ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday ~ Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club (If I Had A Book Club)

bookclub

I’m very keen on movie and TV adaptations, so hosting a book to movie club would be fun. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday for Broke and Bookish, here is a reading list based on 2015 movie releases.

Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín – Eilis Lacey has led a hard life in Ireland and jumps at the opportunity to move to New York. She not only starts a new life in the city, but falls in love. The adaptation starring Saoirse Ronan and Domhnall Gleeson is supposed to be released this month, but I haven’t seen any publicity for the movie.

Serena by Ron Rash – In 1929, newlyweds George and Serena move to the North Carolina mountains to manage their new timber empire. George has fathered a child in the camp and when Serena fails to conceive, she sets out to destroy her husband’s illegitimate family. Serena starring Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper will be released in March.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn – When she was seven years old, Libby Day provided evidence that put her fifteen year old brother in jail. Years later, she questions her own evidence and discovers that everyone in her family is hiding secrets. Dark Places starring Chloë Grace Moretz and Charlize Theron is set for release in the Spring.

Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy – In this nineteenth century novel, Bathsheba Everdene arrives in Weatherbury to live with her aunt and quickly attracts three very different suitors. The adaptation starring Carey Mulligan and Tom Sturridge will be released in May.

Paper Towns by John Green – Q and Margo were close as children, but eventually grew apart. Now in high school, Margo shows up one night and asks Q to help her seek revenge against people who have hurt her. The adaptation starring Nat Wolff and Cara Delevingne will be released in June.

A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail by Bill Bryson – After living in England for two decades, the author decides upon returning to the U.S. that hiking the Appalachian Trail is the best way to reconnect with his homeland. The release date for the adaptation starring Robert Redford and Nick Offerman has yet to be determined.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – An obsessed science student attempts to animate lifeless matter, but his latest experiment involving stolen body parts may cause his undoing. Victor Frankenstein starring Danielle Radcliffe, James McAvoy and Jessica Brown Findlay will be released in October.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith – Lizzy Bennet is doing her best to get rid of the zombies inhabiting the English village of Meryton, but gets distracted by the arrival of  arrogant Fitzwilliam Darcy. The release for the adaptation starring Lily James and Sam Riley has yet to be determined.

The Martian by Andy Weir – Mark Watney is the first man to walk on Mars, but when his crew is forced to abandon him, will he be the first man to die there? The adaptation starring Matt Damon is to be released in November.

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman – After the first World War, a lighthouse keeper and his wife discover a baby and a dead body near their Australian home. The release date for the adaptation starring Michael Fassbender and Alicia Vikander has yet to be determined.

I will be reading some of the books listed as part of my 2015 Book to Movie Challenge. Please read-along with me!

29 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday ~ Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club (If I Had A Book Club)

  1. Naomi
    January 27, 2015

    I just joined my very first book club (off-line, that is), and went to my first meeting this weekend. The best part was discussing what book we were going to read next. One of my suggestions was Far From the Madding Crowd, because I knew the movie was coming out, and it’s one that I would like to read. In the end, we went with Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It’ll be fun reading books chosen by other people (well, as long as I don’t hate them). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ebookclassics
      January 27, 2015

      Wow, that’s fantastic. I love book clubs, but haven’t had much luck over the last few years working it into my schedule. I haven’t read anything by Thomas Hardy before, but Far From the Madding Crowd looks good (which translates to: this looks romantic!).

      Like

      • Naomi
        January 27, 2015

        I loved Tess, so I’ve always wanted to try another one of his books.

        Like

  2. citygirlscapes
    January 27, 2015

    This is a great idea for a book club. I, too, am a huge fan of the book to movie adaptation. I’ve read a few of these, but there’s a bunch on my TBR list before they come out this year. I’m excited for a lot of these movies. – ashley

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 27, 2015

      Unfortunately, it’s likely I will watch the movie before I read most of these books. I’m not too against watching first and reading later.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My Book Strings
    January 27, 2015

    The Light Between Oceans was a wonderful read for me. And I like Michael Fassbender, so who knows, I might actually watch the movie… I’d be interested in reading Far from Madding Crowd; I’ve wanted to read Hardy for quite some time.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 27, 2015

      I’m a big Fassbender fan too, so I would really like to get to both the book and movie. But they really jumped on the movie, didn’t the book come out last year? I haven’t read anything by Hardy, so Far From the Madding Crowd might be a god place to start.

      Like

      • My Book Strings
        January 27, 2015

        I think the book is a little older already. 2012, if I am not mistaken.

