ebookclassics

Mini-Reviews Before Spring Break

mini

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

Gray Mountain by John Grisham

When the subprime mortgage crisis during the U.S. recession turns the corporate world upside down, young attorney Samantha Kofer is put on furlough by her law firm and given no choice but to work at a legal aid clinic in Brady, Virginia. She immediately becomes caught up in an ongoing showdown between the residents of the local communities and the big coal mining companies in the area.

GOOD: Surprisingly, the book fulfilled my wish for a female protagonist and a plot that doesn’t place heavy emphasis on the romantic relationship. (Although, she does sleep with one character, but makes it clear that it’s just for fun.)

BAD: After building up to a certain point, the plot just peters out and the story ends with not a heck of a lot resolved. Is there meant to be a sequel?

3.5/5 Stars

* * *

George & Rue by George Elliott Clarke

Born into poverty and witnessing years of violence between their parents, two black Canadian brothers, George and Rufus Hamilton, start their life of crime early. As the years go by, the brothers attempt to find purpose and love, but can’t seem to stop crossing moral lines in order to relieve their hardship. As a result, the luck of both brothers runs out and one fatal act seals their fate. The novel is based on the true life story of George Elliott Clarke’s relatives.

GOOD: Even though I didn’t have a high opinion of the brothers, you can’t help sympathizing with their struggle since childhood to make it through just one more day. In addition, I enjoyed learning about the New Brunswick black community during this time period.

BAD: The description of the murder and some of the following events was hard to read and I cringed the whole way through, not only because of the violence, but because of the stupidity of one brother and the cold-heartedness of the other.

4/5 Stars

* * *

If I Fall, If I Die by Michael Christie

Will is a teenage boy who has been kept indoors by Diane, his agoraphobic mother for years. When he meets a young boy in his backyard who isn’t afraid of the outside world, Will is inspired to start leaving his home and become a normal teenager. He becomes obsessed with the boy after learning he has gone missing and pisses off an underground grain alcohol running gang with all of his snooping around.

GOOD: Michael Christie’s story is unique and unpredictable, and even though I found her annoying at times, I could relate to Diane’s fears of death and loss when it came to her son.

BAD: I found the dueling plots and narratives (I think there were four storylines and three different narrators), quite confusing a times.

3.5/5 Stars

Ciao!

8 comments on “Mini-Reviews Before Spring Break

  1. Naomi
    March 12, 2015

    I loved George and Rue, but, you’re right, it is sometimes hard to read. Which is probably one of the reasons I loved it. I especially felt bad for the one brother who was really trying hard to make a good life.
    If I Fall is in my TBR pile – I like reading about agoraphobes (have you read Town House by Tish Cohen?). I also usually like more than one storyline and/or narrator if it’s done well. The boy’s storyline doesn’t interest me as much, but maybe I’ll end up liking it even more – who knows?
    Happy Spring Break!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 23, 2015

      Hi there, I’m back! I felt sorry for George in George and Rue too because he did try a few times to turn a new leaf. I would always call him Joygee in my head just like his wife. I haven’t heard of Town House, but I will look it up.

      Like

      • Naomi
        March 23, 2015

        Welcome back! Were you somewhere nice, or just taking a break?

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          March 23, 2015

          We went to Florida for March Break and the weather was 25C and sunny every day. Now that I’m back in Canada and wearing my winter parka again, I have fantasies of moving down south and becoming a beach bum.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Naomi
            March 23, 2015

            Ha! Maybe it’s better to not even go… (That’s just to make myself feel better for not going.) 🙂

            Like

  2. DoingDewey
    March 12, 2015

    My grandpa has been telling me that Gray Mountain is one of the best books he’s read in a long time, so I’m hoping to eventually fit it in. Right now, I’m so behind on ARCs because of my grad school work the past few months, I’m having a hard time making time for anything else! We’ll see. If I do get to it, I think I might share your feelings, because I do like a nice, neat ending.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 23, 2015

      Is your grandpa a big book nerd too? I think you will enjoy Gray Mountain, but yeah I still think the ending was flat. I’m sure it’s really tough juggling school and book blogging, but I hope you’re still enjoying both.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

