ebookclassics

2015 Book Blog Discussion Challenge – What If Comment Luv Doesn’t Luv You Back?

2015-Discussion-Challenge3 We’ve all heard the sage advice about putting yourself out there and commenting on lots of blogs to gain new followers (and possibly make new friends). But what if after having several positive interactions on someone’s blog, they still haven’t visited your blog? Not once. Should commenting be a two-way street? Of course, people are busy and have lives away from blogging. There is also the possibility none of your current posts resonates with them. Maybe they are too busy reading War and Peace. However, I think we can all agree that reading a post and writing a simple comment (even just “hello, I liked your review/pics of your cat-kids-figurine collection”) can take as little as five minutes. Heck, liking a post is a two-second click. Should we stop commenting if no one is commenting back? If there are thousands of us blogging about books out there, wouldn’t it be better to spread the luv where it will luv you back? Tell me what you think.

Thanks friends!

43 comments on “2015 Book Blog Discussion Challenge – What If Comment Luv Doesn’t Luv You Back?

  1. AlwaysReiding/Nicole R
    March 25, 2015

    This is great food for thought. I definitely struggle with commenting. Because I want to insure I leave good comments, but I also want to make sure that it’s relevant. I sometimes second guess myself.
    Thank you for posting.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      Thanks for your comment! I second guess myself a lot too. I even lay awake second guessing myself about this post. I try to write thoughtful comments, but feel like I could do better. I read from the Bloggiesta chat that it’s helpful to add a question to your comment, so I may try do that going forward.

      Like

    • Maggie
      March 27, 2015

      I totally agree with you! Commenting for me is almost like writing a blog post…I have to think about what I’m going to write and make sure it’s relevant! I need to work on not being so critical of myself and opinions! 🙂

      Like

      • ebookclassics
        March 30, 2015

        I try to keep things light and positive when I comment, but there are many times when I worry over a comment I wrote and have to tell myself just to relax.

        Like

  2. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    March 25, 2015

    I do tend to keep commenting on blogs where the blogger comments back on mine. I feel like that blogger is more open to engaging so I want to get to know them better through their blog. If I come across a blog where I just really love the posts, I’ll read them but I am less motivated to comment. I also feel like there are just so many bloggers out there that we can’t all know each other, so I’ll stick with the people who are willing to reach out and get to know you.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      That’s a really good point and you’re right, we can’t get to know everybody. I think I have the same approach as you and favour bloggers who want to engage with me.

      Like

  3. heavenali
    March 25, 2015

    I try to comment as much as I can. But time is a huge issue, I follow a lot of great blogs but if I don’t feel I have something to say I don’t always say anthing. I read more posts than I comment in. I expect most people do. Also I find bloggrr hosted blogs a nightmare to comment on, it takes a good 5 minutes sometimes just to get your comment approved (assuming it doesn’t just disappear) and that’s without reading the post and thinking about what you might want to say in reply.
    I think if the blog you are interacting on but isn’t interacting with you is one you really like stick with it, if not move on.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      Very good points! I have had similar experience with Blogger sites where I have written a long comment only to have it disappear or get messed up somewhere in the Captcha process. I usually give up since I can’t remember what I wrote.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        March 25, 2015

        That has happened to me, too. I find myself avoiding blogger posts for that reason, even though I’m sure I’m missing out on some great blogs!

        Like

  4. Corinne
    March 25, 2015

    To me, book blogging is like a big hallway filled with rooms, and we’re all milling about having a glance here and there, expressing, seeing what everyone has going on, and now and then we offer a nod, or offer a grin, or if we’re really pulled, ask a question or even step into that person’s room and make friends for a moment. It doesn’t have to be an endless conversation that responds to every single moment we see in that room from that point forward, until the end of time. That would take quite a bit of talking and start to feel robotic! I’m thinking. It could simply be that passing moment that seals an interest.

    Silence doesn’t imply lack of interest. It could be that the person listens more than she speaks, or that she is attempting to exist under a pile of homework, or that she has nothing to say in response to a post but is certainly no less interested..

    But I don’t appear to be like everyone else, so it could just be me! 😀

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      I like what you said about silence not implying a lack of interest. Everybody is so busy these days and maybe they manage to make time for their blog, but there’s no room left in their schedule for other blogs.

