if you’re a feminist. Put your hand in your pants.
(a) Do you have a vagina? and
(b) Do you want to be in charge of it?
If you said ‘yes’ to both, then congratulations! You’re a feminist.”

THE BAD
Overall, How To Be A Woman is light on substance and heavy on Caitlin’s joking. As much as I enjoyed hearing her speak so passionately about feminism and other subjects, I feel the conversation she is trying to start is greatly drowned out by the long and sometimes not very funny stories she shared.

CONCLUSION
For years, I have enjoyed Caitlin Moran’s interviews with musicians and celebrities because her loud, fan girl personality always makes the conversation much more interesting and unique. However, in How To Be A Woman, Caitlin’s chatty, exclaiming style interferes with her message. I realize listening to the audio book could be the problem and maybe I should go back and read the print book, but I still doubt I will learn anything earth-shatteringly new. Yet Caitlin’s enthusiasm truly is contagious and inspiring, and I hope she writes another book in the near future. As she says: “If you eat enough books, you start pooping out words.”

2/5 Stars

7 comments on “How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran

  1. Cathy746books
    October 2, 2014

    I’ve read the book and I don’t think you will read anything new, but I think that Moran’s style and wit are what is most enjoyable about the book, She is also incredibly funny to follow on Twitter.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 2, 2014

      Ooh, thanks for saying that because I was wondering when I’d find time to pick up the book (probably never). I’m reading her new YA book and it’s pretty good.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Naomi
    October 2, 2014

    Ha! “If you eat enough books you start pooping out words.” She sounds like a charismatic lady, and I’ve heard lots of good things about How to Build a Girl, but this one doesn’t sound like one I would like. It reminds me of the books by comedians. They seem so much less funny in their books.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 2, 2014

      That’s a very good point about comedians. She’s very funny as a pop culture personality, but it gets in the way of way she’s trying to do here I think.

      Like

  3. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    October 2, 2014

    Hmm I think my blog must be me pooping out words. LOL I seem to remember some positive buzz on this book, and it sounds like a fun read. I think I would enjoy this if I was in the mood for something just entertaining and not as thought-provoking. I love the quotes you put up in your review, so that’s a good indication I would enjoy it. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 2, 2014

      Ha ha, I don’t normally quote from books (because I never remember them or write them down), but this one had so many good zingers, I had to include them.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

