ebookclassics

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon Updates

dewey

Dewey’s 24-House Read-a-thon is finally here! Visit my blog frequently to see how I’m doing (or if my kids hid my books or I dropped with exhaustion). Visit my announcement post for more details on the books I’m reading.

* * *

Hour: 20

Thoughts: Sleepy … Going to bed for a few hours because my child usually wakes me up around 6-6:30 am. and I will DIE if I don’t get more sleep. I will probably continue with The Lost City of Z audio book then because I can just lie on the bed/floor and listen as kids watch cartoons.

Currently reading: I finished When Everything Feels Like the Movies and it was such a raw, moving story. Reminded me so much of how hard and horrible it is to be a teenager in high school.

Stats:

Pages = 444
Audio = 40 minutes

Books finished: 4

* * *

libraryHour: 18

Thoughts: As usual, I fell asleep with the kids around 8:30-9:00 pm (this is a terrible habit of mine). I listened to The Lost City of Z while I was waiting for my youngest to fall asleep, so that was probably the equivalent of taking a sleeping pill. But three hours of sleep means I’m ready to do some hardcore reading.

Currently reading: Reading The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami only took about an hour. The story was almost like an old folk tale, but I’m still puzzling over what it means. Up next is When Everything Feels Like the Movies by Raziel Reid. *rubs hands together*

Stats:

Pages = 273
Audio = 40 minutes

Books finished: 3

* * *

 libraryHour: 13

Thoughts: For a read-a-thon break, I took my youngest to the library this afternoon and ended up reading a big stack of kids books when we got home. I was so wrapped up in the read-a-thon, I almost forgot my guest post for Bard on the Blogs on Shakespeare References in Pop Culture was posted today. Check out all the really cool Shakespeare posts at Books Take You Places.

Currently reading: Finished Honeymoon in Paris and it was so good! I will definitely have to read the Girl You Left Behind to find out what happens to these characters. I can’t start another book until the little ones are asleep, but up next will be The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami.

Stats:

Pages = 177
Audio = 30 minutes

Books finished: 2

* * *

waterHour: 8

Thoughts: Where did the time go? I took a break from the read-a-thon to go out for lunch with my family and then to play at the park down by the lake. The sun was shining, but I was freezing! Happy to come back inside and read for awhile. Now I’m trying to convince the kids to go to the library before it closes.

Currently reading: Honeymoon in Paris by JoJo Moyes, a novella and prequel to The Girl You Left Behind. It’s about two women who discover their expectations of marriage to their new husbands were unrealistic. I love it!

Stats:

Pages = 102
Audio = 30 minutes

* * *

Hour: 3

Thoughts: Whoo hoo! I finished reading The Yellow Wallpaper and quite enjoyed it. However, it’s quite annoying when one of your kids keeps tapping the ereader and losing your page. I also read Lego Ninjago: The Golden Weapons by Tracey West to said ereader disrupter.

Currently reading: The Lost City of Z by David Grann by audio book while folding laundry. I noticed the narrator is pronouncing Z as “zee” while surely the British would have said “zed”, no?

Stats:

Pages = 37 pages
Audio = 20 minutes

* * *

Hour: 0

Opening Meme:

yellow1. What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Canada
2. Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? When Everything Feels Like the Movies by Raziel Reid, but I’ll be starting off with The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman.
3. Which snack are you most looking forward to? Danishes and croissants fresh from the bakery!
4. Tell us a little something about yourself! I’ll be squeezing in reading while spending time with my family AND I’m so excited!
5. If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? I’m only reading short books this time around and listening to an audio book.

37 comments on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon Updates

  1. CaroG
    April 25, 2015

    Yeii for readers from Canada! enjoy the day! #TeamMrPopper

    Like

  2. Naomi
    April 25, 2015

    Mmmm… danishes and croissants. Have fun! 🙂

    Like

  3. amymckie
    April 25, 2015

    Yay yay Canada 🙂 I’m cheering from lovely Toronto and am tempted to run around the corner to pick up some fresh croissants myself. Happy reading!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 25, 2015

      And a big hooray for Canadian cheerleaders! I appreciate the support.

      Like

  4. lmcgeen
    April 25, 2015

    Looks like you are off to a great start! Happy to be cheering for you from Michigan!

