ebookclassics

How To Build A Girl by Caitlin Moran

girl

Some of you may remember I met Caitlin Moran at a book signing a few weeks ago. Caitlin shared with me that How To Build A Girl is the first book in a series about the adventures of Johanna Morrigan/Dolly Wilde.

THE STORY
Fourteen year old Johanna Morrigan looks at her unemployed, alcoholic father, inattentive mother and grubby, hungry siblings, and realizes to make her dreams of becoming a writer true, she needs to escape the impoverished life of her family. Also, she’s tired of being a geek and boring and not being taken seriously by others. In a moment of inspiration, Johanna decides to completely reinvent herself. Two years later at sixteen, Johanna is now Dolly Wilde, a confident, chain-smoking party animal. She lands a job at a music magazine which becomes her gateway to all of the rock n’ roll and sexual adventures she thinks she needs to truly become Dolly Wilde. The results are mixed. Along the way she befriends, John Kite, an alcoholic music star that is Dolly’s father figure, mentor and crush all rolled up in one. Dolly makes plenty of shameful mistakes, but is determined to be a self-made woman and in charge of her own destiny. To grow up on her own terms.

THE GOOD
Reading How To Build A Girl was like reliving my own youth with all its excruciating faux pas and missteps, but also the hopes and dreams I had for the future. I could relate to Dolly’s dissatisfaction with herself and attempt to find a tribe or something or somewhere to belong. As the story is set in the nineties, I also enjoyed the nostalgia trip, as Dolly constantly referenced songs, bands, movies, TV shows, books and celebrities that I knew and loved so much.

THE BAD
The language in How To Build A Girl can be quite crude and explicit, with liberal use of the “C” word and descriptions of genitalia, so this story may not be for everyone. Such language reminded me of how much swearing I did as a teenager and one particular friend whom some of the grown-ups in our lives had nicknamed “Foulmouth” because she was the worst of us.

CONCLUSION
Since I read How To Build A Woman mere weeks before picking up this book, I couldn’t help noticing how Catilin Moran’s memoir and How To Build A Girl mirrored one another, as Dolly Wilde very much resembled Caitlin’s younger self. However, the funny and touching coming-of-age story in How To Build A Girl stands head and shoulders above the memoir. I couldn’t help falling in love with Dolly Wilde because of her sweet naiveté, energy and enthusiasm for life.

3.5/5 Stars

6 comments on “How To Build A Girl by Caitlin Moran

  1. The Paperback Princess
    October 23, 2014

    Seems like if you read How to Be a Woman recently, this book is a lot of repeat. I still want to read it – I love Caitlin Moran! – but maybe it’d be better as a library read. Or I will just wait a while.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2014

      If you are a Caitlin Moran fan, you may want to go ahead and get the book. I think you will like the story if you enjoy her style of writing (lots of energy, caps and exclamation marks!). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Naomi
    October 23, 2014

    Ha! It makes me wonder what name I would come up with for myself if I wanted to re-invent my life. Dolly Wilde sounds like it fits perfectly for her.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2014

      Dolly Wilde is such a fantastic name, I also loved it. I would probably change my name to is I was going to reinvent myself. Not sure what …

      Like

  3. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    October 23, 2014

    This sounds like an interesting read! I’m a little more drawn to Moran’s memoir, but I like the idea that she wrote a fictional book that is sort of a companion to her memoir.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 23, 2014

      I’m not sure if she intended for her novel to complement her memoir, but it was fun to be familiar with the origins of the story. The memoir does talk about other stages in her life like her career, getting married and having kids. I think this is also explored in Moranthology which I haven’t read.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

