ebookclassics

Dad Is Fat by Jim Gaffigan

dad

I used to read parenting books like crazy, but discovered that the best solution is just to ignore the kids. Joking! I’m just joking. The best solution is to read a book and forget I have kids.

THE BOOK
Comedian Jim Gaffigan has five kids. Five kids! His new book is a collection of essays (he acknowledges that his wife co-writes everything with him) that nails the joy, frustration and absurdity of modern parenting. Topics covered in Dad Is Fat include comparing babies to puppies, getting ready to go out, determining how much money the “Toothfairy” should pay, the insanity of children’s birthday parties, ridiculous children’s literature and sleep training, just to name a few.

THE GOOD
Dad Is Fat is truly hilarious. I laughed out loud many times and I was listening to the audio book, so imagine me trying to suppress my giggles on the train. About 98% of the parenting situations Jim talks about my husband and I have lived and survived. We could be war buddies with Jim.

THE BAD
Although the essays are kept quite short and most of the stories are good, some of the jokes that weren’t based on real parenting experiences fell flat for me.

CONCLUSION
Jim Gaffigan is a very likeable comedian who prefers keeping his laughs clean and Dad Is Fat is a prime example of his kind of comedy. Jim’s acute observations about parenting and kids will make any parent, grandparent, uncle, aunt, babysitter or anyone who deals with little people smile. It sends a comforting message: yes, the kids are making us all crazy, but its okay. At least we’re not alone.

3.5/5 Stars

7 comments on “Dad Is Fat by Jim Gaffigan

  1. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    October 10, 2014

    I love Jim Gaffigan’s humor but haven’t picked up this book yet – sounds like I definitely need to get it as an audiobook though! I’m glad it was laugh out loud funny! I don’t have kids, so it will be just the Jim’s humor that would be the draw for me. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 14, 2014

      It’s really funny. I don’t think you have to have kids to enjoy Jim’s humour.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    October 13, 2014

    The best comedy is always based on the stuff you’ve experienced yourself. This one sounds like a lot of fun. I’d like to get it for my husband. He reads too much news, and needs a good laugh.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 14, 2014

      Your husband will probably relate to a lot of the stories Jim tells. I hope he enjoys it!

      Like

  3. I have the feeling I’d like this. Something about that guy cracks me up. I bet my hubby would like it too 😀

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 15, 2014

      Jim is super funny and I think husbands and Dads would really appreciate his kind of humour.

      Like

  4. Amber O (AmberBug)
    October 16, 2014

    I haven’t seem much of his standup, so maybe I should read this. It sounds like most of the complaints I’ve heard is the rehash of jokes.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

