ebookclassics

2015 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Give Books and Ye Shall Receive…?

2015-Discussion-Challenge3

As a book lover, I take every opportunity to share my love by giving books as gifts for birthdays or as Christmas presents. I spend a lot of time thinking about the right book, reading reviews and trying to pick something to suit that person’s tastes.

However, I can’t help feeling a little disappointed when I see those books sitting around, untouched. I’m okay if they don’t like the book or don’t want it, and I realize they might be too polite to tell me to my face. But I would just like to know if you’ve been in a similar situation and what did you do? Did you just stop giving that person books?

Thanks friends!

21 comments on “2015 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Give Books and Ye Shall Receive…?

  1. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    April 14, 2015

    This is why I don’t usually give books. If I do, I usually try to include a gift receipt so they can exchange it if they want. I’ve also been on the other side of the situation! Books are such a personal choice that even our best efforts to discern the right one to gift can fall short.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 14, 2015

      You are right, books are so personal. I should know this from the way book bloggers can have completely different opinions about a book. I really should give a gift receipt.

      Like

  2. janceewright
    April 14, 2015

    Unless I specifically know that someone has been wanting a certain book or I’m absolutely sure that they’ll love and use it, I look for something else. I want to give a gift that will be cherished and used!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 14, 2015

      I really thought a book would be a gift that would cherished, but maybe I can’t assume I know what someone is going to really love.

      Like

      • janceewright
        April 14, 2015

        It’s sad, isn’t it? I try to get as close as I can with gifts people will love, but sometimes you just miss. I’ve given gifts that I was super excited about, only to receive a “meh” reaction.

        Like

  3. I don’t give books to people for this reason. I let certain people borrow my books if they want to, but they have to pass a bunch of requirements first, lol. Or, I give gift cards, which I know is a cop out, but I figure that way they can buy books they want.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 14, 2015

      Hmm, what are these requirements to borrow your books? 🙂 I used to give gift cards, but got so excited about picking books for someone, but obviously I have been going about this the wrong way.

      Like

  4. Sam
    April 14, 2015

    I always try to convince everyone to join Goodreads! That way, I never have to guess what books they want to read or whether they’ve already read a particular book. If the convincing fails, then I resolve to buying a gift card to a bookstore.

    Sam @ Sharing Inspired Kreations

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 15, 2015

      What a great idea! I’m not sure if I could convince the people I have in mind, but I think that’s a really good way of learning what books someone would want to read.

      Like

  5. Brian Joseph
    April 15, 2015

    Interesting questions.

    Part of the problem I think is the there is so much to read. I do remember a friend giving me a book that I read something on the order of seven years later!

    Luckily she is a lifelong friend and we were able to discuss after all that time.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 16, 2015

      I love that story! Your friend must be very patient and probably really enjoyed talking to you about the book. Can I ask if you liked the book? 🙂

      Like

  6. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    April 15, 2015

    I love to give books as presents, and like you, I love to try to pick the perfect one. I refuse to be discouraged by a “meh” reaction. I have dialed back the book gifts for some friends, but whenever I have to get a gift for a child or young adult, I include a book on principle. The one eventual hit makes the misses worth while. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 16, 2015

      It’s so great that you haven’t given up! I usually give book gifts to younger people too. I might keep trying with a few of the adults, but for the last few years I haven’t had much success.

      Like

  7. Naomi
    April 15, 2015

    I always buy books as gifts for children. I often don’t know what they are into anyway, so I like to pick out nice books for them, hoping that it will help keep them reading (or get them reading). I know from my own that kids get way too many other things and not enough books.
    Adults are trickier. I do get books for anyone who I know reads, but if I know they don’t read much, I go with something else.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 16, 2015

      My kids rarely receive books as gifts. Toys are more exciting to give? They receive tons of dollar store junk and I would rather they receive one good book then all that crap. Some of the adults I’ve given books to are casual readers, so maybe it’s just not their thing. Although, it would be nice to convert them!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        April 16, 2015

        I always want to convert people, too! 🙂

        Like

  8. Ruth @ A Great Book Study
    April 15, 2015

    Tomorrow I am buying a friend of mine a book series for her birthday, but only b/c I asked her daughter if there was a book she has been wanting. Otherwise I don’t trust myself to pick the right book.

    I’ve given books before as gifts, but I never found out if they read it or liked it. I’ve since stopped doing that because I decided that I’d rather find out for sure if there is something they are interested in (like my kids have to specifically ask for a book or series before I’ll spend the money on it).

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 16, 2015

      I don’t think I can trust myself to pick books. I’m thinking now I may stop giving book gifts to adults or just give them a gift card. It seems like it’s best to either know what people want to read or stick to giving books to kids.

      Like

  9. Silvara
    April 18, 2015

    Having been on the receiving end of gift books for YEARS… I have to say I prefer getting gift cards, or something besides books. This is entirely due to the fact that with very few exceptions, the books that are gifted to me usually end up being books that I have no interest in whatsoever.

    I love the fact that someone cares enough to give me a gift, but usually it’s an author I’ve never heard of. Or a genre I don’t read. Or a book in a series I hate. Etc. Even giving people lists of favorite authors, or topics, or just a link to the 250+ books on my Amazon Wishlist currently doesn’t seem to help. I always end up with ye random book.

    I think that unless you know it’s something they’d love (an author who’s a favorite, a series they are into, something they’ve mentioned they want), it’s usually safer not to gift books. It’s also possible that they would love the book you gave, they just haven’t been in the right mood to read it yet? Or they have a TBR pile like mine, and forgot that particular book is in there.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 19, 2015

      Isn’t it interesting how people close to us really don’t know us at all? I think a gift card really is the way to go now. But I like how you said there’s the possibility they may have forgotten about the book because it’s hiding somewhere.

      UPDATE: Not sure if some of my special someones read this post (as far as I’m aware, they never visit this blog), but two of them said they’re reading a book I gave them! So maybe there’s hope afterall …

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I don’t typically give books as gifts unless it’s a book that I know the person wants to read. But I could see how you’d be frustrated when you were hoping the person would love a book and they never read it. Sorry!!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

