ebookclassics

Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller (2015)

endlessTHE BOOK
Our Endless Numbered Days is Claire Fuller’s extraordinary first novel.

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

THE STORY
When she is eight years old, Peggy Hillcoat’s father whisks her away to a mysterious mountain-side forest to live in a run-down cabin in complete isolation. He tells Peggy that the world has ended and her mother is dead; Peggy believes him. As she grows up, Peggy and her father enjoy the simplicity of forest living, yet both cling to music and in particular, a music sheet of Liszt’s La Campanella, as some last remnant of their previous lives. Peggy even teaches herself to play the song soundlessly on a makeshift piano. After a few winters of near starvation, Peggy notices that her father is starting to become unhinged and openly share his fatalistic thoughts with her. She retreats to the forest to be alone, but is startled to discover there is someone else in the forest and he has been watching Peggy and her father.

THE GOOD
Our Endless Numbered Days moves back and forth between Peggy’s time on the mountain and her family home in London where she is adjusting after being missing for nine years. A real page-turner, you can’t help being caught up in Peggy’s tense and emotional story. I couldn’t read the book fast enough.

THE BAD
I wish there were more details about how Peggy moved on with her life, but the story ends with a little surprise and I appreciate how logical it was to end the book here.

CONCLUSION
I probably read the first half of Our Endless Numbered Days gnashing my teeth because I was so enraged at this idiot father who kidnapped his daughter and stole her childhood. However, Peggy impressed me with her emotional maturity and by always keeping her head on straight even if she didn’t always understand what was going on. She found beauty and joy in the world despite the loneliness and fear in her heart, and her narration was often tragically poetic. I agree with other readers who found this book haunting and utterly unforgettable.

4/5 Stars

NOTE: I received a copy of Our Endless Numbered Days with much thanks to House of Anansi, but this in no way influenced the thoughts and opinions expressed in my review.

15 comments on “Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller (2015)

  1. janceewright
    March 24, 2015

    Sounds sad and a bit lonely, but definitely interesting.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 24, 2015

      Peggy never comes out and says how she is feeling, but you can sense it in her observations and sudden fixations on things from the past. It was a very interesting book.

      Like

  2. heavenali
    March 24, 2015

    I have seen several great reviews of this novel, I’m sure I will be reading it too at some stage.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      I found this book to be a unique coming-of-age tale because of the circumstances of the characters. I hope you get to enjoy it soon!

      Like

  3. Juliana
    March 24, 2015

    Just requested this one from the library. 🙂

    Like

  4. Naomi
    March 25, 2015

    I think it would be interesting to read a whole other book on everything that follows the end of the first. She seems very calm and accepting at the end, but in an eerie kind of way. A book that somehow brings her fully back to the real world.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 25, 2015

      A sequel with those details would be great because I would really like to know. I agree that she’s a little too calm at the end. Claire Fuller accepts questions on Goodreads. If I can work up the nerve, I will post a question about a possible sequel.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My Book Strings
    March 25, 2015

    I have this book to read in April, so I’ll be back once I’ve read it and are ready for the spoilers you warn about. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 26, 2015

      I do have one major spoiler in my review, although I tried to frame it in a very subtle way. I hope you enjoy the book!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

