ebookclassics

2015 Book to Movie Challenge – Announcement Post

Book2Movie

Hello friends! Do you love movies? Do you love when books you love become movies? Welcome to the 2015 Book to Movie Challenge which was previously hosted by Katie on her blog Doing Dewey. The objective of the challenge is to share your reviews of movie or TV book adaptations, and hopefully generate some interesting discussions over the course of the year.

The challenge is super easy and flexible comprising of two parts:

♦  A quarterly check-in where you can add a link-up to your reviews; and/or

♦  Participate in a read-along of four 2015 movie adaptations.

GUIDELINES

♦  There are no hard or fast rules.

♦  You can join at any time. You can participate in one part of the challenge or both. You can participate in one read-along or all four. It’s all about having fun and what suits your interests and time.

♦ Neither the book nor the movie has to be new this year.

♦ A TV show counts if it is movie length or you have watched at least 2 episodes.

READ-ALONG SCHEDULE

March 2015 Serena by Ron Rash to tie-in with the movie starring Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper

June 2015Paper Towns by John Green to tie-in with the movie starring Nat Wolff and Cara Delevingne

September 2015To Reach The Clouds by Philippe Petit to tie-in with the movie The Walk starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt

November 2015The Martian by Andy Weir to tie-in with the movie starring Matt Damon

To join the challenge, please comment below or submit your introduction post using the froggy linky. I would be thrilled to have you join me and hear about the latest adaptation you watched.

17 comments on “2015 Book to Movie Challenge – Announcement Post

  1. jessicabookworm
    January 3, 2015

    I love adaptations. I am tempted to join this challenge but I already do a monthly post on the adaptations I watch, so not sure this would really be a challenge for me. Happy watching in 2015 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 3, 2015

      I love your monthly post! Did you ever finish series one of The Musketeers? I still haven’t caught up.

      Like

  2. Amber O (AmberBug)
    January 3, 2015

    I love this idea, I think I’ll try to read along on some of these!

    Like

  3. Naomi
    January 3, 2015

    I always want to read the books before the movies come out, but then I rarely watch the movies! Ha! But, it would still be fun to follow along. My daughter got Paper Towns for Christmas, and I would like to read it. I’ve read The Martian already, and the other two look great, too! This sounds like fun!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 4, 2015

      Paper Towns looks really good. I rarely watch the movies too or if I do, it will five years after the movie was released.

      Like

      • Naomi
        January 4, 2015

        Better late than never! Someday I am going to have a giant movie marathon.

        Like

  4. jamie
    January 6, 2015

    Hi, I ddi this last year and want to do it again. Thanks for taking over.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      Thanks for joining me! I can’t wait to hear about what you are going to read/watch.

      Like

  5. tracybham
    January 6, 2015

    I agree, thanks very much for taking this over. I was going to continue doing my book to movie posts anyway… but I would love to take part in this challenge. I will do a joining post soon.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      I’m so thrilled that you will be joining the challenge and look forward to reading your post.

      Like

  6. Pingback: 2015 Book to Movie Challenge | The Novel Orange

  7. Hippie Book Reviews
    May 12, 2015

    I’ve been working on this challenge but it looks like I forgot to sign up! http://hippiebookreviews.blogspot.com/p/1.html

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 12, 2015

      Thanks for joining! I’m already getting ready for our check-in next month.

      Like

  8. This is such a good idea. I do write book-film reviews on my blog, but never knew that someone had organised a challenge for it! 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 13, 2015

      I just took over the challenge at the last minute. 🙂 The next check-in is in June, but I will be posting a form shortly where you can submit a micro-review too. Can’t wait to talk about what you’ve watched!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

