ebookclassics

Nonfiction November 2014 – Introduction Post

nonfictionnov

Next month I will be participating in Nonfiction November, a reading challenge hosted by Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness, Katie at Doing Dewey, Rebecca at I’m Lost In Books  and Leslie at Regular Rumination. The event includes weekly discussions and read-alongs. I started reading non-fiction again a few months ago and thought this might be a fun way of finishing the books on my list for 2014.

Here are some of the books I’m going to try and read for the event:

nonfiction

Unbroken by Lauren Hillenbrand – A little ahead of the game, I just started listening to the audio book. I read and loved Seabiscuit by Lauren Hillenbrand, so I expect this true story about an American Olympian turned Army Air Force pilot who survives an airplane crash to be gripping and poignant.

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai – As co-recipient of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize and made an honorary Canadian citizen as of last week, it seems timely to finally read Malala’s memoir.

The Map Thief by Michael Blanding – This book first came to my attention thanks to Katie at Doing Dewey’s book review. The story of a map dealer who is secretly a map thief, plus the history of map creation and collecting, this book sounds so oddly intriguing.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler – I’m a huge SNL fan and was so sad when Amy left the show. I can’t get into Parks and Recs and even though Amy keeps popping up in unexpected places (the Emmys, Anchorman 2), I say yes please to 329 pages of nothing but Amy.

Into The Blizard: Walking the Fields of the Newfoundland Dead by Michael Winter – Just in time for Remembrance Day in Canada, the story of the young men from Newfoundland who joined the Royal Regiment that fatally fell at the Battle of the Somme in France is paralleled by the author’s retracing of their journey from Canada to Europe.

Are you participating in Nonfiction November? Have you read any good nonfiction lately?

38 comments on “Nonfiction November 2014 – Introduction Post

  1. My Book Strings
    October 29, 2014

    I’m participating as well, with a book about the collapse of the Berlin Wall. I read Unbroken earlier this year and was very impressed. Into the Blizzard sounds interesting…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 29, 2014

      What is the name of your book? I find the history of the time when the Berlin Wall fell also fascinating. Most of the reviews I’ve read for Unbroken have been very positive, so I look forward to getting more into the story.

      Like

      • My Book Strings
        October 29, 2014

        It’s called The Collapse: The Accidental Opening of the Berlin Wall by Mary Elise Sarotte. It’s pretty new, and I only stumbled across it yesterday.

        Like

  2. The Paperback Princess
    October 29, 2014

    I just read Hitler’s Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields. It was well written but oh so bleak. Even though these things happened like 70 years ago they are still so so so horrifying.I haven’t read too much non-fiction this year and the stuff that I have read seems to have all been about the Nazis…should probably make an effort to shake that up a bit!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 29, 2014

      Ooh, that book sounds intense. Yes, I think something a wee bit lighter and on a different subject might be in order. 🙂 Do you like reading memoirs?

      Like

      • The Paperback Princess
        October 29, 2014

        I do! Its funny i have actuakly read Lena Dunham’s book but forget to count those kind of books as nonfiction. Seems too fun to be non fiction you know?

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          October 30, 2014

          Did you enjoy Lena’s book? It took me awhile to associate fun books as nonfiction too. I used to think nonfiction was dry and boring.

          Like

          • The Paperback Princess
            October 30, 2014

            I did enjoy her book. It was all kinds of wonderful and weird and thought provoking. And it had darling illustrations. I think that’s a common misconception about nonfiction. There is SO MUCH GREAT nonfiction out there. You just have to know what kind you like!

            Like

  3. rivercityreading
    October 29, 2014

    Oh, I really enjoyed The Map Thief! I’m glad to see you’ll be picking it up. And I’ve been wanting to read Unbroken forever!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 29, 2014

      Thanks, it’s good to have another opinion of The Map Thief. I was thinking of reading all women non-fiction because I was inspired by your post and Kim’s post, but Unbroken and other books have been on my list forever too.

      Like

  4. Cathy746books
    October 29, 2014

    I might do this. Is there a minimum number you have to read or would one do? 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 29, 2014

      You can definitely just read one book and post about it, or just participate in the discussions. It’s a really flexible challenge and there’s more about it in this post. I hope you join in! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Naomi
    October 29, 2014

    I read Unbroken about a year ago and really liked it. Sometimes I found it a bit choppy, but the story itself was so amazing that it didn’t matter. You have chosen a good mix of all different topics! I’ve also been thinking about reading Into the Blizzard. Have you read anything else by Michael Winter?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 29, 2014

      I haven’t read anything else by Michael Winter, so it will be interesting starting out with his first work of nonfiction. Have you read any of his books/short stories?

      Like

      • Naomi
        October 30, 2014

        No, I haven’t either. I was thinking the same thing.