    Like

  5. Cleo @ Classical Carousel
    April 25, 2015

    Another Canadian wishing you a great reading day! I can’t participate this time …… too much going on, but it’s so fun to see what everyone is reading!

    Enjoy!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 25, 2015

      Thanks friend! I haven’t done lots of reading yet, but hope to make up for it after the kids go to bed.

      Like

  6. Brian Joseph
    April 25, 2015

    Enjoy the Read – a – thon and may you vanquish the nemesis of sleep!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 25, 2015

      Thanks Brian! I will probably have a big nap at the end of the day and then read as far as I can into the morning.

      Like

  7. Kay
    April 25, 2015

    Glad to hear that others are listening to books too! That’s what I’ve been doing and I’m also cheering you on from Texas. Enjoy your day!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2015

      Hello Texas, thanks for stopping by! I’m having a great read-a-thon.

      Like

  8. Irene
    April 25, 2015

    Irene from Team Mr. Popper here. I hope you’re enjoying the readathon so far. Please remember that it’s all about having fun, so if you feel more like snacking than reading, then go ahead. This event is the perfect excuse for snacking!
    I’m sure you’ll reach your goal. You can do this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2015

      Thanks Irene! Now that the early hours are here, this is my prime snacking time. 🙂

      Like

  9. Words for Worms
    April 25, 2015

    The Yellow Wallpaper is so creepy and disturbing and wonderful, isn’t it?! I hope you’re having an amazing Readathon! #TeamPopper is cheering you on!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2015

      The Yellow Wallpaper really was creepy especially at the end! I’m having a great read-a-thon, thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  10. Elizabeth
    April 25, 2015

    It looks like you’re having a great readathon! Happy reading! #TeamPopper

    Like

  11. Karen @ One More Page...
    April 25, 2015

    Haha aw! I can imagine how having someone tapping on your e-reader could get annoying, but I find that so endearing! I hope you’re enjoying the readathon. I totally agree with you on the weather though; I did some reading outside in the sun but I was so cold!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2015

      Hi Karen, how have you been? I just finished The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami and I was thinking about your review because I think you’re the only blogger I know that reviewed it.

      Like

  12. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    April 25, 2015

    Oh, my kids love tapping the e-reader, too. Right before they ask “can I tap now?” Happy continued reading from south of your border! 🙂

    Like

  13. amymckie
    April 25, 2015

    A library trip sounds like a truly wonderful readathon type of event! I hope you’re enjoying your day.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2015

      I think I’ll make a library trip a tradition for every future read-a-thon.

      Like

  14. Lindsey
    April 26, 2015

    I hope the kiddos are sleeping soundly and you are getting lots of reading done! Carry on with the awesomeness!

    #TeamPopper

    Like

  15. ebookclassics
    April 26, 2015

    Thanks Lindsey! The kids (and husband!) are asleep and I have lots of great books still to read.

    Like

  16. mayorsonni
    April 26, 2015

    Great job with your reading. I haven’t read any of the books on your list. *scribbles down titles to check them out later*

    It is really quiet now. I can hear my cat snoring. We are in the homestretch. Don’t forget to move around a bit. Best of luck in achieving your read-a-thon goals. Happy reading! #TeamMrPopper

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 26, 2015

      I hope you get to check out some of the books I read. I’m very happy with what I selected. My cat has been following me to every room, meowing and hoping for a cuddle. Hope you are enjoying the read-a-thon too!

      Like

  17. DoingDewey
    April 26, 2015

    I’m excited to hear what you thought of Murakami’s The Strange Library! I loved 1Q84 and based on the reviews I’ve read so far, it’s another one of his books I should really pick up.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 28, 2015

      I liked it! I’m not very good at figuring out the symbolism, but overall it was a good read and only took me an hour.

      Like

  18. Naomi
    April 26, 2015

    You got so much reading done! yay! Now, go get some sleep. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 28, 2015

      Thanks! I’m usually sleep-deprived anyway, so staying up was fine.

      Like

  19. The Paperback Princess
    April 26, 2015

    Looks like you readathon was a total success! Hope you got some quality sleep – you earned it!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      April 28, 2015

      The funny thing is that all I wanted to do the next day is keep reading, LOL!

      Like

      • The Paperback Princess
        April 28, 2015

        That’s me EVERY DAY. Just this morning on my way to work I thought to myself “I wish I could just spend the day reading…”

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2015 by in Read-a-thon and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

