ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday – 2014 Releases I Meant To Read

meant

So many books, so little time!

Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood – In November, Margaret signed a copy of the book for me and now it waits on the shelf.

* * *

The Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero – I was sold when I found out the main character is an X-Files fan.

* * *

Sweetland by Michael Crummey – One crusty old Newfoundlander vs. everybody else.

* * *

Frog Music by Emma Donoghue – I love the title and cover, but will I love the story?

* * *

An Untamed State by Roxane Gay – I was greatly impressed with Roxane’s 2014 book of essays, Bad Feminist.

* * *

The Confabulist by Steven Galloway – I saw Steven at a book reading in November. I haven’t read his book The Cellist of Sarajevo yet either.

* * *

Euphoria by Lily King – Everything about this book intrigues me: the cover, plot, historical setting …

* * *

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – My hold for this book came in, but I was juggling so many books at the time, I decided to send back the 640-pager.

* * *

Yes, Please by Amy Poehler – Somehow I missed picking up the hold and now it will take a year on the hold list to get it back. Doh!

* * *

The Martian by Andy Weir – In my heart, I will always be sci-fi nerd.

* * *

What book do you wish you read in 2014?

33 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – 2014 Releases I Meant To Read

  1. Naomi
    January 13, 2015

    So many good ones on here! You will love (or at least, I did) Euphoria, Sweetland, Confabulist. I understood most of the stories in Stone Mattress, so you will too! The Martian won’t change your life, but it was a great read. I would also like to read An Untamed State. I almost put it on my list for hopeful reading, but it was one of the books that I cut because my list was getting too long and scary. I also want to read more Emma Donoghue.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      I’m suddenly torn between 2014 books and everything that is coming out this year. How in the world are we going to read all of these books? Please somebody clone me!

      Like

      • Naomi
        January 13, 2015

        Me too! Doesn’t it hurt not to be able to read everything at once?

        Like

  2. Julie
    January 13, 2015

    You must download Yes Please from Audible!! Amy Poehler narrates it herself and there are guest appearances throughout the book. A fantastic listen. I don’t think it would be as good if I read it on the page. Even imagining her voice. Listening to it was great!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      You’ve convinced me! About Audible … do you use their app? When you listen to the book does it ever accidentally skip ahead or back? This happens with Overdrive all the time and drives me nuts.

      Like

      • Julie
        January 13, 2015

        I am a big fan of audible even though it is a paid subscription thing. I’m cheap when it comes to paying for books but I find audible worth it. A fantastic selection and no borrowing or giving back. The customer service is also excellent. I do use the app and I have never had any issue with skipping. The only time it happens is when I hit something 😉

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          January 14, 2015

          Hmm, I’ll have to think about this again. I would have got it by now, but I’m cheap too, LOL!

          Like

  3. janceewright
    January 13, 2015

    I loved The Supernatural Enhancements. One of my faves from last year. Haven’t read anything else on your list, although several of them I need to read as well!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      Was The Supernatural Enhancements scary or just thrilling? I think I need to review the plot again.

      Like

      • janceewright
        January 13, 2015

        A lot of thrilling, but at times I was genuinely scared. However, I’m a bit of a wimp, so you’re probably made of stronger stuff than me! 🙂

        Like

  4. The Paperback Princess
    January 13, 2015

    I’ve been told that I have to read The Confabulist – I hope one of us gets to it this year!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      Me too! I’m hoping these posts will serve as reminders. I have notes on books I want to read all over the place and it’s not very helpful.

      Like

  5. lauratfrey
    January 13, 2015

    Tell me how you made your graphic please! PicMonkey?

    Sweetland, An Untamed State, and Euphoria for me, too. Can’t really think of too many more!

    Psst how are you liking Caught?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      I’m using a site called Canva. Not as user friendly as Picmonkey, but it has some cool templates.

      Caught is a thriller with all the depth of a literary novel, so I can see how they’re going to make it into a TV series. Also, I love the cover, as if it’s pretending to be a beach book.

