ebookclassics

Friday Five for the week of November 17, 2014

friday Collage

Fave five tweets to end the week!

Kids Books with Characters of Color via @commonsense – Since it is my goal to make diverse book choices, it only makes sense to apply the same conscientiousness to what I pick for my kids.

Is “likeability” only an issue if the character is female? via @melvillehouse – This is a topic that recently came to my attention reading Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay. I like a well-developed female anti-hero as much as a male one, but do believe the female character would probably draw more attention (and criticism). What do you think?

Read 50 Pages Before Deciding to Drop a Book via @Lifehacker – I typically use  the 50 page rule, although sometimes I’m so deep into a book I don’t love and finish it anyway groaning the whole time.

Classic Authors’ British Houses On Google Maps via @ShortList – Fun for some posthumous stalking.

Deep Style: Margaret Atwood via @FlareFashion – Curated by Sheila Heti, I really enjoyed looking at these photos. Happy birthday, Margaret!

For more of my tweets, follow me @ebookclassics!

6 comments on “Friday Five for the week of November 17, 2014

  1. Naomi
    November 21, 2014

    I loved that Deep Style article! It’s fun looking at her older pictures. There sure were a lot of things out about Margaret Atwood on her birthday!

    Like

  2. writereads
    November 21, 2014

    We addressed the “likability” issue in our most recent podcast on Laurence Miall’s Blind Spot. It is a novel with a male protagonist who isn’t very “likable”. The range of reactions to this central character is very interesting. It hadn’t occurred to me that a female protagonist would add a much different, and politicized (?), dynamic to the discussion. However, I think we sort of obliquely touch upon this in our podcast on Emma Donoghue’s Frog Music, and its central character. – Kirt

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2014

      I started listening to your discussion of Blind Spot (will finish it soon) and vaguely remember Laura discussing the main character in her review of Blind Spot. I realized myself that even if I don’t like a character it doesn’t mean that they are not a good or well-written/developed character.

      Like

  3. Brian Joseph
    November 22, 2014

    I really like your 50 page rule. I never thought of that as a way to decide! It seems like a great rule of thumb.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 26, 2014

      I don’t always follow it, but it’s a good guideline. However, I have read up to 60-70 pages, felt like I’ve reached the point of no return and read books I didn’t enjoy. I have to stop that. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

