ebookclassics

That’s Not English by Erin Moore (2015)

englishAll you Anglophiles this book is for you!

THE BOOK
Erin Moore is an American who now calls England her home. With humour and a plenty of informative facts, she examines a number of misunderstood terms used by both Brits and Americans, sharing their colourful origins and context.

THE GOOD
Living in Australia during my teens, I too have wrestled with the difference between North American and British isms (as used Down Under) which is probably why That’s Not English immediately captured my attention and satisfied some of my curiosity.

THE BAD
I thought that the author often went off topic at times and I would forget what exactly the original discussion was about, but this was a very minor annoyance.

CONCLUSION
A light-hearted, yet educational look at American and British cultural differences through language, I found That’s Not English an amusing guide that certainly expanded my understanding and appreciation of how certain words are used by both countries. That’s all folks! Pip-pip and cheerio!

4/5 Stars

NOTE
I received a copy of That’s Not English with much thanks to Penguin Random House, but this in no way influenced the thoughts and opinions expressed in my review.

9 comments on “That’s Not English by Erin Moore (2015)

  1. janceewright
    April 2, 2015

    I keep seeing this one around. This is exactly the sort of nonfiction I like!

    Like

  2. Naomi
    April 2, 2015

    This one sounds like fun!

    Like

  3. My only critique of this book is similar — sometimes the discussion she had in a chapter didn’t seem well connected to the word she started with. But I still liked the digressions!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 6, 2015

      Agreed! The digressions were interesting, but then I would go hey wait a minute when did we start talking about diapers?

      Like

  4. majoringinliterature
    April 8, 2015

    I think I had the opposite experience to you – having grown up in Australia, I must admit I find Americanisms jarring, and I’ve always wondered how these differences came about in the first place. This book definitely sounds interesting!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 8, 2015

      I would actually love if the author did a follow-up and took a deeper look into more expressions from both countries, so we could have a better understanding of the origins of all these isms.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

