ebookclassics

Nonfiction November 2014 – My Year In Nonfiction

nonfictionnov

I had read zero nonfiction this year until my friend lent me her copy of Chris Hadfield’s An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth in May. Since then, I’ve managed to read nine more nonfiction books, most that I listened to by audio book. This is what I’ve read so far:

  • An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield
  • Delancey: A Man, a Woman, a Restaurant, a Marriage by Molly Wizenberg
  • Orange Is The New Black: My Year In A Woman’s Prison by Piper Kerman
  • How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran
  • Boundless by Kathleen Winter
  • Dad Is Fat by Jim Gaffigan
  • Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
  • Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed
  • Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling
  • Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand (almost finished!)

What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year? Tough decision! However, Bad Feminist, Roxane Gay’s collection of essays on feminism and equality was equally entertaining and thought-provoking, emotionally gut-wrenching and hopeful.

What nonfiction book have you recommended the most? An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth is not only a fascinating account of Chris Hadfield’s career as an astronaut with both the Canadian Space Agency and NASA, but the history of space flight and the men and women who have worked in the field.

What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet? I’ve read a lot of memoirs by people who are still alive and usually there is some kind of pop culture connection. I would like to read more about historical figures or events of significance. Any suggestions?

What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November? To read some of the nonfiction that has been on my list and, as Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness put it so perfectly in her post: “I really just want to spend the month nerding out with people about some of the great nonfiction that’s being written right now.

What are you reading for Nonfiction November? Take a peek at my reading list below or read my introduction post!

nonfiction

42 comments on “Nonfiction November 2014 – My Year In Nonfiction

  1. The Paperback Princess
    November 4, 2014

    I’d say that’s a pretty healthy helping of non-fiction you’ve read this year!

    Suggestions of historical figures or events of significance…I guess it depends on where your interest lies. But I tend to read biographies of famous women or events involving women. I also read a lot about Nazi Germany. Lucinda Hawskley’s biography of Princess Louise is excellent. Hitler’s Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields was an eye opening read. Peter K. Massie’s biography of Catherine the Great is incredible (actually all of his biographies are excellent) and Julia P. Gelardi’s books on royal women are also amazing. I LOVED the one about the five granddaughters of Queen Victoria who each became a Queen.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      Thanks for the suggestions! I’m going to look some of those books up because they all sound so tantalizing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Julie
    November 4, 2014

    Nelson Mendela’s autobiography Long Walk to Freedom is an excellent book. But very long!! I am also going to start reading Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      Wow, great suggestion. I might consider it if the length doesn’t scare me off. Hope you enjoy Half the Sky!

      Like

  3. Naomi
    November 4, 2014

    I’m not a big non-fiction reader, even though many of them look good to me. I don’t know what it is… When I do read it, it tends to be a memoir that reads like fiction. You’ve read a lot so far this year!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      I like memoirs that read like fiction too. Any suggestions?

      Like

      • Naomi
        November 5, 2014

        One of my favourites is The Dirty Life by Kristin Kimball. I also really liked Naked Imperfection by Gillian Deacon.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          November 5, 2014

          I think I remember your reviews on these books. Thanks, I’m going to check them out!

          Like

  4. rivercityreading
    November 4, 2014

    One of the books that made me love nonfiction was The Devil in the White City. If you haven’t read it, I’d totally recommend it for a great history read!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      Thanks for the recommendation! I’ve put the book on hold at the library. 🙂

      Like

  5. amymckie
    November 4, 2014

    Happy reading! I’m hoping to get through Bad Feminist myself this month.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      Oh, I hope you enjoy the book and I look forward to reading your review!

      Like

  6. Trish
    November 4, 2014

    I definitely want to read more nonfiction history as well but it’s so overwhelming on where to start! I’m currently reading Crimes of Paris which is about when the Mona Lisa was stolen from the Lourve in the early 1900s–the authors are going into a lot of detail about crime at that time and early detection methods. It’s interesting but a tad dry.

    I’ve read many on your list and enjoyed them, too! listening to audio is such a fun way to experience non-fiction, huh?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      It really is overwhelming! Crimes of Paris sounds really good, I’m interested see what you think at the end. My friend turned me onto audio books and it really has been a fun way to read more. I listen when I’m walking, folding laundry, making coffee … etc.

      Like

  7. My Book Strings
    November 4, 2014

    I tried to listen to non-fiction, but it just doesn’t work for me. I second the recommendations for The Devil in the White City and the biography of Catherine the Great. (And I’ll keep thinking about food-related books to recommend… 🙂 )

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      I put The Devil in the White City on hold and can’t wait to check it out. I might look into one of the spice-themed books you recommended. Mistress of Spice?