        Like

  4. The Paperback Princess
    January 27, 2015

    You should start a book club! I didn’t know that one of Colm Toibin’s novels was being adapted! I love Domhnall Gleason so I’m really excited he has something new coming out. A lot of these adaptations should be great but I have no time for the zombies and Jane Austen thing.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 27, 2015

      Ha ha, a book club with this theme would definitely be fun! Domhnall Gleason is so great. He also stars in the movie version of Brooklyn and I just saw him in Unbroken.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Frankenstein is a great choice!! Awesome List! Check out my Top Ten Tuesday! http://bookbabble.weebly.com/blog/top-ten-tuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jessica (@BooksATrueStory)
    January 27, 2015

    Ah I didn’t know light between oceans was going to be a movie! So cool. I haven’t read it but I’ve heard it’s so good. My book club is reading In The Heart of the Sea and it’s going to be a movie in March starring Chris Hemsworth *swoon* I think books turning into movies make great book club picks.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 27, 2015

      How do you like In The Heart of the Sea? I almost chose it for this list. I love Chris Hemsworth too and think he will be great in this kind of adventure story.

      Like

  7. jessicabookworm
    January 27, 2015

    I didn’t know an adaptation of Far From the Madding Crowd was coming out. I loved the novel so looking forward to that 🙂

    Like

  8. I’ve read some of these in a book club before! Frankenstein is always fun to talk about. I wish I had read Paper Towns with other people because I didn’t really like that book but there were some interesting things to discuss. I love that these are all soon to be movie adaptations…that would be fun to read the book with your book club and then go out to see the film version together 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 27, 2015

      I think it would so much fun to read a book and then go see the movie. I belonged to a book club like that but I couldn’t read the book in time or make it to the meetings, so I dropped out. Maybe I will try again.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Lisa @ Captivated Reader
    January 27, 2015

    Frankenstein is awesome!! Nothing like the movie version with Boris Karloff!! I couldn’t get into The Light Between Oceans.

    The following is a link to my TTT this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/01/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-id-love-to.html

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jenni Elyse (@jenni_elyse)
    January 27, 2015

    I love your list. I want to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Paper Towns. It would be fun to read them with others to discuss them.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 27, 2015

      I’m planning to read Paper Towns before the movie comes out. Read it with me! Then we can tackle the Lizzy Bennett and the zombies.

      Like

  11. This is awesome! I’m the kid who’s likely to say they’ll read the text before jumping into a movie but that rarely happens haha. With this in mind, I’m ready for the next few Gillian Flynn films!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 27, 2015

      I didn’t want to jump on the bandwagon, but I keep being told that both the book and movie for Gone Girl are must-read-must-see. So I definitely think I need to read something by Gillian Flynn soon to see what everyone is talking about whether it’s Gone Girl or something else.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Busy Brunette
    January 27, 2015

    Dark Places will be exciting to see! Obviously Gillian Flynn knows how to start debate so I’m interested to see what the movie is like… Serena is a hard one for me but one I would probably add to my list for book clubs- I couldn’t finish it but I would like to hear other opinions about it to see if I should try it again..

    Here is mine this week 🙂 http://busybrunettesbookshelf.blogspot.com/2015/01/top-ten-tuesday-books-id-love-to-read.html

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 28, 2015

      Was the subject matter in Serena difficult? I am planning to read it, so I guess I’ll find out soon.

      Like

  13. Cecilia
    January 28, 2015

    I love this list! I’d read (and loved) The Light Between Oceans and most of the others are on my TR list. Had no idea that many of them are being made into films so that’s exciting. In response to your comment above, I’d be interested to know what you think of Gone Girl. I’m one of the ones who felt it was overly hyped…definitely clever and a page turner and they did a faithful job with the movie, but the characters were so seriously unlikeable for me that it impacted my ability to really enjoy the story.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 28, 2015

      Everyone seems to agree that The Light Between Oceans is a good story so it will be interesting to see how it translates to the screen. I am probably going to jump on the Gone Girl bandwagon, but should I read the book first?

      Like

  14. Priya
    January 31, 2015

    I missed this Top Ten Tuesday but I love your list. Frankenstein was the first book I read with my old book club, and while I’m not the biggest fan of the romantics, the discussion and dissection of the book was very interesting. I had no clue about the movie..

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 31, 2015

      Reading Frankenstein cleared up so many misconceptions I had about the story, such as that Frankenstein is actually the doctor! I read the book for a university class and I didn’t realize how many issues the book explores. I look forward to seeing the movie. I love Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

