ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday – New Additions to My TBR

10TBR

This week’s Broke and the Bookish theme is books we’ve added to our TBR list.

* * *

All Day Breakfast by Adam Lewis Schroeder – After Peter Giller and an eleventh grade class are sprayed with a strange substance touring a plastics factory, the group begin to experience a number of alarming physical changes … and a sudden life and death craving for bacon.

* * *

Born with Teeth: A Memoir by Kate Mulgrew – My second favourite Star Trek captain and currently playing Red on Orange is the New Black, Kate Mulgrew shares her dramatic life.

* * *

Detachment: An Adoption Memoir by Maurice Mierau – In 2005, the author and his wife adopt two boys from the Ukraine and bring them to Canada. However, both the boys and Maurice are haunted by the past and the new family struggles to connect and build a life together.

* * *

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke – The upcoming BBC series makes me think I need to get on reading this classic about two magicians who join forces to fight in the Napoleonic Wars.

* * *

Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz – The first Sherlock Holmes novel approved by the Conan Doyle estate, the story picks up after the fatal showdown between the famous detective and his nemesis with two new detectives tracking down Moriarty’s possible successor.

* * *

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante – The first novel in the Italian trilogy about two girls who grow up together in a poor Naples neighbourhood and whose lives continue to fatefully cross paths.

* * *

The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson – In the 1960s, a woman finds herself moving between two very different versions of her life. Which one is real and which one is a dream?

* * *

The Fifth Gospel by Ian Caldwell – Two brothers who are priests are caught up in a controversial exhibit at a Vatican museum proving that the Shroud of Turin actually dates from the time of Christ.

* * *

The Mountain Between Us by Charles Martin – Ben and Ashley are two strangers who survive a plane crash and come to depend on each other as they try to find a way out of the wilderness.

* * *

The Queen of Katwe: A Story of Life, Chess, and One Extraordinary Girl’s Dream of Becoming a Grandmaster by Tim Crothers – Phiona Mutesi is a starving nine-year old living in a Uganda slum, but by fourteen she will be on her way to becoming one of the world’s best chess players.

* * *

Have your read any of these books? What’s new to your TBR?

13 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – New Additions to My TBR

  1. Brian Joseph
    March 31, 2015

    This looks like a very interesting and worthy group of books.

    I have heard a lot about Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. I am considering reading it myself. I am curious to read your thoughts on it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2015

      I’m planning to informally read it in May with a friend. If you decide to pick it up, we can all share thoughts!

      Like

  2. My Book Strings
    March 31, 2015

    I’ve seen so many great reviews of Ferrante’s books that I am curious to read My Brilliant Friend. But it will probably take me a while to get to it. The Bookseller has an interesting premise! I hope you enjoy everything on your TBR list.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2015

      Thank you! I had Mr Brilliant Friend in my hands, but decided to read Cloud Atlas instead. The story sounds good, but I feel like it means committing to the trilogy. It might take me awhile to get to it as well.

      Like

  3. janceewright
    March 31, 2015

    I almost grabbed Moriarty at the library today, but decided to leave it for now. I knew it sounded familiar, but I couldn’t remember exactly what it was, and didn’t have time to really look at it. Now that I know, I’ll probably add it to my TBR.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2015

      I was very interested in reading Moriarty because I love the Sherlock Holmes adventures, but I didn’t know that the book follows two different characters and when I found out, my interest dropped. I will still read it, but I’m not dying now to get my hands on it.

      Like

  4. The Paperback Princess
    March 31, 2015

    I know clicking on the link for this post was a risk. Like I don’t have enough books on my list already…

    That adoption memoir sounds intense! Brave of them to share a story that’s probably really difficult to tell. I really want to read The Bookseller! I keep seeing those Elena Ferrante books all over the place – I may need to look at actually reading them.

    As for a magician helping to fight in the Napoleanic wars! That sounds awesome.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2015

      When I get around to reading Detachment, I’ll probably bawl my eyes out, but it sounds like a good story. It’s true, Elena Ferrante is suddenly everywhere and apparently she has another book coming out, so aaahhh!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Naomi
    March 31, 2015

    So many of these sound good, but the one that jumps out at me the most is The Mountain Between Us. Searching for a way out of the wilderness – sounds like my kind of book. Someday, after reading all the survival books, I’m going to know exactly what to do when I get lost in the wilderness. 😉

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 2, 2015

      Agreed! I feel like I’ll know exactly what to do too. I think in The Mountain Between Us, the two survivors falls in love. I’m sure that’s also useful information. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    April 5, 2015

    I read My Brilliant Friend and liked it, but didn’t feel that I HAD to read the other books, or at least not right away. That might be just me though because other people seem to catch “Ferrante fever” and not be able to stop! I’ve been meaning to reread J. Strange and Mr. N. for a while, hope I’ll get to it soon.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 6, 2015

      Ferrante fever is a very good way of putting it! That is a good point, I could always read the first book and try not to feel pressured to read all of them right away. I’m planning to read Jonathan Strange in May and hopefully the BBC series will broadcast soon too.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

