ebookclassics

Celebrities In Classics ~ Damian Lewis Edition

damianlewis

* * *

Celebrities in Classics is back!

WHO IS IT? If you’re like me, you’re chomping at the bit to see Damian play Thomas Cromwell in the BBC adaptation of Wolf Hall this month. Damian is especially well-known for recently playing Nicholas Brody on Homeland (which I bailed on during season 2).

WHAT IS IT ABOUT DAMIAN? Although he’s not your typical Hollywood heartthrob, Damian is charismatic, funny and an all-round nice guy. He’s not interested in being a celebrity, but a really good actor.

FIRST ENCOUNTER: I first saw Damian Lewis in the adaptation of Stephen King’s Dreamcatcher. Damian plays Jonesy one of four friends on a hunting trip and I wrongly predicted that Damian’s character would die first!

FAVE MOVIE/SCENE: Damian totally knocked me out with his performance in Band of Brothers as Major Richard Winters. His character consistently shined as a leader with understanding and compassion for his men.

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY

1997 ~ Robinson Crusoe ~ Patrick
2002 ~ The Forsyte Saga ~ Soames Forsyte
2005 ~ Much Ado About Nothing (for series Shakespeare Retold) ~ Benedick
2013 ~ Romeo & Juliet ~ Lord Capulet
2015 ~ Wolf Hall ~ Henry VIII of England (let’s just call it a classic)

Damian has starred in many book adaptations. To see them all, please see his full filmography.

GREAT QUOTE: “I’ve discovered just how symbiotic the relationship is between writers, directors and actors. They ask the same questions and strip down texts in exactly the same way.”

Band of Brothers (2001)

Wolf Hall (2015)

Who is your favourite celebrity in a classic?

11 comments on “Celebrities In Classics ~ Damian Lewis Edition

  1. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    January 21, 2015

    Oh I didn’t realize Damian Lewis was going to be in Wolf Hall! I absolutely loved him in Much Ado About Nothing. Unfortunately I haven’t seen anything else he’s done, but hopefully I’ll be able to watch Wolf Hall!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 22, 2015

      I’ve seen good review for the first episode of Wolf Hall. I’m hoping to watch it this weekend.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    January 21, 2015

    Wolf Hall looks so good! I should really read the book first, though…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 22, 2015

      Wolf Hall was a challenging read for me, but very much worth the effort. I will probably read the second book Bringing Up the Bodies at the some point.

      Like

  3. majoringinliterature
    January 21, 2015

    I really have to read Wolf Hall! Although I doubt the TV adaptation will be out in Australia for a while yet, sadly. I loved Much Ado About Nothing, though; it was a really fun adaptation. 😀 I’m sure Lewis will be great in Wolf Hall.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 22, 2015

      I didn’t even know Damian Lewis had done Much Ado and I love that play so much. I will have to track it down.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. lauratfrey
    January 21, 2015

    I LOVE HIM. Between him & Ron Livingston in Band of Brothers I was hooked. And Soames is SO awful but still great fun to watch. I might attempt to read that whole series this year actually, which will make a rewatch necessary…

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 22, 2015

      I forgot how much I loved Damian Lewis and Ron Livingston together until I started watching clips from BOB. I may rewatch the series too, I think it might actually be on Netflix.

      Like

  5. jessicabookworm
    January 22, 2015

    I really like Damien Lewis. I first saw him in The Forsyte Saga but it is the amazing Band of Brothers which really caught my attention. I’m unsure whether to watch Wolf Hall as I still have the book to read.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 22, 2015

      Hmm, that’s a tough decision and I always find myself in this predicament. I do recommend reading the book because it’s very well-written. BTW, I finished series one of The Musketeers last night!

      Like

      • jessicabookworm
        January 22, 2015

        Excellent, I hope you enjoyed it! I’m 3 episodes into the new series 🙂

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2015 by in Headlines and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

