ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Cate Blanchett

cateWHO IS IT? Currently starring as the wicked stepmother in the live action version of Cinderella, Cate Blanchett has always struck me as the epitome of the cool blonde. However, although she may have lost her cool this week with a jerk journalist, she later turned things around by trying to start a discussion about how older women are a demographic not to be dismissed by Hollywood and the media.

WHY I LOVE HER? Multi-award winner Cate Blanchett is uber talented and probably one of the most versatile actors of her generation having played everything from a small town harlot to unwavering journalist to Indiana Jones’s love interest to Bob Dylan!

FIRST ENCOUNTER: I first saw Cate play Lucinda in the adaptation of Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey. The title characters played by Cate and Ralph Fiennes have such an awkward romance it was actually quite beautiful.

dance

FAVE CLASSICS SCENE: I’ve always enjoyed how Cate plays Galadriel as both ethereal, yet fierce. But nudging out my favourite LOTR scenes is the very romantic “ask me nicely” scene in Robin Hood where Robin (Russell Crowe) uses a private joke in answer to Marian’s request that he come back to her just before he rides off to war. I couldn’t find a decent clip, so here’s an equally swooney one of Lady Marian and Robin dancing.

CLASSICS ADAPTATION FILMOGRAPHY

1997 ~ Oscar and Lucinda ~ Lucinda Leplastrier
1999 ~ An Ideal Husband ~ Lady Gertrude Chiltern
1999 ~ The Talented Mr. Ripley ~ Meredith Logue
2001 ~ The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring ~ Galadriel
2002 ~ The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers ~ Galadriel
2003 ~ The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King ~ Galadriel
2008 ~ The Curious Case of Benjamin Button ~ Daisy Fuller
2010 ~ Robin Hood ~ Lady Marian
2012 ~ The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey ~ Galadriel
2013 ~ The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug ~ Galadriel
2014 ~ The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies ~ Galadriel
2015 ~ Cinderella ~ Lady Tremaine

See all of Cate’s filmography on Wikipedia.

GREAT QUOTE:
[Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald] was handed to me on a silver platter by my husband, who said, “You cannot die without reading this.” I keep coming back to it because it’s so detailed in recording the inner life of Dick Diver, the central character. His yearning—to save his mentally unstable wife, Nicole—just keeps unfolding. That aching is quite destructive but also so understandable. The word I think of with this story is “fragile.” I was utterly struck by the fineness of Fitzgerald’s writing and the timelessness of Dick and Nicole’s failures.

Read all of the books on Cate’s bookshelf on Oprah.

What is your favourite Cate Blanchett adaptation of a classic? Who is your favourite celebrity in a classic or who should I profile next?

13 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Cate Blanchett

  1. janceewright
    March 26, 2015

    I don’t know why I didn’t connect her with Lord of the Rings until now. I mean, maybe I did kind of sleep through the movies just a little bit. But still…how did I not know? It’s obvious when you look at her.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 26, 2015

      Ha ha, they are really long movies. 🙂

      Like

      • janceewright
        March 26, 2015

        Yes! So long! And I’m not a huge movie fan to begin with. Can’t seem to pay attention.

        Like

  2. Naomi
    March 26, 2015

    Several years ago I read Oscar and Lucinda, and immediately wanted to watch the movie, but I could not get my hands on it. Not at the movie store, Netflix, library. Very frustrating. I still have not seen it. Sigh. I was almost over it, and you have brought it all back… 😉
    I do love Cate Blanchett in whatever I have seen her in. And, I always try to think of someone to request for you, but I always draw a blank. These are fun posts!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 29, 2015

      I saw Oscar and Lucinda when it was first released in Australia, but haven’t seen it anywhere since. I guess it’s one of those movies that disappear because not enough people know about it.

      Like

  3. jessicabookworm
    March 26, 2015

    I love Cate Blanchett she is a wonderful actress. I love her in The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogies. I also think her portrayal of Elizabeth I in Elizabeth and Elizabeth: The Golden Age films is great too.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 29, 2015

      I loved Cate in the Elizabeth movies too! She has such a strong, regal presence and was perfect for that role.

      Like

  4. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    March 26, 2015

    Oh I didn’t hear about Cate’s issue with the journalist! She is amazing as Galadriel – that’s probably my favorite role of her’s so far, but I haven’t seen Cinderella yet or that version of Robin Hood!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 29, 2015

      I haven’t seen her in Cinderella, but I would like to see her as a villain because I can’t remember her in any villain role.

      Like

  5. Corinne
    March 26, 2015

    I was about to suggest the Elizabeth films, but I see Jessica beat me to it. I suppose they could be considered literary as Elizabeth I was so incredibly influential in history, & has certainly had some books dedicated to or about her. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      March 29, 2015

      I’m so glad you said that about Elizabeth because I really wanted to include both movies, but I didn’t see any tie to literature when I looked the movie profiles.

      Like

  6. DoingDewey
    April 1, 2015

    I find it interesting that you’ve found so many celebrities who have been in many classics. I wonder if this is because there are just a lot of classic adaptations or if it’s because some celebrities are more likely to appear in this genre.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2015

      I think it might be a combination of both. The best stories come from the classics and I’m sure it’s on every actor’s bucket list to star in a great classic.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

