ebookclassics

2015 Book Blog Discussion Challenge – You Can’t Judge An ARC By Its Cover

2015-Discussion-Challenge3
The 2015 Book Blog Discussion Challenge is hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight! Participants are challenged to create book or blogging-related posts for discussion. To join the challenge or for more information, visit the sign-up post or read discussion posts for January.

My goal for the challenge is to write one discussion post per month.

* * *

YOU CAN’T JUDGE AN ARC BY ITS COVER

Have you ever decided to DNF an ARC and tell the publisher? I’ve enjoyed receiving ARCs here and there since I began blogging two years ago even though some of the books offered to me were not what I would typically pick. I tried to be open-minded and could usually appreciate the story and writing after reading the book.

However, I find myself currently in a position where I’m reading an ARC and it is terrible! The story itself is mostly fine, but I can’t convince myself to like the narrator (who happens to be the author, so…). The blurb for the book claims: “… will make you laugh, cringe, and root for its incredible, unlikely heroine.” No, I am not! The only thing I’m doing is the cringing. Since it’s clear after about 50 pages I only dread reading the book, I realize I have to tell the publisher I’m not going to continue or review the book. I only have so much time and would rather read something I enjoy.

Has anyone else told a publisher they were going to DNF an ARC? Have you ever wanted to DNF, but just grinned and beared it? Do you worry that if you DNF or don’t write a glowing review it may affect whether you get more ARCs?

Thanks, I would love to hear your thoughts!

20 comments on “2015 Book Blog Discussion Challenge – You Can’t Judge An ARC By Its Cover

  1. Naomi
    January 8, 2015

    So far, I’ve only been sent a couple of ARCs, and I’m going to try to (mostly) keep it that way, unless something sounds too great to pass up. But, here’s my opinion anyway: I think I would rather it be a DNF than a bad reading experience and a negative review. Not that I am against negative reviews, but I would rather not write one if I could help it. But, that’s just me.
    I love the discussion challenge! You’re good at finding fun things for your blog!

    Like

  2. ebookclassics
    January 8, 2015

    Thank you! I actually have one more challenge announcement post and then that’s it, I swear! I agree with you. I would prefer not write a bad review or read a book that I don’t like, so I’m going to DNF and tell the publisher.

    Like

  3. A. Brown
    January 8, 2015

    Back in 2011 and 2012 I took a lot of ARCs, most of them were great but a few were just awful. I ended up just telling the publisher “sorry, I can’t finish this.” It was usually no problem. Since then I’ve been very very choosy with my ARCs, only taking maybe 2 a year.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 9, 2015

      Thanks for your comments! I am thinking that I will probably limit the number of ARCs I read too this year. Too many other good books to read and so little time.

      Like

  4. lauratfrey
    January 8, 2015

    I’ve been really lucky with review copies and ARCs, and haven’t received anything that was truly awful. I’m pretty picky too. I have had a couple that were not great, and I stuck with it and reviewed, and just tried to be balanced – because they were small publishers, not well known authors, I didn’t want to trash them, you know? It was more like “I didn’t like this but someone might?” lol.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 9, 2015

      LOL, it’s hard not to let a little snark out, right? But I agree “someone else might like it” is a good approach to reviewing something not for you.

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        January 9, 2015

        yeah, I mean, unless something is actually OFFENSIVE or riddled with typos, someone probably will! And sadly, even if it is those things, someone probably will 🙂

        Like

  5. I’m fairly new to the book reviewing world, but just recently I read a book that I reeeaaalllyyy did not want to finish. I hate the idea of giving bad reviews, so I always try to find something positive to talk about, but it was nearly impossible for this particular book. I hesitated telling the publisher I didn’t want to finish it, but I was reading it as part of a blog tour so I decided to just write a less personal review (and I didn’t include my rating in my review either). Next time I need to be more careful about books I decide to review because I don’t want to read something I hate and I also don’t want to give an author a bad rating simply because I didn’t enjoy their book when I know there are plenty of people out there who would.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 9, 2015

      It’s tough, isn’t it because you want to be fair to everyone. I thought about just forcing my way through the book and just highlighting what I thought was positive, but like you I really really really don’t like this book.

      Like

  6. Lola
    January 8, 2015

    While I usually don’t receive ARC”s directly from publishers I have received some books for review I did not enjoy and DNF’d and telling the author is the worst thing ever. However as long as you are polite and explain it just isn’t a book for you I don’t think the publisher will react badly. I mean they know not everyone will like the book, that’s just how it works.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 9, 2015

      Hmm, that’s a very good point about staying professional and keeping in mind that publishing is a business. I guess I shouldn’t worry so much about the publisher and just the author since it’s their baby.

      Like

      • Terri M., the Director
        January 12, 2015

        I agree with Lola, the key is to be honest and professional. Explain why you didn’t like the book with more than I didn’t like it.

        I’ve had to do this with a couple of book tours I was a part of. If it was something other than a review tour, I offered to host another kind of stop so the promo time wasn’t lost. I just did an author interview or spotlight post instead.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          January 13, 2015

          I like your point about elaborating on specific issues with the book as opposed to just saying I didn’t like it. An author interview and spotlight is a great idea to make up for not reviewing the book.

          Like

  7. DoingDewey
    January 11, 2015

    I’ve had to DNF one book from a publisher. I offered to promote the book anyway, since I DNF’d because it was too violent and creepy for me, not because I thought it was so objectively bad that no one would like it and the publisher was really nice about it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      I never thought about offering an alternative to not reviewing the book. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

  8. I’m actually reading a book right now that I’m pretty much hating. I’ve decided to put it down and tell the publisher that it’s just not for me. There’s no point in torturing myself and the review won’t be a good one anyway!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      Agreed! No point in continuing if you don’t like the book. Have you ever had to tell a publisher you weren’t going to read the book before?

      Like

  9. Nobody @ The Story Goes...
    January 20, 2015

    Yes, I think everyone(at least I hope) has these worries! I’ve never really been shy about DNF-ing ARCs but only through Netgalley and Edelweiss where its not…like personal. I’ve definitely forced myself to read a couple that I hated just because I didn’t want to have to tell the author I hated their book, it makes me feel mean, but also I feel worse if I try to lie and say I did like it, then I’m being dishonest with my readers.

    And of course I constantly worry that it affects me getting more ARCs, for instance I DNF-ed like three in a row from one publisher(a smaller one) and now I’m really nervous to request another because even if I don’t get it for some completely unrelated reason I’ll still worry that it was because I DNF-ed.

    This is an awesome topic and it’s definitely difficult. Great post. =)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts! I was nervous about telling the publisher because it’s nice to get ARCs. As an update, I sent the email last week and my contact at the publisher didn’t respond in any way, so I’m not sure what it means. I don’t want to burn any bridges, but I decided I still think it was a good decision to be honest with them.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

