ebookclassics

Book to Movie Challenge 2015 – Check-In #1

Book2Movie

Hello friends! It’s already time for our quarterly Book to Movie Challenge check-in. As I mentioned in the master post, this challenge is super-casual and super-flexible. Link-up your Book to Movie reviews below or just tell us in the comments what you’ve been watching and reading.

I’ve been watching a lot of adaptations, but realize I haven’t read any of the books except Wolf Hall!

* * *

Wolf Hall (2015) TV BBC series starring Mark Rylance and Damian Lewis, based on Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel. I meant to write a full review for Wolf Hall, but in the interests of time will just summarize my thoughts. Although I haven’t read Bring Up the Bodies, I knew enough about Thomas Cromwell’s story to follow along. I didn’t find the politics and underhanded tactics as jaw-dropping as the book, but the drama of Anne Boleyn’s rise and fall as King Henry’s second queen is just as intense.

* * *

Silver Linings Playbook (2012) starring Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, and based on the novel by Matthew Quick. I often have a hard time with movies where people yell at each other the whole time and it’s supposed to be amusing, but I was blown away by the humour and depth in this movie.

* * *

Atonement (2001) starring James McAvoy and Keira Knightley, based on the novel by Ian McEwan. Atonement is a beautiful and tragic story about unrequited love and betrayal. I’ve heard the book is better, but I enjoyed the movie and was shocked by the reveal at the end.

* * *

Drive (2011) starring Ryan Gosling and Carey Mulligan, based on the novel by James Sallis. Ryan plays the silent, but deadly type to Carey’s sweet mother with a criminal husband. They have their own kind of unrequited, tragic love story. It’s just bloodier.

* * *

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013) starring Martin Freeman among many others, based on the novel by J.R.R. Tolkien. Even though I had just seen Richard Armitage in North and South, I didn’t realize (again) that he plays Thorin until the credits rolled. I love this trilogy as much as the last one and it makes me want to attempt reading the book again, but I just don’t have the patience for pages and pages of verse, as beautiful as it may be.

* * *

The 100 (2013-current) TV series starring Eliza Taylor and Paige Turco, based on the novel by Kass Morgan. I binge-watched this YA-ish show while I was sick and then completely burned out in the middle of season 2. For almost a century, humans have been living on a space station, but they are running out of air. They send 100 teenage delinquents down to Earth to determine whether the planet is liveable and chaos ensues. Lots of good characters and action.

* * *

Fresh Off the Boat (2015) TV series starring Hudson Yang, Randall Park and Constance Wu, based on the memoir by Eddie Huang. I started reading this memoir, but had to return it to the library. Being half-Vietnamese, I’m always on the lookout for Asian stories that are not about war or the immigrant experience, and I like this show/book because the family already fits in. It’s just a wacky comedy about being Asian. Bonus points for being set in the fun-loving nineties.

* * *

Until the next check-in, happy reading!

15 comments on “Book to Movie Challenge 2015 – Check-In #1

  1. majoringinliterature
    February 27, 2015

    I definitely agree with you about The Silver Linings Playbook; it really was a great film.

    I’m very interested in the buzz surrounding Wolf Hall. It looks like a great adaptation. I’ve yet to read the books, but I’m glad it’s easy to follow even if you haven’t read the books. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 4, 2015

      Wolf Hall had excellent casting and I enjoyed watching it, but Wolf Hall the book was so good. I struggled with the language and style of the storytelling at first, but once I got the hang of it, I just went “wow”.

      Like

      • majoringinliterature
        March 5, 2015

        That’s good to know! I managed to track down a copy at the library (finally!) so I’m looking forward to reading it. 🙂

        Like

  2. jessicabookworm
    February 28, 2015

    I am pleased to hear you have been enjoying your adaptation watching. I loved Wolf Hall and The Silver Linings Playbook, and I also enjoyed Atonement and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 4, 2015

      I’m always impressed by the number adaptations you watch every month!

      Like

  3. Naomi
    February 28, 2015

    I really have to read Wolf Hall. And, about Atonement, that book was brutal. I don’t think I could watch the movie if it is as painful as the book.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 4, 2015

      Ooh, is Atonement that intense? You’ve made me very curious. The movie was beautiful, but sad. I think you would enjoy Wolf Hall.

      Like

      • Naomi
        March 4, 2015

        Atonement made me so mad! What happens in it drove me so crazy – I wanted to jump in and fix everything. Maybe others wouldn’t have the same reaction, though.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          March 4, 2015

          I think I understand what you mean. The whole situation could have been fixed, but wasn’t and just ruined people’s lives.

          Like

  4. I’ve gotten nowhere on my challenges so far this year! I’ve been writing the first paper that will be part of my thesis and having just finished most of it, I’m looking forward to getting back into things 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 6, 2015

      Sounds like things are intense for you right now. Good luck with your paper!

      To be honest, I was hoping to do more for this challenge this quarter, but got sidelined by a number of things. I’ll try harder next quarter.

      Like

  5. Okay so I actually can’t link up properly because the link-up button tells me registration has expired? Here is my wrap-up post which includes my Book To Movie posts!

    http://chasedbymyimagination.blogspot.co.uk/2015/03/march-wrap-up.html

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2015

      Sorry about that! I’ll look into the link, but I’m hoping to make things easier for the next check-in. Thank you for sharing your post!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

