ebookclassics

Chez L’arabe by Mireille Silcoff

chez

Almost every Saturday I read the book reviews in the National Post and if there’s time, I’ll flip through the rest of the Weekend section. There are quite a few regular columnists, but I’ve always been drawn to Mireille Silcoff because her observations are so funny and sharp. I even enjoy when she writes about trying to include more of her Jewish faith and culture in the life of her family.

THE AUTHOR
Mireille Silcoff is an award-winning Canadian journalist and founding editor of Guilt & Pleasure Quarterly, a magazine of Jewish writing and ideas.

THE BOOK
Chez L’arabe is a collection of short stories that feature characters whose lives are turned upside down in one way or another and how they deal with the disruption. The pièce de résistance is a group of loosely linked stories centered on the narrator’s bout (and Mireille Silcoff’s real-life struggle) with a rare neurological illness that leaves her incapacitated at home. As one day dissolves into the next, out of loneliness and boredom she plots a daring escape.

THE GOOD
Overall, I really enjoyed these intelligent and impassioned stories. I imagine Mireille Silcoff found writing incredibly therapeutic when she was ill, as you can intuit how she worked out her feelings through these stories about lack of control and being controlled, betrayal of the body and betrayal by people, hopelessness and finding some kind of dignity in the face of hardship.

THE BAD
Chez l’arabe is an excellent collection of stories, but there were one or two stories I didn’t understand. Just my usual it’s-not-you-it’s me situation with short stories.

CONCLUSION
Chez L’arabe was one of those books I became wholly absorbed in and couldn’t put down. I was most fascinated by the characters who tolerated someone whose personality and needs overshadowed their own (mothers and daughters, anyone?).  As well, I enjoyed reading how the narrator/Mireille tried to survive her bedridden state: watching the moon from different windows, studying the intricacies of the pattern in a curtain. As Mireille Silcoff’s fictional debut, this book deserves all of the praise it has received. I can’t wait to see what she writes next.

4/5 Stars

NOTE: I received a copy of Chez L’arabe with much thanks to House of Anansi, but this in no way influenced the thoughts and opinions expressed in my review.

5 comments on “Chez L’arabe by Mireille Silcoff

  1. Amber O (AmberBug)
    October 16, 2014

    I’ve been really getting into short stories this year, sounds like this one might be on to check out.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 17, 2014

      I’ve been reading a surprising number of short stories too. I had difficulties with the way stories would end abruptly or the lack of time to get to know characters, but they have really grown on me.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    October 16, 2014

    I was just reading Kirt’s review of Hellgoing, and now this one sounds good, too! Two good options for next year’s Summer of the Canadian Short Story.
    You also remind me that I need to remember to read the reviews at The National Post more often. You know, in all my free time.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 17, 2014

      Yes, our precious free time … heh heh. I’m lucky if I get to read the book section before my youngest destroys it. He intuitively seems to know it’s the only part of the newspaper I care about it. 🙂

      I feel like there’s a renaissance for short stories in the Canadian literary world (if they ever did go away). I think we’re going to be seeing a lot of amazing collections coming our way.

      Like

      • Naomi
        October 17, 2014

        There do seem to be a lot of great short story collections coming out lately. Hopefully, they won’t all be the kind that leave us wondering what just happened.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

