ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday – Romances I’d Like To See In Fiction

romance

The theme for this week’s Broke and the Bookish Top Ten Tuesday is about what we like, dislike or want to see more of in fictional romance. I’m not that picky, but here are some thoughts in no particular order:

* * *

A female protagonist who is empowered without a man – After reading Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert and The Awakening by Kate Chopin, I really long for a story about a girl or woman who becomes empowered without the catalyst being an affair or a romantic relationship. I will probably start with this Goodreads list.

* * *

Diverse couples – Even though I haven’t read the book, Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell comes to mind, as does Maggie and Glen from The Walking Dead.

* * *

Bromance – Probably my all-time favourite bromance in fiction is between snarky Sherlock Holmes and his straight man, Dr. James Watson. I also love this relationship in all its screen incarnations

* * *

Happy marriagesI can’t think of one book right now. Does that mean happy marriages are too boring to write about?

* * *

A woman pretends to be a man then falls in loveOne of my favourite gender-bending characters is Viola from Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare who pretends to be a man and falls in love with Duke Orsino.

* * *

Hot love triangle – YA is the clear winner of this category, as I have quite enjoyed the Peeta-Katniss-Gale and Edward-Bella-Jacob love triangles over the years.

* * *

Quiet girl gets the guy – How about the placid, yet incredibly intelligent Jane Eyre winning the affection and adoration of grumpy pants, Mr. Rochester?

* * *

Celebrity who falls in love with a regular Jane or JoeNotting Hill starring Hugh Grant and Julia Roberts comes to mind. Any books like that out there?

* * *

Really good friends who fall in love – When Harry Met Sally was my original inspiration, but I would like to read about characters who fall in love like Ron and Hermione from the Harry Potter series too.

* * *

Loving someone who exists in another time – Quite possibly the worst long distance relationship ever, but not without its own unique charm. Some of the books I thought of include Outlander by Diana Gabaldon and The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

* * *

Hmm, maybe I am picky. What kind of romance would you like to see in fiction? Do you have any book suggestions for me?

20 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – Romances I’d Like To See In Fiction

  1. Tamsin
    February 10, 2015

    “A female protagonist who is empowered without a man” Ugh, yes, I can’t stand it when it takes a romantic relationship with a man to liberate a woman (Lady Chatterley’s Lover is particularly obnoxious in this respect).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 10, 2015

      Ooh, I hadn’t thought of Lady Chatterley’s Lover, but I only finished half of the book. Maybe I stopped reading it for that very reason!

      Like

      • Tamsin
        February 10, 2015

        I would definitely say that was a wise decision! I had to read the whole thing for a class, unfortunately.

        Like

  2. Naomi
    February 10, 2015

    It looks like there are some good books on that Goodreads list – unless you’ve read all the good ones.
    “Happy Marriages” – Love Letters of the Angel of Death by Jennifer Quist! But, I can’t think of any more. It’s sad to think that happy marriages are boring to write about.
    “Love Triangle” – Euphoria by Lily King.
    “Good friends who fall in love” – I would like to read more like this, too. Usually, stories like this are really friends who are in love but won’t admit it to themselves or each other until the end, like One Day by David Nicholls. But, there’s always Anne and Gilbert, although they might also fall into the category of having been in love all along.
    I love Notting Hill. 🙂

    Like

  3. lauratfrey
    February 10, 2015

    For a celebrity falling for a regular Jane/Joe try A Certain Chemistry. A soap star falls for her ghostwriter, who is writing her memoir. It’s very funny. Reminded me of Nick Hornby.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 10, 2015

      Thanks! I haven’t heard of A Certain Chemistry but I like Nick Hornby’s writing, so I’ll look it up.

      Like

  4. Maggie @ macarons & paperbacks
    February 10, 2015

    I love bromances, too! 🙂 They always make me genuinely laugh out loud.

    Like

  5. Jenni Elyse (@jenni_elyse)
    February 10, 2015

    I agree with your first one. I love women who can take care of themselves and can funciton without having a man around. But, I wish Katsa, for example, would be okay with marrying Po because he’d never “own” her. Sometimes I just think it goes a little too far.

    Also, I just have to say that I disagree with love triangles, lol. I abhor them to the point that I want the third wheel to die a horrible death!!! 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      February 11, 2015

      Ha ha, poor third wheel. But I get how annoying triangles can be too, as much as I like them.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

