ebookclassics

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving

sleepy

I read The Legend of Sleepy Hollow for Dewey’s 24 Hour Marathon and at around 70 ebook pages was a nice, short read.

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

THE GOOD
The Legend of Sleepy Hollow is told in a nostalgic, folk tale tone, I felt like I was a little kid again at story time anticipating what was going to happen next. It was the perfect story for the beautiful Fall day I read it on before heading off to the pumpkin farm with my family.

THE BAD
The ending leaves readers hanging as to what exactly happened to poor Ichabod Crane, but after some time I grew to appreciate how this added an extra layer of mystery to the story.

CONCLUSION
When I was kid, I always looked forward to watching the Disney cartoon of the story, but this was my first time reading The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. The book has wonderful atmosphere, spooky imagery and subtle humour. I highly recommend reading it around Halloween when the leaves are falling and the air is beginning to chill.

4/5 Stars

crane

Ichabod Crane

 

13 comments on “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving

  1. janceewright
    November 14, 2014

    I don’t know that I’ve ever actually read this. I think I’ve seen the movie. Maybe. I probably should, though.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 14, 2014

      It’s an oldie, but a goodie. You could probably read it in one sitting.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    November 14, 2014

    Good to know! I used to love watching this as a kid, too, but I don’t think my kids ever have. Gone are the days of Sunday night Walt Disney.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 14, 2014

      I used to look forward to those Sunday night Disney movies too. My kids sometimes watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse which is more educational and Donald doesn’t swear at everybody.

      Like

  3. Brian Joseph
    November 15, 2014

    I love this story. I do think that the humor very much enhances it.

    I also think that Ichabod Crane was OK, at least physically, in the end ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 19, 2014

      I also like to think nothing bad happened to poor Ichabod and he ran off to another land.

      Like

  4. Priya
    November 16, 2014

    I loved the folksy, nostalgic tone too when I read this story.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 19, 2014

      The tone really added another layer of enjoyment to the story. I completely understand now why it is a classic.

      Like

  5. Maggie @ macarons & paperbacks
    November 16, 2014

    I read this book last year and I blogged about the Disney movie as well ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve always liked Sleepy Hollow, even though I watched the Tim Burton movie before reading the book, so I always expected the originally story to be so much scarier.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 19, 2014

      I can’t believe I still haven’t watched the Tim Burton movie yet. Maybe I will have to aim to do that next year. Is it very scary or spooky?

      Like

  6. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    November 20, 2014

    I haven’t read this in such a long time! I have a good memory of the story and of Washington Irving’s work in general though – I should revisit it. I’m a little bit late for the Halloween time though, but since I should also watch the Sleepy Hollow film I could pair them together!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 21, 2014

      The movie and the story would really make a fun day. The story is super short, so you could probably read it in the afternoon and then settle down with the movie in the evening.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

