ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday ~ Ten Books I Want To Read From the Feminist Self-Help Genre

selfhelp

I’m sure you recognize the feminist self-help genre: part heartfelt reflection, part witty from-my-experience commentary, part feminist treatise. Otherwise known as the celebrity memoir. Surely it was one of the most popular genres in 2014 thanks to Lena Dunham and others.  Here are a few on my TBR:

* * *

Girl Walks into a Bar . . .: Comedy Calamities, Dating Disasters, and a Midlife Miracle by Rachel Dratch – For all the Saturday Night Live fans like me, Rachel’s memoir is your next step after reading Bossypants by Tina Fey and Yes Please by Amy Poehler. I love her Debbie Downer character from SNL!

 * * *

Laughing All the Way to the Mosque by Zarqa Nawaz – Creator of the short-lived Canadian TV show, Little Mosque on the Prairie, Zarqa shares the very funny ways she grew-up as a Muslim in a Western society. I only watched an episode or two of Little Mosque, but loved the show’s premise of a comedy about Muslims adjusting to small town life in the prairies.

 * * *

#GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso – The founder and CEO of the online fashion line, Nasty Gal, Sophia shares how she rose to the top without sacrificing her spirit of adventure. Her three pieces of advice are “Don’t ever grow up. Don’t become a bore. Don’t let The Man get to you.” Heh heh, The Man …

 * * *

Seriously … I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres – Everything Ellen says and does makes me laugh. She just has to make one of her cross-eyed looks and I’m the floor. I only watch bits and pieces of her talk show lately, but just seeing her walk-on dance makes me happy. I’m curious to see if I will feel the same reading her goofy humour.

* * *

My Life in France by Julia Child – The woman who brought the joys of cooking to America describes her time in France where she was the first woman admitted into the famous Cordon Bleu cooking school and then went on to co-author the legendary Mastering the Art of French Cooking cookbook.

 * * *

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae – I haven’t watched Issa’s popular web series, The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl, but this book of humourous essays also explores what it’s like to be black and introverted.

 * * *

I Feel Bad about My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman by Nora Ephron – A woman of many hats as producer, director, writer, novelist and blogger, Nora reflects on growing old and all the baggage that comes with aging. Some of my favourite movies that Nora wrote include When Harry Met Sally and Sleepless In Seattle.

 * * *

Listen to the Squawking Chicken: When Mother Knows Best, What’s a Daughter To Do? A Memoir (Sort Of) by Elaine Lui – Gossip queen Elaine shares the tough love parenting she received from her mother and how it has guided her life. Her Lainey Gossip website and Twitter feed are on my must-visit list for celebrity news.

 * * *

Moranthology by Caitlin Moran – This collection of essays by the no-holds barred columnist and celebrity interviewer is the only book by Caitlin I haven’t read yet. One of my bookish highlights of 2014 was meeting Caitlin in person at a book signing for her novel How to Build A Girl.

 * * *

Lady Parts by Andrea Martin – Best known as a principal cast member of the Canadian comedy show, SCTV, and as Aunt Voula from My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Andrea looks back at her very long career in show business. One of my favourite SCTV skits is when Andrea played the very plain Jane Eyrehead.

In addition, I’m looking forward another book by Mindy Kaling and one by Laverne Cox who plays Sophia on Orange is the New Black. Which feminist self-help/celebrity memoir have you enjoyed reading?

8 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday ~ Ten Books I Want To Read From the Feminist Self-Help Genre

  1. Naomi
    February 3, 2015

    I love Ellen, too. I hardly ever get a chance to watch her, but when I do (usually at the dentist) I always wish I could keep watching. I read one of her books, but I can’t remember which one. If it’s the one I read, though, then my favourite part is about the toilet paper (you’ll know when you get to it).
    I really liked I Feel Bad About My Neck, I thought it was both funny and genuine. And, I would still love to read Listen to the Squawking Chicken. Fun list!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 4, 2015

      I love imagining you at the dentist watching Ellen and they have to drag you away for your check-up! I read some bad reviews for the book I chose, but I will still give it a go.

      Like

      • Naomi
        February 4, 2015

        Haha! It’s usually while they are working on my teeth that I am watching Ellen, which gives you something even more amusing to imagine. But, it makes me want them to take their time, so it’s very effective. 🙂

        Like

  2. lauratfrey
    February 3, 2015

    I don’t know, I’m wary of this genre. I don’t buy the whole “I”m a celebrity so I’m an expert on ____,” even feminism. I *am* going to the book launch for Is Gwyneth Paltrow Wrong About Everything? on Friday and I’m pretty excited. Even tho I love Gwyneth 🙂

    I loved I Feel Bad About My Neck but I didn’t really know who Nora Ephron was when I read it (I was 25, that’s my excuse) so it didn’t really count 🙂 I wonder if this kind of book would be good on audio, especially if read by the author.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 4, 2015

      Wow, I’m so excited for you about the book launch. Please share details. I have mixed feelings about celebrity advice and don’t take it too seriously, but it’s fun seeing what they have to say.

      Like

  3. Julie
    February 4, 2015

    I read(listened to) A Girl Walks Into a Bar…it was good…not Tina Fey or Amy Poehler great…but good. She had a very different experience than the other two. My Life in France was excellent. Almost made me want to cook…almost, but not quite! The author of the Happiness Project has a new book coming out called Better than Before. I really like the Happiness Project, so I am planning on giving her new book a listen.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 4, 2015

      I borrowed the Happiness Project from the library, but didn’t read beyond the first chapter because I thought I had too many books to read to start a happiness project. 🙂

      Like

  4. There are some books on this list I need to read too haha!! Here is my Top Ten Tuesday if you wanna check it out 🙂 http://bookbabble.weebly.com/blog/top-ten-tuesday1

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

