ebookclassics

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon – Spring 2015

dewey

On Saturday, Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon begins! This will be my second year participating and hopefully I not only read more, but I’ll be a little more organized blogging and tweeting this time. Back in the Fall, I read 1.5 books (not including a stack of kids books) and listened to almost 3 hours of audio. I know I can do better!

How am I going to do it with two very active young boys who demand my attention, you ask? I have no idea, but I’m just going to wing it like I always do. Or hide in a corner with my book.

Besides listening to audio, my new strategy is to read super-short books because I think actually finishing something will keep me motivated. Here are some of the articles I found inspirational for reading short books:

Bustle
Buzzfeed
Reader’s Digest

MY READING LIST

When Everything Feels Like the Movies by Raziel Reid (2014) (176 pages) – The controversial winner of the 2014 Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature and runner-up in the 2015 Canada Reads competition. A struggling high school student uses his imagination to turn his life into a movie.

The Lost City of Z by David Grann (2009) (non-fiction audio book and I’ve already completed 3/10 hours) – In 1925, British explorer Percy Fawcett entered the Amazon in search of the Lost City of Z and disappeared. This is probably a bad choice for the read-a-thon because it’s very detailed and I lose track of where I am easily, but oh well.

The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman (1892) (70 pages for the read-a-thon read-along) – The secret journal of a woman forced into a “country rest cure” by her husband and physician that details her slow decline into madness.

Honeymoon in Paris by Jojo Moyes (75 pages) – A prequel to The Gift You Left Behind, this novella combines two love stories set in Paris: a provincial girl and artist during the First World War and a newly married couple a century later.

The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami (2014) (96 pages in BIG type) – I didn’t love the first Murakami book I read, but I’m willing to try his other work. The cover and format of this book is very unique.

I can’t wait to get started! Are you participating in Dewey’s Read-a-thon? Visit my blog on Saturday, April 25th for all of my read-a-thon updates.

20 comments on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon – Spring 2015

  1. Brian Joseph
    April 22, 2015

    Every year I observe the participants. One of these years I will join in.

    Good luck and have fun with the event. Your reading list looks to be great!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2015

      Thanks so much! I like the idea of challenging myself to read more despite being busy. I hope you get to join in one day.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    April 22, 2015

    I just finished When Everything Feels Like the Movies – I think it will help keep you motivated. It certainly won’t put you to sleep.
    The Yellow Wallpaper is a book I’ve wanted to read for a long time. It’s so short, I don’t know why I don’t just read it (except that it means remembering to pick it up at the library).
    Good luck and have fun!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2015

      Did you like the book? I haven’t watched the Canada Reads debate yet, but I was definitely moved by some of the reviews to read the book sooner than later. I’m very intrigued by the story for The Yellow Wallpaper. The female protagonists in classic literature never fails to fascinate me.

      Like

      • Naomi
        April 22, 2015

        I thought the book was great. And, I’ll be interested to hear what you think. It really does feel like a punch in the gut to read it.
        Inspired by your post, I went to put The Yellow Wallpaper on hold at the library only to find out that my library doesn’t even have it. No wonder I haven’t read it yet. I can put in a request to get it from another library (which I do all the time), but it’ll never get here in time for the read-along. Oh, well.

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          April 22, 2015

          Oh, that’s too bad. Do you have the Overdrive app? I actually borrowed the book from the library too and downloaded the ebook onto my tablet.

          Like

          • Naomi
            April 22, 2015

            I have never read an ebook before, so it doesn’t seem worth trying to figure it out. Ha!

            Like

  3. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    April 22, 2015

    The read-a-thons always fall on a weekend when we celebrate a kid’s birthday. So I have never participated in one, but it’s always fun to read others’ experiences. I know you will wing it! I listened to The Lost City of Z, and even though I often have trouble with audiobooks, I found it remarkably easy to listen to. I did have to Google some facts afterwards to remind me, but I was ok with that. Good luck this weekend!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2015

      We had a birthday party scheduled for Saturday, but my son decided he didn’t want to go … so lucky me! 🙂 I’m pretty sure it was your review of The Lost City of Z that made put the hold on it at the library.

      Like

  4. janceewright
    April 22, 2015

    You’ll have to let me know what you think about The Strange Library. I keep wanting to read it, but it just seems so different that I’m afraid I won’t like it.

    Like

  5. ebookclassics
    April 22, 2015

    It’s possible that Murakami is one of those writer’s that I just won’t get, but I’m looking forward to reading The Strange Library because I heard good things about the book.

    Like

  6. lauratfrey
    April 22, 2015

    I think you’ll like When Everything Feels… hope to see a review, because I want to write one soon, and reading other people’s reviews is good inspiration! No, I don’t mean I’ll steal your ideas… 🙂 I have The Strange Library sitting on my bedside table. My kids had to be convinced that it was a grown up book and not for them. I wouldn’t have done very well with this one since my Dad is in town, but one of these times perhaps I’ll finally participate. I kind of feel like I fit in as much reading as I can already, though I’m sure that’s not true.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2015

      My boys also thought The Strange Library was for them and said only kids would be interested in a library that was “strange”. I could be wrong, but I get the impression you read much more and much faster than I do. Have fun with your Dad!

      Like

  7. The Paperback Princess
    April 22, 2015

    I can’t wait to hear what you think about When Everything Feels Like the Movies! I think you’re right about finishing short books keeping you motivated.

    Good luck! Will be cheering you on from the sidelines!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2015

      Thank you! Your amazing review definitely put things over the top for me and I knew had to read the book.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. CaroG
    April 22, 2015

    I haven’t read any of those!. I wanted to join the The Yellow Wallpaper read-a-long, but I am so behind with other books that I figure adding yet another one was a bit too much. However, if I DNF any of the books in my list I will join!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 22, 2015

      I almost didn’t join the read-along, but figured I could handle a 70-page book so The Yellow Wallpaper definitely has that going for it.

      Like

  9. Although I’m an advocate for a different winner to Canada Reads 15′, I think the second book I’d pick up from the lot is When Everything… so I’m excited to see what you think about it.

    Are you waiting to watch the competition after you’ve read all the books?

    Cheers,
    Joey

    Like

  10. ebookclassics
    April 22, 2015

    Did you agree with Ru winning the competition? I haven’t watched the Canada Reads debates yet because I just haven’t found the time. I may watch the final debate because I heard Elaine Lui was fiercely fighting for Movies to win. That kind of passion plus all of the rave reviews has me really excited about the book.

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

