ebookclassics

Nonfiction November 2014 – New To My TBR

nonfictionnov

When I sat down to write this post, I couldn’t even remember what books were on my original reading list! Let’s just say I got a bit distracted along the way. I listened to two audio books: Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed and In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson (both brought to my attention by Shannon at River City Reading). I also started Between Gods, a memoir by Canadian author, Alison Pick.

Here’s a quick of summary of where I’m at with my original book list:

nonfiction

Unbroken by Lauren Hillenbrand – Finished.

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai – Still waiting for the audio book to come in at two different libraries. Might just have to get the print book.

The Map Thief by Michael Blanding – To be read. Not likely for this event.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler – Somehow I missed the hold at the library and it expired. Oy vey!

Into the Blizzard by Michael Winter – DNF: The narrative style was difficult to follow. I gave up after about 30 pages.

* * *

The books I added to my TBR thanks to the bloggers participating in Nonfiction November:

A Memoir of Jane Austen by James Edward Austen-Leigh (Little Thoughts About Books)

Eighty Days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland’s History-Making Race Around the World by Matthew Goodman (My Book Strings)

Books, Baguettes & Bedbugs: The Left Bank World of Shakespeare & Co by Jeremy Mercer (Book Addicted Blonde)

Prague Winter by Madeleine Albright (Other Women’s Stories)

How to Be a Victorian by Ruth Goodman (Estella’s Revenge)

Where did the month go? How’s your Nonfiction November going? What great books did you read (or listen to)?

10 comments on “Nonfiction November 2014 – New To My TBR

  1. WordsAndPeace
    November 26, 2014

    good for you, 80 days is great

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 27, 2014

      Thanks! I love the idea of two women on this grand adventure.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    November 27, 2014

    It’s funny how reading plans never seem to go the way you expect them to. I was hoping to read the shortlist for the Rogers Writers’ Prize (because I had already read 2 of them, so I was off to a good start), but I am still waiting on 2 of the 5 from the library. Pastoral came right away, but I haven’t heard a peep about All Saints (it’s been several weeks now since I requested it), and I just found out that I have to wait another 6 months before putting in a request for Girl Runner, because it’s too new (and our library doesn’t have it at all). So, there goes that plan. I’m bummed about Girl Runner. I might have to buy that one.

    Your list looks good! I’ve seen 80 Days around before, and thought it looked good. And, I’m curious to hear about Between the Gods!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 27, 2014

      I would really like to read Pastoral too. Library holds mess up my reading plans quite frequently, but I wouldn’t be able to read as many of the latest books that I do without holds. 🙂 Between Gods is very good. It’s about Alison Pick’s struggles with depression and her aspiration to convert to Judaism after finding out her paternal grandparents hid the fact they were Jewish upon immigrating to Canada.

      Like

      • Naomi
        November 27, 2014

        It does sound good! I was hoping it would be. 🙂

        I feel like I was sounding cranky about the library, and I don’t want you to think that. I love putting things on hold at the library, but our library is small so it doesn’t have everything I want, so I often put in requests for loans from other libraries in the province who do have the book I want. That’s when things gets dicey. Especially if you want something new, like Girl Runner. Does your library always have everything you want?

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          November 27, 2014

          You didn’t sound cranky at all. 🙂 I also use two different libraries for holds and get them confused. I think that’s why I missed Amy Poehler’s book.

          Like

  3. Brian Joseph
    November 27, 2014

    This is such an interesting looking list of books.

    In particular Books, Baguettes & Bedbugs: The Left Bank World of Shakespeare & Co looks very good.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 27, 2014

      I agree this book sounds so interesting. I would love to learn about this place with so much history and notoriety.

      Like

  4. DoingDewey
    November 28, 2014

    I’ll second the 80 days recommendation! I thought it was a fun read. I’d also like to get to the books about Shakespeare and Austen. I love their writing and would enjoy learning more about them.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      November 29, 2014

      A lot good books have been brought to my attention this month. So many books, so little time!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

