ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday – Ten TV Shows for Readers Who Like Classic Novels

shows

Here’s my play on this week’s theme by The Broke and the Bookish!

* * *

Wolf Hall – Based on Hilary Mantel’s Man Booker and National Book Critics Circle award-winning book and its sequel, Bring Up the Bodies, this tour de force depicts the rise of villainized Thomas Cromwell in the court of King Henry VIII.

* * *

Outlander – An adaptation of Diana Gabaldon’s super popular series of historical time travel novels, Claire Beauchamp Randall leaves behind her husband when she is transported from Scotland in 1945 to 1743, and just so happens to meet a handsome Highlander.

* * *

Sherlock – A contemporary re-imagining of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s famous Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson detective stories with a few twists.

* * *

Poldark – Based on the series of novels by Winston Graham, after leaving the love of his life to spend three years in the army, Ross Poldark returns to find his family home in ruins and his love engaged to his cousin.

* * *

Sleepy Hollow – Why not take Ichabod Crane from Washington Irving’s Halloween short story, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and make him a modern day action hero? Somehow this works brilliantly.

* * *

The Musketeers – Based on Alexandre Dumas’s novel about King Louis XII’s royal guards and an adventurous farm boy named D’Artagnan. Admittedly, I love this show because of the eye candy, but also because of the action, humour and it’s just gorgeous to watch.

* * *

Hannibal – An intense psychological horror based on the serial killer from Silence of the Lambs and the Hannibal Lecter novels by Thomas Harris. I swear some of this show’s episodes are works of art, so surreal and hypnotic.

* * *

The Man in the High Castle – Adapted from Philip K. Dick’s novel of the same name, this alternative history depicts a world where Nazi Germany and Imperial Japan won World War II, and the western world is at their mercy.

* * *

Once Upon A Time – A drama series that combines a large number of our favourite fairy tales, including Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood, Peter Pan and Sleeping Beauty (and for some reason a few Disney movies, but hey, why not?) into one big fantasy story.

* * *

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell – An upcoming series based on Susanna Clarke’s alternative history novel where magic is an everyday part of life in England during the Industrial Revolution.

Are you watching any of these show or have you read the novels?

17 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten TV Shows for Readers Who Like Classic Novels

  1. Naomi
    March 10, 2015

    Look at all the good shows I’m missing out on! I really want to read a Sherlock Holmes novel. I’d also like to read Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. And, I’d like to read Wolf Hall before watching.
    My daughter has just discovered Once Upon A Time, and was explaining it to me. It sounds different.
    Have you read any of these before watching?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 10, 2015

      I’ve loved Sherlock Holmes since I was a child and highly recommend the stories for a quick read. Although I suggest you don’t start with The Hound of the Baskervilles because even though it’s really good, it’s narrated by Watson.

      I’m horrific TV addict, so I have pretty much watched all of these shows. I’m still on Season 1 for Once Upon A Time and think it’s very well done and entertaining. Part of the fun is recognizing all of the fairy tale characters.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jessicabookworm
    March 10, 2015

    I have watched/am watching Wolf Hall, Sherlock, Sleepy Hollow, The Musketeers and Hannibal. While I am also looking forward to watching Poldark.

    Like

  3. My Book Strings
    March 10, 2015

    I would really like to watch the shows based on Hilary Mantel’s books, except I want to read the books first… I’m curious about Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell; I didn’t enjoy the book that much, but I can imagine it to work well on TV.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 10, 2015

      I haven’t read Bring Up the Bodies yet, but Wolf Hall was excellent. I haven’t read it, but I heard Jonathan Strange is not a book for everyone, but the premise for the show sounds interesting if handled right.

      Like

  4. Julie @ Smiling Shelves
    March 10, 2015

    I love Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell! I’m not quite sure how that will translate to a TV show, but I’m definitely intrigued.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 23, 2015

      Sorry for the late response! I’ve seen the trailer and it looks fantastic. I’m sure the BBC will do a great job.

      Like

  5. majoringinliterature
    March 10, 2015

    Sherlock is such a brilliant series! I just love the BBC. I’ve been eagerly waiting for The Musketeers to appear on Aussie TV, but sadly we’ve probably got a while to go yet.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 23, 2015

      I am also a huge fan of the BBC and will watch anything they produce. I hope you get The Musketeers soon, it’s delightful!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lauratfrey
    March 11, 2015

    I want to watch all of these but can’t figure out how. Only Netflix and YouTube here. Waiting for the DVDs! Wolf Hall especially… I’d also like to read Jonathan Strange.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 23, 2015

      I’ll admit I have *help* watching some of the shows that aren’t available yet in Canada. I would like to read Jonathan Strange too. Read it with me?

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        March 24, 2015

        Let’s do it. Are you in the middle of a bunch of books or…? I’ll email you 🙂

        Like

  7. I love Sleepy Hollow and I enjoyed Hannibal while it was allowed on TV where I live. The local channel chose to boycott it because it’s too violent. I’m still mad about that one.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 23, 2015

      Hannibal is definitely a violent show. I can think of a few shows that are probably worse, but they probably have boycotted them too. Are viewers part of the decision to boycott or does the channel make the choice?

      Like

  8. Priya
    March 28, 2015

    This is such an interesting idea for a list. I kind of expected to see Downton Abbey on here. I do love Sherlock, Sleepy Hollow, Once Upon a Time. I had no idea there was a Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell series coming out, I definitely can’t wait for that! I keep putting off watching Wolf Hall till I read the monster of a book – it’s on my shelf, so should be sometime this year. Great picks!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 29, 2015

      Thanks! Wolf Hall is a big book and I found it a challenging read, but it was worth it.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

