ebookclassics

5th Annual End of Year Book Survey – Best In Books

survey

The Annual End of Year Book Survey is hosted by Jamie at Perpetual Page Turner and I finally have read enough books to participate. Since the survey is quite long, I decided to complete the other sections in a future post.

2014stats

Number Of Books You Read: 80

Number of Re-Reads: 1 (The Body by Stephen King)

Genre You Read The Most From: Literary Fiction

best

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

I read so many good books this year, but these were the highlights for me:

Best Fiction: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Best Nonfiction: Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick

Best Fiction (Canadian): The Orenda by Joseph Boyden

Best Nonfiction (Canadian): Between Gods by Alison Pick

Best Classic: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Best Backlist: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Best Audio Book: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014?

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

5. Best series you started in 2014?

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (but I most likely won’t be continuing)

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

Roxane Gay

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read?

Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King (YA)

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Bird Box by Josh Malerman

9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Girl Runner by Carrie Snyder

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Claire Randall from Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

Mãn by Kim Thuy

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

“I don’t know what’s more exhausting about parenting: the getting up early, or acting like you know what you’re doing.”
― Jim Gaffigan, Dad Is Fat

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest: The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving (78 pages)

Longest: War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy (1273 pages)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (One True Pairing)

Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Jim Burden and Ántonia Shimerda, My Ántonia by Willa Cather

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Four from Divergent by Veronica Roth

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Girl Runner by Carrie Snyder

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

Have you read any of these books? What are some of the highlights from your year of reading?

28 comments on “5th Annual End of Year Book Survey – Best In Books

  1. Cedar Station
    December 13, 2014

    Wow, you had an awesome reading year! Love your responses. I have heard so many great things about Station Eleven — I guess it is worth the hype!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 13, 2014

      I find the hype a little nauseating at the moment, but Station Eleven is very good. I’m very happy with my reading stats because I exceeded my own expectations. Just on a side note, I was looking at my blog stats and our Madame Bovary master post was my most popular post this year!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cedar Station
        December 13, 2014

        Maybe we need to plan another one!

        I’m going to do this survey, too. Seems like a good way to wrap up the year. 🙂

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          December 13, 2014

          Yes, definitely! It would be so much fun to host another read-along. I look forward to reading your survey.

          Like

          • Cedar Station
            December 13, 2014

            Anytime CJ, let me know! If you have any books you’re interested in doing, I’m down. 🙂

            Like

  2. janceewright
    December 13, 2014

    So much great stuff packed in here! I haven’t read most of these, but a lot of them are on my TBR.

    My roommate recently started the Outlander series, I’m curious to see how long it’s going to take her, as she plans to read all the main books, novellas, spin-offs – 16 in all. She’s currently on book 2.

    I’m just hoping to meet my Goodreads goal for the year. I’ll admit I’m padding a bit with graphic novels – that being said, they were all books I wanted to read anyway and I’m a bit obsessed with them.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 13, 2014

      Graphic novels totally count! I actually think I should try to read some myself. There seem to be so many good graphic novels out there. Hats off to your roomie for taking on the Outlander series. That’s a lot of books! I was watching the TV show, but they’ve been very faithful to the novel so I feel like I know everything that’s going to happen. Otherwise, it’s a gorgeous looking show and well cast.

      Like

      • janceewright
        December 13, 2014

        I haven’t seen the show yet – we don’t have Starz or HBO or whatever channel it’s on. I am thinking of rereading though. But it’s a big challenge, and I have so much other stuff to read!

        Like

  3. Brian Joseph
    December 13, 2014

    This is great list!

    It is very interesting that you rated Station 11 as the best book! I really want to read it. I

    I also read Pride and Prejudice for the first tome this year. I too waited too long.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 13, 2014

      Thank you! I think Pride and Prejudice get a little too much hype too and maybe that’s why it took me so long. 🙂

      Like

  4. Naomi
    December 13, 2014

    Congrats on 80 books! And so many good ones, which is the important thing. I love this survey. I find it fun to go back and think about the books I’ve read in order to answer the questions. I’m happy to see The Orenda as your best Canadian fiction. Also, good to see Girl Runner on there as it is finally coming in for me at the library soon. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the survey!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 13, 2014

      I studied my Goodreads list for a long time because I had forgotten some of the books I read … like The Orenda! So many great Canadian books were published this year. Between Gods was another one that really stood out for me. I can’t wait to read your survey answers!

      Like

  5. WordsAndPeace
    December 13, 2014

    Ready Player One is probably my most favorite audiobook of all times – not read in 2014, before that. I loved Zevin’s book. I have read 100 so far, but plan to read at least 5 more, so it’s way too early to start my mega stats

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 16, 2014

      100 books is amazing, but I’m not surprised to hear you will have mega status this year. 🙂

      Like

  6. jessicabookworm
    December 14, 2014

    Looks like you’ve had a great reading year. I am only just starting to reflect on my year. I love how you’ve split your favourite book of the year into categories. I may have to steal that idea for one of my own posts 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 16, 2014

      Thanks, it was my best reading year ever. The questions are from a survey hosted by another blogger, so I can’t take the credit for the questions, I look forward to reading your year end review!

      Like

  7. Amber O (AmberBug)
    December 15, 2014

    I love this, we really do read similar and it was nice seeing someone else having the same end of the year thoughts on these books.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 16, 2014

      Thanks! I’m pretty sure I decided to read Glory O’Brien because of your review and I’m sure there are more books I added to my TBR after seeing them on your blog.

      Like

  8. Maggie @ macarons & paperbacks
    December 16, 2014

    Glad to see you loved Pride and Prejudice so much! It’s my fav Austen, only slightly above Persuasion 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 19, 2014

      I was surprised by how much I loved it and I watched the BBC series with Colin Firth over the weekend for the first time. I’m officially Team Darcy now!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Trish
    December 18, 2014

    Wait! Wait!! Why are you not continuing with Outlander? I mean…JAMIE! 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 19, 2014

      I’m intimidated by all of the books I would have to read. But you are right, Jamie may be totally worth it! Are you watching the show?

      Like

      • Trish
        December 28, 2014

        (totally late in responding, but YES. Loving the show)

        Like

  10. Renae @ Respiring Thoughts
    December 27, 2014

    Wasn’t The Enchanted just brutal? The author’s prose was so lovely, though, and I thought it was a wonderful take on the topic. But still. Ouch.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 30, 2014

      It was so brutal, I think I held my breath the whole time I read the book! A very unique book and still stands out for me.

      Like

  11. bluekaren
    December 29, 2014

    Station Eleven was so haunting. It was also my favorite.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 30, 2014

      I’m glad you enjoyed Station Eleven too! It seems this is one book that lived up to the hype in 2014.

      Like

  12. Ekaterina
    January 4, 2015

    Yay for Ready Player One! Also on my list 🙂 And I’m putting Station Eleven to my TBR now 😛

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2014 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

