ebookclassics

5th Annual End of Year Book Survey – Looking Ahead to 2015

ahead

Welcome! Following my Best in Books for 2014, here I continue Perpetual Page Turner’s End of Year Book Survey.

2014 READING STATS

Female Authors = 39

Male Authors = 34

Diverse Female Authors = 4

Canadian Authors = 16

* * * *

BOOKISH/BLOGGING LIFE

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014?

Consumed By Ink hosted by Naomi. She reads a lot of Canadian fiction and I learn about so many good books thanks to her blog.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014?

Boundless by Kathleen Winter because it was difficult finding words for a book I respected, but wasn’t sure if I necessarily liked or enjoyed. In the end, I found there was so many positive things to write about in my review (as opposed to just trashing the book or something).

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

The guest post by Laura from Reading-In-Bed where she reviews Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick. The commenters and I talk a lot about Dick’s classic science fiction of which I am a big fan.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

The Toronto International Book Fair where I met Margaret Atwood.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

Bookish: Finishing War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. Brutal, but I did it.

Blogging: Meeting so many fabulous new bloggers through various reading events. Thanks to everyone who stopped by in 2014 to read and comment! 🙂

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Madame Bovary Read-along Master Post. Stay tuned for a new read-along this Spring!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Was Your Fave Book Adaptation Filmed in Canada? For Armchair BEA.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

I actually used Goodreads extensively this year and it has proved very helpful in tracking my reading. My friend, Julie, recommended audio books and now I always feel lost if I don’t have an audio book on my phone.

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I only read about 20 books in 2013, so I definitely completed my overall goal of just reading more.

* * * *

LOOKING AHEAD

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

The Map Thief by Michael Blanding. The author wrote really nice comments on my blog and the book itself sounds fascinating.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

The Night Stages by Jane Urquhart

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

I have Espionage and Etiquette ready to go, so I’m pretty sure if I like The Finishing School series the last book coming out this year will be a big deal for me too.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

Reading: I want to diversify my reading this year by adding more YA and mysteries. I also want to read more books by women from different ethnic backgrounds.

Blogging: I can’t decide if I want to continue some of the features I used to post like Celebrities in Classics, but I definitely want to start reviewing movie adaptations again.

Happy New Year! What are your reading, blogging and bookish goals for 2015?

14 comments on “5th Annual End of Year Book Survey – Looking Ahead to 2015

  1. Naomi
    January 1, 2015

    I am so happy and touched that you mentioned me as your new favourite blog, C. J.! I love yours, too. And, you are always fun to ‘chat’ with! 🙂
    Yay, for finishing War and Peace!
    I also loved your Boundless post- it was beautiful.
    I’m looking forward to whatever you post about in 2015!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ebookclassics
      January 2, 2015

      My pleasure! I can’t wait to see what’s next for you in 2015 too.

      Like

  2. jessicabookworm
    January 1, 2015

    Happy New Year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heather
    January 1, 2015

    Happy New Year! Love the new blog design.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 2, 2015

      Thank you! I always get so bored. I hope you are doing well! 🙂

      Like

  4. Brian Joseph
    January 1, 2015

    These are fascinating statistics an answers.

    Congratulations for finishing War and Peace this year.

    Happy New Year’s and happy reading in 2015!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am so impressed you read War and Peace! I tried to do that once and couldn’t get more than about 100 pages in. My biggest book accomplishment to day is reading Infinite Jest — I felt on top of the world when I closed the last page on that one a few years ago.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 4, 2015

      Infinite Jest is a huge accomplishment and is a book that definitely intimidates me. You should really proud for finishing it!

      Like

  6. DoingDewey
    January 11, 2015

    I loved The Map Thief, so I’ll be excited to hear what you thought of think of it 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      I’m hoping it will be my next non-fiction book. It’s taking me forever to finish The Year of Living Biblically,

      Like

  7. lauratfrey
    January 12, 2015

    Are you going to tell us about W&P? I’m probably going to read it this year.

    I love Celebrities in Classics!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      Yes! I will probably review it very soon. Celebrities in Classics will be definitely be back this year probably with a profile of Colin Firth first.

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        January 13, 2015

        Nice!! Make sure to get The English Patient in there. He looks about 12 years old, it’s amusing.

        Ok, look forward to W&P. I think this is going to be the year.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

