ebookclassics

Mini-Reviews of Christmas Reading

christmas

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
A Christmas Carol is such a timeless tale and put me right in the mood for the holidays. It made we want to watch Scrooged with Bill Murray, but both of the libraries I belong to don’t carry the movie anymore. What surprised me the most about the story is that hard-headed Scrooge gives in so easily to the Christmas spirits’ attempt to reform him. I expected a little more fight from the old dog.

4/5 Stars

* * * *

The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A.J. Jacobs
I’m reading this one over the holidays, but so far it’s an over-the-top educational hoot. From growing a massive beard to carrying around his own chair to avoid touching “unclean women” (including his wife), I wasn’t expecting the author to go to such extreme lengths to live the Holy Book.

Stars TBD

* * * *

Joan: The Mysterious Life of the Heretic Who Became a Saint by Donald Spoto
The legend of Joan of Arc has never ceased to captivate me. I guess I find something romantic in the idea of a young girl who was chosen by God to be a messenger and lead armies to save France. Of course, it all ends badly for her. Joan is a very thorough account of Joan of Arc’s life, but I pretty much knew everything the book covered. I probably should have looked for something different.

3.5/5 Stars

* * * *

The Testament of Mary by Colm Tóibín
I was fascinated with the concept of experiencing the crucifixion of Jesus through the eyes of his mother, Mary. Although I was expecting more intensity to the story, I still found it mesmerizing to follow Mary’s thoughts, as she scoffs at claims Jesus is the Son of God, then frets and second-guesses and feels tremendous guilt over what happens to him. At the same time, there was something scattered and indecisive about her manner that annoyed me even though she proves to be strong in spirit. Overall, I appreciate how human this Mary was depicted by the author, but the story is shrouded in mystery and I had so many questions left unanswered.

3.5/5 Stars

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

10 comments on “Mini-Reviews of Christmas Reading

  1. Amber O (AmberBug)
    December 24, 2014

    Merry Christmas! Great post.

    Like

  2. lauratfrey
    December 24, 2014

    Scrooged is on Netflix!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 30, 2014

      Yay! I’m going to watch it tonight before it disappears forever.

      Like

  3. Brian Joseph
    December 24, 2014

    These books look fascinating and I may give some of them a try in to the coming year.

    I actually read A Christmas carol for the first tome last year. Indeed Scrooge’s transformation seems bit too good to be true. If I recall in the story did mention that he continued to follow a charitable and cheerful path afterward. Otherwise one would really expect such a change to be very short lived.

    Happy Holidays to you and your family!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 30, 2014

      Thanks Brian! I hope you are enjoying the holidays and reading lots of interesting books.

      Like

  4. Fariba
    December 24, 2014

    If you want something different about the last days of Joan of Arc, I very highly recommend Saint Joan by George Bernard Shaw. It was one of my favorite works of the last year. One of the central questions the play explores is whether Joan is a saint, heretic, or traitor.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 30, 2014

      I had no idea Shaw wrote a play about Joan of Arc! Thank you for the recommendation, I will certainly look for a copy.

      Like

  5. DoingDewey
    December 25, 2014

    I’m glad to hear A Year of Living Biblically has been so much fun so far, because I really enjoyed The Know-It-All and A Year of Living Biblically is on my to-read pile 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      December 30, 2014

      I’m really learning a lot from A Year of Living Biblically. He asks a lot of questions I think I would ask and cross-references different variations of Christianity and Judaism and talks to a lot of people to get opinions. It’s really fascinating. 🙂

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on December 24, 2014 by in Reviews.

Now reading

and …

and …