      Like

      • Corinne
        March 25, 2015

        Wait. I commented on this blog. Where’s my courteous visit? :lol 😉

        Like

  5. Heather
    March 25, 2015

    The only time I have to read the blogs in my feeder is very early in the morning, often too early for me to form coherent thoughts. So I often don’t leave comments. But I do take the time to “like” the posts I can (on WP), so at least the blogger knows I read their post.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      Thank you for your likes and this comment! I’ve always appreciated that you like my posts to let me know you’ve stopped by. I often use the like button on WordPress sites if I don’t have time to comment.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Heather makes such a good point. I never use that Like feature – I definitely should!

      Like

  6. writereads
    March 25, 2015

    Great post!
    I comment as much as I can, but I don’t really enjoy commenting just for the sake of commenting and I also don’t want to repeat the same thought as another commenter and often find my thoughts have already been put forward by someone else who is much more eloquent :). In those cases, I’ll “like” a post.
    I do feel like if someone comments (nicely) on your blog, you should at least let them know you’ve checked their blog out and comment on theirs a couple of times. Common courtesy and all that. -Tania

    Liked by 1 person

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      Thanks for your comment! I agree about being courteous if someone has taken the time to comment on your blog. I also agree with not commenting for the sake of commenting (which I have done in the past and later felt a little too overeager). The like button is so handy! I wish all blogs had it or something similar.

      Like

  7. Amber O (AmberBug)
    March 25, 2015

    I only comment if I have an opinion or feel something about the book/topic in question. If I feel like I’m struggling to write something then I know it’s not sincere and I’m going to come off as not very “amber” like. I’d rather build blogger friendships with common interests and be able to discuss with them matters at hand (such as this).

    I’ve actually seen debates over this during blogging events (such as Armchair BEA) and should we use cheerleaders?! I was so confused when I just started blogging, I was like… “Cheerleaders?” and then it got more confusing when I found out what they do, why do you need to recruit people to comment? I still have trouble wrapping my mind around that concept. HOWEVER, do I like reading comments on my post? Yes. Bottom line is… yes. So maybe we shouldn’t be that worried about how it gets there?

    Love this post by the way. Great topic!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      I was a “cheerleader” for the Dewey Marathon and I remember some of my comments were probably awkward or too upbeat, but some of the bloggers responded that they appreciated the comments because it kept them motivated to keep reading. Especially late at night when their energy was beginning to lag.

      So true, it’s important to be ourselves and write comments that reflect our personality. I agree that we all love getting comments, so maybe it doesn’t matter how or where they come from. It’s all good.

      Like

  8. janceewright
    March 25, 2015

    I tend to agree with this. Even if I don’t really have anything to say about the book or review in particular, I like to say hi or just let the person know that I am in fact still reading and enjoying the content. It’s just a nice thing to do!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      I like how you say it’s just a nice thing to do. I think the blogger would appreciate that even if you didn’t have anything too deep to say about the post, they would feel good that you took the time to say hello.

      Like

      • janceewright
        March 26, 2015

        Right. It’s not even necessarily about the content, it’s about forming friendships and being part of a community.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Naomi
    March 25, 2015

    I agree with most of what everyone else has already said! I’m too late to say anything new and original. I will say, though, that I do love to show my support for people’s blogs by commenting as much as I can. I really hate it when I can’t think of anything to say, and for that reason I like the ‘like’ button, because just because I have nothing to add doesn’t mean that I haven’t read and liked the post. I do tend to leave most of my comments on the posts of bloggers that I have had some good back and forth with. That’s what I’m here for! And, I do tend to give up commenting on blogs that never reply back, but this hasn’t often been the case. Most people seem happy to expand their horizons, although, the more we expand them, the less time we have for commenting on everything. A bit of a problem. 🙂

    Like

  10. ebookclassics
    March 25, 2015

    I love supporting blogs by commenting too, but I may give up commenting on blogs that don’t comment back.

    Like

  11. Cleo @ Classical Carousel
    March 25, 2015

    If someone comments on my blog, I do try to return the favour (as you can see 😉 ). But I’m also fine with the people who just want to visit and not comment. On one hand, I don’t feel that we should be pressured into making deep insightful comments and a “I really enjoyed your review” is fine, but that said, if you want to really connect with bloggers personally I’ve found that your comments do need to get deeper. Yet can you imagined if everyone who visited your blog commented? It would be overwhelming! So I like the variation of commenters and those who keep silent. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      You are right, it would be very overwhelming to deal with a massive amount of comments on a regular basis. I never even thought of this! I guess a balance of comments and silent visitors is really best.