      Like

  6. Karen @ One More Page...
    January 13, 2015

    First of all, I LOVE your graphic for this post! (I love triangles…). I’ve read a few of the books on your list and they’ve all been wonderful! I’m jealous that you got your copy of Stone Mattress signed! I read Yes Please and The Martian over the holiday season and they were both fantastic. I hope you get a chance to read them soon!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      Happy new year! I’m so behind on visiting blogs, so I’ll visit you soon to check out your reviews on Yes, Please and The Martian. I saw you’ve read some great new books too. Did you read Etta and Russell and Otto and James (or however it goes)?

      Like

  7. My Book Strings
    January 13, 2015

    I read Frog Music last year and wasn’t that impressed with it. But everyone else seemed to love it. I’d like to read The Confabulist, Euphoria, and An Untamed State at some point. Like you say… so many books, so little time. (P.S.: I love the new look of your blog!)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      Thank you! I did read some reviews where bloggers did not like Frog Music, but I’m still a little curious. I haven’t read anything by Emma Donoghue. Have you read Room?

      Like

      • My Book Strings
        January 13, 2015

        No, I haven’t read Room, but it’s on my Women’s Price reading challenge. The subject scares me a little bit. I think I’ll have to be in the right mood for it.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          January 14, 2015

          The subject matter scares me too. I’m not sure if I will read Room, but certainly try Frog Music.

          Like

  8. priscilla
    January 13, 2015

    Stone Mattress was one of my favorite books of 2014. I would love to get around to reading Yes, Please. Amy Poehler always makes me smile.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      I love Amy Poehler too. Are you a Parks and Rec fan? I took a peek at Stone Mattress and from other reviews I understand that it’s mostly about aging. I haven’t responded very well to short stories in the past, so looking forward to seeing how I feel about these stories.

      Like

      • priscilla
        January 14, 2015

        I have been a Parks and Rec fan since it premiered. It didn’t have so many fans in the early days, and I’m glad so many people caught on to how great it is.

        About Stone Mattress, I think saying it’s mostly about aging is a very limited view. If you’ve read other works by Margaret Atwood, I think you’ll see it’s more of a progression of the same types of characters and issues she has always tackled.

        Like

  9. rudejasper
    January 13, 2015

    The Martian was such a fun read! There are a number on here that Didn’t make my list but now that I see them am wondering why… An Untamed State, Euphoria, Yes, Please and The Bone Clocks all sounds really amazing. So many good books from last year obviously. I hadn’t heard of The Supernatural Enhancements but am a huge X Files nerd so will need to check that out too.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      I’ve been doing the same thing and reading posts like this and wondering how I could have missed this or that book! I’m really looking forward to reading The Martian and The Supernatural Enhancements. X-Files is on Netflix and I’ve thought about starting from the beginning, but again I need someone to clone me.

      Like

  10. Busy Brunette
    January 13, 2015

    Yes, Please! is on my list as well. I’ve heard it’s hilarious and I’m sure it’ll be a fast read.. once we actually get to it 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 13, 2015

      I’m pretty sure I’m 300-something out 700-something on the hold list. So hopefully this year I’ll read it!

      Like

  11. Marisa@TheDailyDosage
    January 13, 2015

    I LOVED Stone Mattress and Euphoria. 2014 was my introduction to Margaret Atwood and so glad I finally picked up her books. I don’t know which one book I was sorry to not have read in 2014, there must have been a reason. Maybe just time in the end. I read so many great ones that I have no regrets. 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 14, 2015

      It sounds like a pretty good year to me! Hope you have an equally satisfying 2015.

      Like

  12. Brona
    January 13, 2015

    We ended up with a few of the same unread books – maybe we’ll have to have our own mini readalong to get them done 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 14, 2015

      Yes! That sounds like the perfect solution to our “problem”. Let’s chat more about this soon.

      Like

  13. Stone Mattress and Sweetland were so good! Stone Mattress was a favorite of last year, and I think Sweetland will be a favorite of this year.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