      Like

  8. Why haven’t I gotten to Bad Feminist yet? I need to get on that!

    Isn’t Unbroken AMAZING? I sure hope you think so 😀

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      I stayed up very late last night finishing Unbroken and it was amazing. A very satisfying book. Are you planning to see the movie?

      Like

  9. WordsAndPeace
    November 4, 2014

    of all those, I have only read Unbroken, but plan to read Wild. I’m currently listening and loving every minute of The Innovators by Isaacson. Just finished the amazing 1oo Places in France Every Woman Should Go, awesome travel essays, literary style not your usual tour guide, and not just for women!! so far 16/85 books read this year are nonfiction. my favorite is probably going to be the 100 Places. Though I also loved a lot France on the Brink

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      Both The Innovators and 100 Places in France sound so good. Thanks for the suggestions, I’ll definitely check them out!

      Like

  10. Becca Lostinbooks
    November 5, 2014

    You will be reading some great looking books this month! two are already on my TBR.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 5, 2014

      Ooh, then we can compare notes after we’ve both read them. Happy reading!

      Like

  11. Jay
    November 5, 2014

    I’ve read and enjoyed some of Roxane Gay’s fiction this year, but not her collection of essays. She was scheduled to visit here in Indy last month, which I was looking forward to, but couldn’t make it. I plan to read more of her in the future.

    I think I’m the only person left in my reading circles that hasn’t read Unbroken. 🙂

    -Jay

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 6, 2014

      Roxane was also supposed to visit here, but she injured her ankle and had to cancel the appearance. Have you read Untamed State? Unbroken was an amazing story, I really enjoyed it.

      Like

  12. anarmchairbythesea
    November 5, 2014

    How to be a Woman and Wild are two of my favourite nonfiction books! I also just finished Delancey and really enjoyed it. An Astronauts Guide to Life on Earth sounds intriguing, onto the list it goes! 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 6, 2014

      Chris Hadfield just released a new book of his photography from the International Space Station called “You Are Here” Around the World In 90 Minutes”, so I guess that’s next for me!

      Like

  13. Angélique
    November 5, 2014

    I actually just found out about “An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth” last week-end, when I found it in a bookstore, and got super interested in it! I’m going to read it for sure! My favourite non-fiction writer is Malcolm Gladwell: I loved “Outliers” (my favourite), “Blink” and “The Tipping-point”.
    At the moment, I’m planning to read the nominated non-fictions of the Writer’s Trust 2014: http://www.writerstrust.com/awards/hilary-weston-writers-trust-prize.aspx

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 6, 2014

      As you will see in my comment above, Chris Hadfield just released a new book, so that one might also interest you. The only Malcolm Gladwell I’ve read is The Tipping Point. What should I read next? I look forward to reading your reviews on the Writer’s Trust books.

      Like

      • Angélique
        November 6, 2014

        Oh I didn’t know about “You are here”! I just put a hold on it at the library 🙂
        In my opinion, the best book by Malcolm Gladwell is “Outliers”. It offers some really good insights about what make people successful (or not) and challenge the myth of the “self-made man”.

        Like

  14. I’ve almost picked up An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth several times this year, I just haven’t actually read it yet. Clearly I should! Thanks for joining us for Nonfiction November.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 6, 2014

      Thanks Kim, I’m having a blast and it’s only the first week! 🙂

      Like

  15. DoingDewey
    November 7, 2014

    It sounds like you’ve read some great books already this year! Memoirs are one of my favorite genres, especially funny ones 🙂

    Like

  16. Trisha
    November 7, 2014

    I am listening to The Martian right now, and I would love to read that astronaut book simultaneously. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 8, 2014

      The Martian has been on my list for ages. I heard there was quite a bit of technical stuff in it. How do you like listening to the audio book?

      Like

  17. janceewright
    November 8, 2014

    I think most of the nonfiction that I’ve added to my TBR this year has been because of you.

    Like

  18. ebookclassics
    November 9, 2014

    Thanks! I’m pretty there’s quite a few books on my TBR too from reading your reviews.

    Like

  19. Lu
    November 9, 2014

    Oh my gosh! I totally forgot to talk about Orange Is the New Black in my Nonfiction November book. I completely forgot that I read it this year. I have The Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth to read this month too. I’m looking forward to it! Thank you for joining in Nonfiction November this month.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 10, 2014

      Thanks, I’m so excited to be joining in this year! For some reason, I almost forgot about Orange Is the New Black too. I hope you enjoy the Astronaut’s Guide, I look forward to your review!

      Like

  20. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    November 12, 2014

    I had not come across the Astronaut’s Guide so far…that looks very interesting. I’m definitely finding lots more non-fiction to read this month!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 13, 2014

      It’s a great book if you’re interested in learning about what it takes to become an astronaut. I’m adding so many books to my list too. Happy reading!

      Like

  21. Pingback: Nonfiction November – Added to My TBR | JulzReads

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

