ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday – Most Anticipated Non-fiction for 2015

2015 Nonfiction

* * *

The theme for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday by the Broke and the Bookish is a freebie and I chose to list some of the non-fiction books I’m hoping to read in 2015.

The World Between Two Covers: Reading the Globe by Ann Morgan – From Samoan YA series to the first Qatari novel in English, the author discovers not only the pleasure of world literature, but how place shapes the books we read and write.

Whipping Boy: The Forty-Year Search for My Twelve-Year-Old Bully by Allen Kurzweil – The title alone sounds intense. Never able to forget the abuse he endured at an English boarding school, Whipping Boy chronicles the author’s search for his boyhood nemesis.

The Bastard of Fort Stikine: The Hudson’s Bay Company and the Murder of John McLoughlin, Jr. by Debra Komar – An experienced researcher and forensic scientist, the author investigates a murder that occurred at a trading post for Canada’s famed Hudson Bay Company in 1842 that never went to trial and the company kept quiet.

Eleanor Marx: A Life by Rachel Holmes – The translation of Madame Bovary I read last year was translated by Eleanor Marx and the short description of her in the introduction inspired me to learn more about the daughter of Karl Marx.

Stalin’s Daughter by Rosemary Sullivan – Sheltered from her father’s atrocities for years, Svetlana Stalin was devastated to learn the truth. Doomed by Stalin’s legacy, she shocked the world by abandoning her children in Russia and defecting to the U.S. only to continue living in his shadow.

Damage Done: A Mountie’s Memoir by Deanna Lennox – Once a member of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the author’s memoir reveals alcoholism, depression and post-traumatic stress disorder is suffered by many in service and the particular events that ended her career.

Dead Wake by Erik Larson – I enjoyed In the Garden of Beasts and the author’s latest is about the Lusitania, a luxury ocean liner that set sail from New York to Liverpool, and was torpedoed and sunk by a German U-boat in 1915.

Road Trip Rwanda by Will Ferguson – The Canadian author rented a “big-ass SUV” and depicts the day-to-day life of a nation still recovering from tragedy. Hard to find details about this book, although Macleans magazine says the book is coming out in October.

The Fellowship: The Literary Lives of the Inklings: J.R.R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, Owen Barfield, Charles Williams by Philip and Carol Zaleski – A biography about The Inklings literary club and its famous members who were determined to revitalize literature and faith in the twentieth century.

ISIS: The State of Terror by Jessica Stern, J.M. Berger – The news either freaks me out or makes me cry, so I only read headlines or new bytes. However, I felt a little too ignorant when my husband asked for my opinion on ISIS and I was flummoxed for an answer because I’m confused about who’s who and who’s doing what. I’m resolved to become a bit more educated this year.

What non-fiction are you looking forward to reading in 2015?

34 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – Most Anticipated Non-fiction for 2015

  1. Brian Joseph
    January 20, 2015

    This books really look like they are worth looking forward to. Stalin’s Daughter looks really good.

    I am thinking that the ISIS book might be a bit harrowing and difficult to take. It might be something to freak anyone out.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      The ISIS book is definitely something I wouldn’t usually pick-up, but I would like to give it a try.

      Like

  2. readerbuzz
    January 20, 2015

    I’m looking forward to several of these. Love Larson’s earlier work, so this one should be good, too. Anything about Stalin is fascinating. And the Inklings? Thanks for sharing all of these.

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      I’m so excited to read these books. I only started reading non-fiction seriously last year and I love how much variety in topic and style is available. Do you have anything on your must-read list?

      Like

  3. My Book Strings
    January 20, 2015

    I’m hoping to read Dead Wake, and the books about Fort Stikine and The World Between Two Covers sounds really good as well.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      I think Dead Wake is out this month and I only heard about the Fort Stikine book yesterday, but I think it’s out in April.

      Like

  4. jessicabookworm
    January 20, 2015

    I also have a non-fiction about Tolkien which I am looking forward to reading. I will be interested to see your thoughts on The Literary Lives of the Inklings. I hope you enjoy your reads 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      What is the title of your Tolkien book? I’m really looking forward to reading about the Inklings. I had no idea all of those writers were so close.

      Like

  5. Danica Page
    January 20, 2015

    I need to be better about reading non-fiction. Every time I dabble into non-fiction I love it, but I don’t read it nearly enough.

    Thanks for sharing. My post is about the 10 series I never finished. here’s mine

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      I only seriously started reading non-fiction last year because I thought most books would be very academic and dull, but there’s such a great variety of topics and writing styles I now think non-fiction is quite accessible to everyday readers.

      Like

  6. Naomi
    January 20, 2015

    Oooh… so many of these sound good. I didn’t know Will Ferguson had a new one coming out. The Mountie memoir is probably going to be sad.
    I read Debra Komar’s first book last year, The Ballad of Jacob Peck. She definitely knows her stuff. I can’t wait to hear about them all!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      I think the Mountie book will be sad too, but I’m so curious to get an inside look into the RCMP. I haven’t read any books about the organization.

