ebookclassics

Between Gods by Alison Pick

pick

Click to visit Alison Pick’s website.

THE STORY
When Alison Pick was a teenager, she discovered that her father’s side of the family from the Czech Republic were Jewish and hid their religion when they moved to Canada. In her thirties, she is now a writer and engaged to be married, but the iron grip of depression leaves her on most days lost and full of despair. During that time, Alison’s curiosity about her father’s secret Jewish heritage heightens and she starts to be drawn towards Judaism. She decides to convert and begins a personal journey that will see her learn about her father’s family history and befriend many members of the Jewish community to better understand the religion and her fierce desire to join.

THE GOOD
Alison Pick describes her experience of struggling with depression and trying to convert with such fragile intensity, I couldn’t help but be profoundly moved by her desperation and hope, and respect how her belief in what she was doing never wavers. The result of her quest is not only an emotional and spiritual transformation, but an exhilarating inner peace.

THE BAD
As part of her obsession, Alison fervently researches the history of her Czech relatives and shares stories about family members who were in concentration camps or who had escaped capture by the Nazis. Some of the details of what happened to them were so disturbing, I was deeply saddened and don’t think I will ever get their stories out of my head.

CONCLUSION
Between Gods is a very satisfying memoir about one woman’s path to enlightenment, how deep blood lines run and how faith can truly and overwhelmingly be felt. Alison’s story is intimate and heartfelt, I really enjoyed reading this book.

4/5 Stars

 

6 comments on “Between Gods by Alison Pick

  1. Brian Joseph
    January 4, 2015

    Great review! This sounds good.

    Stories of atrocities and mass cruelty can be disturbing. As I get older I seem to be bothered by this stuff even more. Of course it is important that literature addresses the dark side as well as the light side of existence.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      What a great point that we need to address both the dark and light side of existence. It really is the whole of our experience as humans, isn’t it?

      Like

  2. Naomi
    January 4, 2015

    I think I would like this, sometime when I am in the mood for holocaust stories (which I often am). I’m glad you liked it! Nice review!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      It was really interesting story about faith and family history. I think you would enjoy reading about her experience.

      Like

  3. DoingDewey
    January 5, 2015

    I’ve been way behind on blogging, so I’m sorry if I’m late saying this but I love your new layout! Very clean, lots of nice whitespace 🙂 This book sounds too troubling for me, but I’m glad you enjoyed it despite the horrifying bits.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      Thank you! I wanted something new and while there are few things annoying me about this new theme, not paying for it makes me forget very quickly! Some of the stories the author shares about her family were tough to read, but are a very small part of the overall story which was about her conversion to Judaism.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

