ebookclassics

Mini-Reviews of Recent Reads

Mini-Reviews

A few mini-reviews to end the week!

Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger – A fantastical tale about fourteen-year Sophronia who is recruited into Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. Of course, Sophronia discovers she is to learn a lot more than dancing and how to properly curtsy. The story was a little too juvenile for me, but I appreciated the author’s inventive world-building and the overall humour and whimsy.

 * * *

Million Dollar Arm: Sometimes to Win, You Have to Change the Game by J.B. Bernstein – A work obsessed sports agent comes up with the idea of creating a reality show to find a MLB-ready pitcher in India. I enjoyed this funny fish-out-of-water story about how sometimes when you take responsibility for others, you realize it’s time to take responsibility for yourself.

 * * *

Allegiant by Veronica Roth – I was so disappointed with Insurgent, I wasn’t even sure I was going to read the last book of the series. However, Allegiant made-up for it with a fast-paced story that (sort of) answers questions about what happened to the world and why the factions exist. In this book, Tris and Four alternate narrating the story which was weird, but I got used to it. The controversial ending didn’t bother me, but I thought everything was awkwardly wrapped up and then dragged out for too long. No matter what, I can’t wait for the next movie!

* * *

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai – Malala’s story not only describes her rise from ordinary Pashtun school girl to international advocate, but introduces us to an intelligent girl with dreams that are bigger than her life of Twilight novels and obsessions over good grades. Malala campaigns for all children to have access to an education and I have been greatly inspired by her story to support this important cause.

Have a great weekend!

9 comments on “Mini-Reviews of Recent Reads

  1. janceewright
    January 30, 2015

    Everyone got really angry over the Allegiant ending. I didn’t really mind it, because I thought it was a more realistic ending than most dystopian trilogies have.

    If you liked Gail Carriger’s style, but thought the Finishing School books are too juvenile, have you tried her adult series, The Parasol Protectorate? Same kind of world, same humor and imagination and fun.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 30, 2015

      Yeah, I thought the Allegiant ending was realistic too. I just heard about the Parasol Protectorate the other day, so I might check it out. Have you read it?

      Like

      • janceewright
        January 30, 2015

        I’ve read 2 of the 5 so far. I got sidetracked by review copies and library books and such, but I’m hoping to get back to them soon. They’re a lot of fun!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          January 30, 2015

          I know what that’s like! I might try the first book soon, thanks for the recommendation.

          Like

  2. Naomi
    January 30, 2015

    I’ve only read Divergent, but got the low-down on the other two books from my daughter, so I don’t feel the need to read them. I will probably also eventually see the movies. I wonder if the ending of Allegiant is more controversial among the younger readers than the older ones, because they are still used to happy-ish endings? I know my daughter was upset about it. 🙂
    The Million Dollar Arm sounds fun- I’ve never heard of it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 30, 2015

      It never occurred to me that readers from a younger demographic would have taken the ending a little more to heart, so maybe that is the case. I really enjoyed the Divergent movie! I hadn’t heard of Million Dollar Arm either until I saw a preview for the movie somewhere. It was a nice story.

      Like

  3. Sam (Tiny Library)
    January 31, 2015

    Glad you enjoyed I Am Malala – I recently picked it up and I’m really looking forward to it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      January 31, 2015

      I really enjoyed the book. I can’t wait to read your review and see you what think.

      Like

  4. DoingDewey
    February 2, 2015

    I also liked Etiquette and Espionage, but the younger target audience definitely made it appeal to me less than her Parasol Protectorate series. I still haven’t gotten to I Am Malala, but I’d like to this year.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