      Like

  7. WordsAndPeace
    January 20, 2015

    I can’t wait to read Morgan’s book, though it has a different title here: Reading the World: Confessions of a Literary Explorer. I followed her blog when she did that [http://ayearofreadingtheworld.com/], and I got some of her ideas to read my 52 countries [http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/01/04/around-the-world-in-52-books/]. I plan to read Dead Wake.
    I’m now adding The Fellowship to my TBR!
    I have a whole bunch of books on France I plan to read.
    Plus: Wanderlust: A History of Walking, by Rebecca Solnit

    Like

  8. ebookclassics
    January 20, 2015

    I thought Ann Morgan’s book had a different title! I thought I had the title wrong when I was trying to do a search and couldn’t find it. Why do they change the titles like that? Thanks for sharing that the author’s blog, I will certainly take a look as a preview to the book.

    Like

  9. Angélique
    January 20, 2015

    You got me interested in The Fellowship: The Literary Lives of the Inklings: J.R.R. Tolkien, C. S. Lewis, Owen Barfield, Charles Williams by Philip and Carol Zaleski! Thank you for sharing this list 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      My pleasure! I’m curious about the book because I had no idea Tolkien and C.S. Lewis were friends.

      Like

  10. janceewright
    January 20, 2015

    I’m intrigued by Whipping Boy! My first thought was that hopefully he found his bully and was amazed by the change in him. I hope that’s what happened!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 20, 2015

      I’m so curious too! Forty years is a long time to be looking for someone you knew in childhood.

      Like

      • janceewright
        January 20, 2015

        Exactly. I’m curious about the purpose. To get revenge? To say “I forgive you”? To extend a hand of friendship? To gauge how that person turned out in adulthood? I’ll definitely be looking out for this one.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          January 20, 2015

          I was just assuming it would be a revenge tale, but you may be right and there’s much more to the story than that.

          Like

  11. Lisa @ Captivated Reader
    January 20, 2015

    Nice topic!! I love reading nonfiction books and am noticing that I am reading more of them now that I am older. Here’s my TTT post for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/01/top-ten-tuesday-authors-id-like-to-meet.html

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 21, 2015

      I only started reading non-fiction seriously last year, but I plan to read a lot more this year and hopefully learn a thing or two.

      Like

  12. Nobody @ The Story Goes...
    January 20, 2015

    Great topic! I’m not really big on non-fic but some of these sound really good. I hope you enjoy them when they come out!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 21, 2015

      Thanks! I stayed away from non-fiction in the past because I thought it would be a bit difficult to understand or boring, but I’ve read some really good books in the past year.

      Like

  13. Busy Brunette
    January 20, 2015

    You have found the way to my heart! Nonfiction books are my absolute favorite and I am loving the list you came up with. I, too, want to be more educated about certain topics and plan to add some of these to my TBR for the year! A book I read and really enjoyed (and is actually on my to be reread list) is called The Looming Tower by Lawrence Wright. It’s all about the history of Al-Qaeda and Bin Laden. Very informative and extremely interesting!!

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday 🙂 http://busybrunettesbookshelf.blogspot.com/2015/01/top-ten-tuesday-books-i-want-to-reread.html

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 21, 2015

      Wow, thanks for the recommendations. I will definitely check them out.

      Like

  14. Jenni Elyse (@jenni_elyse)
    January 21, 2015

    I love that you chose non-fiction. I’m not a huge non-fiction reader, but every now and then I’m interested in one here and there. The Tolkien/Lewis one sounds very interesting!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 22, 2015

      I haven’t been a big non-fiction reader until recently. I’m easing my way in, but it’s easy where then are so many interesting books available.

      Like

  15. Nice choices.Thank you for the list.Have to check the one about the Inklings.Currently,I am reading ‘Mr. Putin’,published by the Brookings Institution,so this one is a well researched serious political biography.Next on my list is ‘Romantic Outlaws: The Extraordinary Lives of Mary Wollstonecraft and Her Daughter Mary Shelley’ by Charlotte Gordon which comes out in April.Honestly,there are so many promising non-fics coming out this year.
    Happy reading. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 26, 2015

      Wow, both of those books sound fascinating. I haven’t head of either one, but those topics appeal to me. Enjoy!

      Like

  16. DoingDewey
    January 25, 2015

    Now this is my kind of list! I’ve added quite a few them to my list of books I’m looking forward to 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 26, 2015

      Yay! I know I’m always getting great book recommendations from your lists, so happy I can suggest something new to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. John Ford
    November 23, 2015

    ISIS was funced by and armed by the Bilderberg Group—I suggest you become a lot more of what you term ‘educated.’…But remember, there are a lot of bozos, both sexes, who come out of university with a degree and think they are educated, but, are not.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