        Like

  6. Michael Blanding
    October 29, 2014

    I love that you are reading my book! I’ve been on a non-fiction kick myself, so I guess I am unofficially participating in Non-Fiction November. I’ve been reading a fascinating book about a fraudulent painting called The Boston Raphael by Belinda Rathbone, It was a big scandal in Boston back in the 1970s, involving the author’s father who was director of the Museum of Fine Arts at the time, and she goes back to try and discover the truth. And also reading a book about Berlin called Berlin: Now. I’ll have to pick up the one about the Berlin Wall as I am travelling there for Thanksgiving… I also came across this blog post – http://floatinglush.wordpress.com/2014/10/29/non-tawdry-true-crime-50-in-60-nonfiction-book-blast-at-mla-2014/ – and really want to read Death in the City of Light. Another gruesome book about World War II and Nazis, but with a twist…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 30, 2014

      Hi Michael, thanks for stopping by my blog and sharing your nonfiction picks. Hmm, it seems books about the Nazis are very popular. The Boston Raphael sounds really cool and I think I will have to check it out. Thanks also for sharing the non-tawdry true crime list, as there are some very intriguing books on that list … although I had to look up “tawdry”. 🙂 Have a wonderful trip to the Berlin and I hope you come back and let us know what you think about the books you’re reading.

      Like

  7. Brian Joseph
    October 30, 2014

    These look to be a great bunch of books.

    I have heard really good things about I Am Malala and The Map Thief. I look forward to your commentary on them.

    I try to balance an equal mix of fiction and non fiction. As of late I have been reading more fiction however.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 30, 2014

      Thanks Brian! I think I stayed away from nonfiction for so long because I thought the content would be too heavy or difficult to understand, but I realized there are so many great books out there written with the general public in mind. I also realized I enjoy life stories about real people as much as I do fictional characters.

      Like

  8. jessicabookworm
    October 30, 2014

    I hope you enjoy your non-fiction reads. It has been my on going goal to read more non-fiction this year. I have just finished a brief history on the crusades which was very interesting.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 30, 2014

      Thanks so much! What was the title of your book? I find the history of that time period fascinating too.

      Like

  9. writereads
    October 30, 2014

    The Map Thief does look fascinating! My faves in non-fiction are Bill Bryson and Anthony Bourdain (there’s something about his crass style that I enjoy in writing, if not so much in person on his tv shows) and I LOVE Beryl Markham’s West With the Night. Have fun with this challenge – I don’t think I could ever do a whole month of non-fiction, you are a braver woman than I 🙂 -Tania

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 30, 2014

      Thanks Tania! I’ve read Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain, but nothing by Bill Bryson. What do you recommend?

      Like

      • writereads
        October 31, 2014

        Sheesh, what don’t I recommend? I’d recommend looking through his books to see which topic interests you most, but he even got me interested in baseball history, he’s that good, so you don’t even have to be interested in the topic. I like his travel memoirs, I like A Short History of the World…it’s too hard to pick! -Tania

        Like

  10. Hope you like Amy Poehler’s book! I’ve had my eye on it for a while, so I’m curious to see what you think 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 30, 2014

      I expect it to be very funny and I’ve been trying to avoid all of the spoilers on the internet like “50 Amazing Quotes from Yes Please!” or “Great Advice From Amy Poehler’s Book!”, etc.

      Like

      • Ugh spoilers! I’ve been dealing with those a lot lately since Gilmore Girls came out on Netflix. I’ve never watched the series before, and right now I’m watching it with my mom but we aren’t able to binge watch it so we’re only halfway through the first season. But I keep seeing posts and quizzes and spoilers everywhere because apparently I’m the only one who hasn’t watched this show before =P

        But I’m thankful for reviewers who are spoiler-free, or who at least warn of spoilers beforehand.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          October 31, 2014

          Oh darn those spoilers! But I hope you and your mom are enjoying Gilmore Girls. It’s so cute that you’re watching it together.

          Liked by 1 person

  11. Christine
    October 30, 2014

    This is just the push I need to finish The Guns of August by Tuchman, and to read Wild Genius on the Moors, the Bronte biography by Juliet Barker.

    Like

  12. ebookclassics
    October 30, 2014

    Wild Genius on the Moors is a fantastic title. I bet that book will be really good. Happy reading and I look forward to your reviews!

    Like

  13. Great pile of books! The Map Thief is really great, and I’m also excited about Amy Poehler’s book. I’m glad you’ll be joining us!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 31, 2014

      Thanks Kim! Can’t wait to get started and talk about books with everybody.

      Like

  14. janceewright
    October 31, 2014

    I’m participating!! I think I’m just going to stick to the two that they officially picked…I think it was The Restless Slept and also Cleopatra. I’m moving this weekend, plus doing a reading challenge with my roomie in November, plus there’s Thanksgiving, so it’s such a busy time.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 31, 2014

      I was going to read the Cleopatra book, but then I realized I had so many nonfiction books in my TBR and thought I should tackle them instead. Good luck with your move and all the other events in November!

      Like

  15. DoingDewey
    November 5, 2014

    I’m glad you’re planning on joining in! That’s a fun looking to-read list!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

