ebookclassics

Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon 2014 Preview

dewey

Last year I participated in Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon as a Cheerleader. Since I spent so much time visiting blogs and on Twitter, I realized I could have actually been participating and reading in all that time. So here I am taking part in my first readathon. I currently have the flu and will probably have to take care of little people, so my expectations are set low. But I think I can find a way to squeeze a few things in and make this happen.

* * *

THE BOOKS

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving – I’m not currently watching Sleepy Hollow, but the show sounds cool and has regenerated interest in this spooky tale.

The Lottery by Shirley Jackson – I missed The Haunting of Hill House read-along in September and have never read anything by Shirley Jackson before, but she seems to get raves as a writer.

The Awakening by Kate ChopinThe Awakening has been on my TBR for awhile and this seemed like a good opportunity to read the story.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Khaling – I’ve already started the audio book and think this will mix things up. I can listen to it when my kids are watching movies or something (I don’t really need to watch Madagascar or Monsters Inc. for the millionth time).

Consumed by David Cronenberg – I’m currently reading this debut by the famous director and it’s not as weird as his movies, but I can’t figure out how I feel about it. Indifferent?

* * *

I will have a master post up tomorrow when the readathon starts 8 am EST. Keep checking back to see my hourly progress and to cheer me on!

20 comments on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon 2014 Preview

  1. Amber O (AmberBug)
    October 17, 2014

    I was just sick as well, what a PERFECT time for a read-a-thon. Happy reading my friend! Arianna and I will be heading to NYC for a Hachette book event, thankfully my cold has subsided… I would have been super disappointed to miss this one.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 17, 2014

      Ugh, I think everyone is sick now. Wow, NYC sounds so exciting. Have a great time and can’t wait to hear all about it!

      Like

  2. Cecilia
    October 17, 2014

    Those are great books! I remember being so frightened and disturbed by The Lottery when I read it in school. I’m sorry to hear you have the flu! I hope you get better soon and hope that reading will be the perfect cure 🙂 I may be able to join in the readathon this time…it will be the perfect motivator as I really need to make some progress in my reading pile.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 17, 2014

      Thanks! Today is better than yesterday, although maybe everything is supressed by the medication. 🙂 Ooh, good to know The Lottery is scary. I wanted something a little creepy. I hope you can join the readathon. I’m also using it as an excuse to read a bunch of books and stories I know are short, quick reads.

      Like

  3. lauratfrey
    October 17, 2014

    THE AWAKENING. YES. It’s so good.
    I need more details about how to read-a-thon with kids. I get my reading in while they watch their last show before bedtime, when they’re (kind of) calm, but other than that, they are on me the second I try to focus on something else!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 17, 2014

      Oh, good to know about The Awakening. I’ve heard so much about it. My kids are the same and will even grab the book and throw it across the room sometimes, LOL! If they are distracted, I might be able to sneak a chapter or two. If they are watching something, I’ll listen to an audio book for a little bit. Most of the time, I have to wait until they are sleeping or wait until I commute. Is it the same for you?

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        October 17, 2014

        Yep, same for me, and I have had books thrown, defaced, bookmarks snatched, etc! Unfortunately I have to drive to work (daycare/school drop offs) so I don’t even get the commute. In two years, when they are both in school, I will start taking the bus to work, and will get more than an hour extra reading per day! I can’t wait! So do you listen on headphones in the same room, or do you hide somewhere? I fully support hiding from one’s children haha.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          October 17, 2014

          Ha ha, I totally forgot about the bookmarks. Sometimes I go to another room and read for a few minutes until I feel guilty and go back to see what they’re doing. Sometimes I just openly listen to my audio book while they play or watch cartoons until they start asking me questions and I feel I should focus on them. When I was reading Chez L’arabe and Girl Runner, books like that, I read voraciously without shame in front of my kids and husband because I just could not put the book down! 🙂

          Like

          • lauratfrey
            October 17, 2014

            Heh I did that with Girl Runner too. Like, reading at the breakfast table. And possibly the dinner table. Kids aren’t good conversationalists anyway.

            Like

    • Naomi
      October 17, 2014

      I was just wondering the same thing – how do you do a read-a-thon with kids? I already read in all my spare time. I have no more possible time to squeeze in any reading. Hiding from the kids is an idea that could work for a few minutes at a time. Also, there would be no supper and no clean clothes. 🙂

      Like

      • ebookclassics
        October 17, 2014

        It’s true, I will have housework too and other things. My plan is to sneak in what I can during the day and then get a few hours of sleep after putting the kids to bed, get up and read between maybe 11pm-3 am. I chose very short books and stories, so hopefully I will finish something! This is how I watch all the TV that I do. I know, it’s insanity. 🙂

        Like

        • Naomi
          October 17, 2014

          It sounds like fun, though. I will try to get some extra sleep for you. 🙂

          Like

  4. Naomi
    October 17, 2014

    Since I won’t be joining in, I will have fun following along with you! I’ve had The Awakening on my list a long time. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it. Good luck with your reading, and I hope you feel better soon!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 17, 2014

      Thanks so much! I feel okay right now, but that might be the meds talking!

      Like

  5. rivercityreading
    October 17, 2014

    Sorry to hear you’re sick, but glad you’re still planning to give the Readathon a shot! It looks like you have some great books lined up (I have Shirley Jackson, too!).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 18, 2014

      Thanks! I didn’t want to pass up the challenge and I’ll be home most of the so why not? Have fun with the readathon and I look forward to reading your posts!

      Like

  6. I LOVE The Lottery and The Legend of Sleepy Hollow! Hope you do too 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 18, 2014

      Thanks, I’m glad to hear that. It’s so comforting to know I picked good books because I’m going to be stuck with them for the next 24 hours! 🙂

      Like

  7. Darlyn
    October 18, 2014

    Great choices! I read The Awakening a few years ago, and I loved it. It raised so many questions about a woman’s role in society. I’m participating for the first time this year, and I’m very excited.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 18, 2014

      The themes of The Awakening really appealed to me. Also, I love stories where women go somewhere new and find themselves. Have fun with the marathon and I look forward to reading your posts.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