      Like

  12. jennielyse
    March 25, 2015

    I think commenting is a two-way street. But, I don’t expect people to comment on every single one of my posts and I hope people don’t expect me to either. I usually comment on discussion posts, memes, or blog events like our read-along and bloggiesta. I only comment on reviews where I’ve read the book or if I’ve really been itching to read a book.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      I think I share your commenting strategy of participating in memes and discussions if I have something relevant to say and only commenting on reviews if I’ve read or want to read the book.

      Like

  13. My Book Strings
    March 25, 2015

    I try to comment as much as possible, and I’m happy to see a return visit and comment. But I’m ok if that doesn’t happen. If I am pressed for time, though, I am more likely to comment on a blog with which I have a somewhat regular back-and-forth. And if I am not as familiar with a blog, I am more likely to skip a post about a book I know nothing about.

    Like

  14. ebookclassics
    March 26, 2015

    All of this discussion has made me realize I practice the same type of commenting as other bloggers and it would be unrealistic to expect everyone to comment back (and too overwhelming if they did).

    Like

  15. Julie S.
    March 28, 2015

    I’m with you. if someone never comments back, I might stop reading their blog. It isn’t a one way radio program, this blogging thing is a community.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 29, 2015

      We are a great community and I think commenting back is just a nice way of acknowledging the other blogger.

      Like

  16. Ardelia
    March 29, 2015

    I generally comment if I identify with a post, or if the blogger puts forth something thought-provoking (like you did). I don’t mind too much if people don’t comment on my blog after I commented on theirs. My subject may not interest them, or they may be really busy. (I know I’ve recently hit a lull in my commenting because I’ve been super busy lately.)

    Also, I don’t want people to feel compelled to read my blog and comment. I think that kind of devalues the whole thing for me. I want people to read my blog because they want to and they enjoy doing it, not because they feel a sense of duty to find a post and comment.

    That being said, I do my best to comment on another blogger’s post if they comment on mine (kind of funny/weird, huh?). Sometimes I don’t because I forget or life suddenly picks up. I guess commenting back on a blogger’s post is a way for me to show my appreciation.

    Like

  17. ebookclassics
    March 29, 2015

    I understand what you mean and I also feel grateful when someone takes the time to visit my blog and comment. I’m usually paranoid about forgetting someone and try to always scan my comment summary list to make sure I responded. Can’t trust my brain to remember!

    Like

  18. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up (52) ⋆ LilybloombooksLilybloombooks

  19. I really try to always comment back, but there are times that I go through where I suddenly feel overwhelmed and can’t get back to everyone. I do think that people who’ve commented on my blog more than once or twice should have seen me swing by their blogs, though. I LOVE the back-and-forth relationship that commenting back builds, so it’s important to me!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2015

      Agreed! I like how you described it as a relationship that is built through commenting. It feels really good to have a positive interaction with somebody no matter what the topic.

      Like

  20. DoingDewey
    April 1, 2015

    I’m pretty busy, so it takes a long time for me to notice that someone isn’t responding to my comments, but if I do notice that someone never even replies to my comments on their blog, I’ll definitely stop commenting.

    Like

  21. ebookclassics
    April 2, 2015

    Only recently I’ve realized I’ve commented 3-4 times on a blog and there’s been silence on their part. I guess it’s what motivated me to write this post. I try not to wonder why (okay maybe I do a bit), just move on.

    Like

  22. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    April 4, 2015

    I’m baffled by bloggers who ask questions, get comments, and then never respond to ANY of the comments. That makes no sense to me. Maybe they think the commenters won’t come back to see what they responded? But then why start the discussion in the first place?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 4, 2015

      Ha ha, I have been baffled by this too. The only thing I can assume is that the blogger was too busy …? But a reply a month later is better than no reply at all.

      Like

      • Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
        April 5, 2015

        I can certainly understand it happening once in a while, but there are blogs where the blogger seems to hardly ever respond to anyone. This seems weird.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

