ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday – Most Anticipated Debut Novels For 2015

Top 10 Anticipated Debuts
Finally, my first time participating in The Broke and Bookish meme! I love reading all of the book previews for 2015 and here some of the debut novels I covet in alphabetical order by author.

* * *

Mosquitoland by David Arnold – A young girl hops on a Greyhound bus and makes a thousand-mile journey to her sick mother in Cleveland with a few pit stops along the way.

* * *

If I Fall, If I Die by Michael Christie – After living an isolated life with his agoraphobic mother, a young man ventures outside wearing a protective helmet and bracing himself for danger. Of course, he takes up skateboarding.

* * *

The Ghost Network: A Novel by Catie Disabato – A Gaga-like pop star disappears and two women set out to find her. On Goodreads, Catie Disabato describes herself: “I am a stacked twenty-eight-year-old blonde on Sunset Boulevard. I am also a writer.”

* * *

Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller – A girl and her survivalist father enter the woods in 1976 to live out the end of the world. The girl emerges nine years later, but what happened to her father?

* * *

Binary Star by Sarah Gerard – An anorexic young woman and her alcoholic boyfriend embark on a road trip and discover a book on “veganarchism” that they believe holds all the answers to their problems.

* * *

Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper – Eighty-two year old Etta has never seen the ocean and decides to walk there, leaving her husband Otto and their neighbour, Russell, behind. Not sure who James is in the story.

* * *

The First Bad Man by Miranda July – A funny story about a sexually and maternally obsesssed woman discovering she is who she never planned to be. The Toronto Public Library event with Miranda July and Sheila Heti is sold out, but I’ve never heard of her until now.

* * *

A Bad Character: A Novel by Deepti Kapoor – A bored young woman in New Delhi begins a passionate love affair with an older man.

* * *

The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester – Reporter Frankie George is drawn into a world of high society, suffragettes and circus freaks investigating the disappearance of acrobat artist Ebony Diamond in London, 1912.

* * *

The Sasquatch Hunter’s Almanac: A Novel by Sharma Shields – Eli Roebuck has been hunting for the sasquatch he met in the woods when he was nine years old and no one in the Roebuck family can escape his maniac obsession.

What book debuts do you covet for 2015?

28 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – Most Anticipated Debut Novels For 2015

  1. readerbuzz
    January 6, 2015

    Yep. Mosquitoland! Thanks.

    Here’s my Top Ten!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      Thanks for stopping by! I think Mosquitoland is going to be a great read.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    January 6, 2015

    They all sound good, but since I love survival stories and road trips, Mosquitoland, Our Endless Numbered Days, and Etta and O and R and J sound the best to me!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      I’m a big fan of survival stories and road trips too! EORJ sounds really quirky and cute. I like that a lot of books lately feature older characters.

      Like

      • Naomi
        January 6, 2015

        Yes! I am noticing that too, and loving it! I just finished a book last night that I loved with a cast of old people, and I was trying to figure out what the appeal of it is to me. I am eating it up. Is it curiosity about being old? Is it interesting to look back on their lives? Or are the writers just writing about good characters that also happen to be old?

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          January 6, 2015

          For me, I definitely think I’m curious to know what lies ahead of me. I observe my parents and in-laws quite a bit and think about how their lives have progressed over the years to where they are now. Also, I like the message “it’s not over yet for you” in some of these stories. I want (maybe desperately) to believe some grand adventures are waiting for me.

          Like

          • Naomi
            January 6, 2015

            That’s exactly it. That message of “it’s not over yet”, and that life can be good for as long as you want it to be. I think that’s what I loved so much about And The Birds Rained Down. Hopefully, I’ll get to write about it soon. I might have to quote you!

            Like

  3. Marisa@TheDailyDosage
    January 6, 2015

    Nice list! We have a few in common but I’ll have to add the others on my TBR now, they sounds great!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      Definitely a catch with reading all of these lists is adding more books than I intended to my TBR!

      Like

  4. citygirlscapes
    January 6, 2015

    Love reading top ten lists like this, makes me so excited for all the great books in the year ahead! Thanks for sharing. – ashley

    Like

  5. christine danielle
    January 6, 2015

    your list is so unique! I am loving it. 😀
    MY TOP TEN TUESDAY

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      Thanks for dropping by my blog! I look forward to checking out your list.

      Like

  6. Amber O (AmberBug)
    January 6, 2015

    You just put “Our Endless Numbered Days” on my radar, thanks! I didn’t even know it existed. Also, “First Bad Man”, I can’t WAIT to see what you think.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      I love discovering new books through other bloggers, but boy is my TBR starting to look a little crazy!

      Like

  7. My Book Strings
    January 6, 2015

    Our Endless Numbered Days sounds interesting… Since I am doing #TBR20, I am trying not to look at upcoming releases too much. I know it would distract me from reading books I already own.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      I hope you are enjoying #TBR20! Writing this list actually made me anxious to read some of the books right away, but I just started North and South and it’s over 500 pages, so I’ll just have to be patient.

      Like

  8. The all sound great! The First Bad Man and Bad Character sound especially interesting!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      The book descriptions made me very curious to find out what happens to these characters. I hope you get the chance to check out these books too.

      Like

  9. Trish
    January 6, 2015

    This is why I can count on book bloggers to be awesome. 😉 The only book I know of that’s coming out in 2015 is the new Kazuo Ishiguro. A Bad Character sounds like an interesting one!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 6, 2015

      I agree! A Bad Character sounds like good old fashioned steamy romance that can’t possibly last.

      Like

  10. lab1990
    January 6, 2015

    Thanks for sharing- i hadn’t heard of most of these. I need to read more debut novels.

    -lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmab.blogspot.com

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 7, 2015

      I’m always impressed by the talent of some authors, especially when their debuts are so well-written.

      Like

  11. Welcome to all that is fun with weekly top ten lists!

    Part of my goals this year is to get myself into reading more CanLit, and of the 2015 debuts I could find, I’m pretty excited to get into EORJ too! I had to double take the blurb because I thought I misread it since there was no indication of James haha.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 7, 2015

      I really love your blog name! My goal is also to read more CanLit this year and I’m participating in a CanLit challenge hosted by Reading in Winter. Just working on my announcement post, but it might be something you would enjoy too.

      Like

      • Oh man, that’s a neat little challenge there. Thanks for letting me know about it. Though it does sound a tad daunting but at least it’s a good list of books for me to get my feet wet with CanLit!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          January 9, 2015

          Easing into it is definitely a good plan. I can’t wait to see what you read!

          Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2015 by in Headlines and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

