ebookclassics

Blogger Diaries #8

Hello friends! I hope you are enjoying the books that you are reading. I’m panicking a little because it’s already November and there are so many books I would like to read by the end of the year (I’m looking at you War and Peace). Do you have a book or books that are a priority before the end of 2014?

INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF AUTHORS
Now that it’s over, I’m kicking myself for not trying to get to more of the events. I only attended the one day and held my breath the entire time because I could just feel all the authors walking around me … I just couldn’t recognize anyone. If only they attached book covers to their delegate badge!

The biggest event I attended was a CanLit reading with Steven Galloway (The Confabulist), Aislinn Hunter (The World Before Us), Lee Maracle (Celia’s Song) and Carrie Snyder (Girl Runner). I even sat behind the author’s table and stared at their heads. During the reading, we weren’t allowed to take pictures, but I snagged a few pics during the book signing before I had to run off.

ifoa Collage

During the reading, I knew I was sitting with an author, but didn’t know until she started tweeting me that it was Ania Szado who wrote Studio Saint-Ex. Ania must have been my good luck charm because lucky me, I won the door prize!

The volunteers at the door congratulated me, saying now I had all of my Christmas gifts. Thinking I had only won a handful of books, I said, “Oh no, I’m going to keep all of them.” When they said, “$500 worth of books?” my jaw dropped to the ground.

Thank you House of Anansi and IFOA for my prize! I’m still floating on air.

* * *

BOOKISH EVENTS

Nonfiction November – It’s only the first week and I’m having an amazing time talking to other bloggers about nonfiction. You can read my introduction post and year in nonfiction post to learn more about the event.

Willa Cather Reading Week – Hosted by Ali at Heaven Ali the week of December 7-14,  I will probably only manage to read one book, O Pioneers! which is the first book in Great Plains trilogy.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – I think I would like to read this for the holidays. Would anyone be interested in joining me?

* * *

BD Collage
BOOKS I’M READING

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – I don’t know whether it’s the Ebola panic (which I haven’t been worried about) or the fact this book is set where I live and work, but I started freaking out a little and put it aside.

The Awakening by Kate Chopin – I like it so far, but are there any books where a woman experiences self-realization without needing an affair or relationship to be the catalyst?

The Ship of Brides by Jojo Moyes – Four Australian war brides board a ship bound for England to be reunited with their husbands. Thumbs up so far!

Tiny Beautiful Little Things by Cheryl Strayed – Highly recommended by other bloggers during my Nonfiction November chats, I’m listening to the audio book. Cheryl Strayed has a sexy raspy voice!

The Woman Who Stole My Life by Marian Keyes – I like it so far, but are there any books where a woman experiences self-realization without needing an affair or relationship to be the catalyst? 🙂

Happy reading in November!

17 comments on “Blogger Diaries #8

  1. heavenali
    November 7, 2014

    O Pioneers is wonderful I do hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 7, 2014

      Thanks Ali! I can’t wait to read my first Willa Cather novel.

      Like

  2. lauratfrey
    November 7, 2014

    LOL at your comment about women and self-realization! I hope you like The Awakening, and I’m planning to pick up that new Keyes, I love her.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 7, 2014

      I like both The Awakening and the Keyes book, it’s interesting to compare the situation of the woman.

      Like

  3. The Paperback Princess
    November 7, 2014

    $500 to spend on books!?! HEAVEN! Congrats!
    I really want to read that Marian Keyes book but I had to laugh at that comment. I think maybe that as women we have a tendency to put other people ahead of ourselves and sometimes it does take a disastrous relationship to kind of straighten ourselves out. You are reading so many books at one time! How do you do it? I’m trying with The Paying Guests and The Count of Monte Cristo but it’s so HARD!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 7, 2014

      I normally don’t read this many books at once, but when the lady at the library snarled “These books need to come back in 2 weeks!”, I rushed home and started reading Station Eleven. How do you like The Paying Guest? I’ve heard so many good things. I read the Count earlier in the year and enjoyed it, but it was a wee bit long.

      Like

      • The Paperback Princess
        November 7, 2014

        hahaha yeah the Count is just a touch long. I’m only like 400 pages in.
        OH Library pressure is the WORST. It stresses me out. I want to return them on time but LIFE has this annoying habit of getting in the way of all kinds of reading goals.
        I’m 100 pages into The Paying Guests and I love it.

        Like

  4. Naomi
    November 7, 2014

    I’d say that was a day well spent! Some very cool authors and $500 worth of books! Feeling a little envious right now. 🙂
    I had to laugh at your observation that most women and self-realization books involve bad relationships. I say most, because there must be something different out there, but right now I can’t think of it. Examples, anyone?
    Station Eleven really isn’t that scary (unless you’re afraid of the flu). Don’t let the library take it back unread – I want to hear what you think of it. And, now I want to read The Awakening, too! Oh, and I have heard the new Marian Keyes is good. I think I want to read all these same books right now!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 8, 2014

      I will keep going with Station Eleven because I’m curious about what happens and then we can trade notes! I Googled our question and found this interesting article about literary heroines and self-discovery, but otherwise The Awakening kept coming up.

      Like

      • Naomi
        November 8, 2014

        Thanks for the link to the article! I don’t know what to think, though. There definitely should be more books out there without love plots or subplots, but I think most people like having a little of that in their story, which is why writers include it. I think it’s hard to find a book without it even in books written for men, it’s just presented differently (maybe more visual than emotional). I’m wracking my brain trying to think of a book without love/lust/sex (that’s not a kid’s book), but right now I’m blank. There must be more! I am going to scour my shelves.

        Like

      • Naomi
        November 8, 2014

        I just checked out the Goodreads lists and there’s one called Fiction/Novels with Female Protagonists That Aren’t About Love or Romance. I’m not convinced they all fit the bill, but it’s worth having a look!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          November 9, 2014

          Ooh, that is a very interesting list, I’m so glad you found it. I think this is going to become a bit of an obsession for me.

          Like

  5. WordsAndPeace
    November 7, 2014

    OMG, $500 worth of books, is that paradise or what?? lol, enjoy, so happy for you. I enjoyed Szado’s book too.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 8, 2014

      Thanks, I will definitely be giving out books for Christmas! 🙂

      Like

  6. Brian Joseph
    November 8, 2014

    I tend to have a flexible list of books that I want tot read but generally do not goals in terms of time. Perhaps I should set these as they might speed up my reading.

    I love literary festivals. It looks like that was a good one.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 9, 2014

      I try not to put too much pressure on myself, but sometimes I am reading something with a deadline or I just want to finish a book because it’s not that great and I want to move on to something else.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

