ebookclassics

Top Ten Tuesday – Authors I Would Like to Meet

TOP TEN

This week’s theme from The Broke and the Bookish is authors I would like to meet in person. I’ve met Margaret Atwood, Caitlin Moran and several other authors at book signings, so I won’t include them in this list. I also didn’t include celebrities who have written books. For the authors below, I don’t really have any burning questions to ask. I want to hang out with them because they seem pretty cool or I’m just curious about them.

CANADIAN

Alice Munro (Dear Life) – I just discovered the Nobel Peace Prize winner lives two hours away from me. She lives near the lake, so maybe we could just sit by the water and talk about the movie adaptation of her short story, The Bear Came over the Mountain. I loved it. Did she?

Douglas Coupland (Generation X: Tales for an Accelerated Culture) – Not only is he a writer, but a design and visual artist. He currently has an exhibit at the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto called everywhere is anywhere is anything is everything that explores the 21-century condition. Perhaps he could explain to me what the heck that means!

Kim Thúy (Ru) – Like my parents, this year’s Canada Reads winner didn’t teach Vietnamese to her children. I would like to chat with her about why not and sharing Vietnamese culture with our kids.

Thomas King (The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America) – Although he won the Governor General’s Award for Fiction this year, the above book didn’t win Canada Reads which had the theme breaking barriers. I would like to ask Thomas King what Canadian books he thinks breaks barriers.

Chris Hadfield (An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth) – I can’t think of anything cooler than an astronaut who plays guitar and conducts funny experiments in space. I think it would be fun to hang out with Colonel Hadfield. Maybe he could teach me how to play the guitar or grow a moustache.

INTERNATIONAL

John Green (The Fault in Our Stars) – He’s everywhere! In the past month I’ve seen him on Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Reddit, the MTV Movie Awards and Mental Floss, just to name a few. But I don’t mind because the King of YA seems like a goofy guy, I liked The Fault in Our Stars and I’m really excited about Paper Towns coming out in June.

Cheryl Strayed (Wild) – The author and Dear Sugar columnist strikes me as a woman who would tell it to you straight anything you needed to know about love, pain and the whole damn thing. I want to tag along the next time Cheryl and Resse Witherspoon go hiking.

Stephen King (The Shining, etc.) – The legendary author is probably the only one I might have some questions for about his writing. Otherwise, I’m absolutely fine just geeking out over Sons of Anarchy and trying find out what his next cameo is going to be.

Roxane Gay (An Untamed State) – Whatever happened to The Butter, the sister site to The Toast she was supposed to head? Actually I would rather ask her about the TV shows she’s watching and let her beat me at Scrabble (she’s a hardcore Scrabble player).

A.J. Jacobs (The Know-it-All) – The author and Esquire editor’s current head-scratching project is Global Family Reunion where he is working on mapping a World Family tree to show how the human race is genetically connected. He’s holding one big reunion party on June 6th in New York. Let’s go!

What authors would you like to meet?

28 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday – Authors I Would Like to Meet

  1. Julie
    May 12, 2015

    In no particular order: Ken Follett, Dean Koontz, Diana Gabaldon (although we did hear her speak), Kathy Reichs, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Chris Hadfield, Sheryl Sandberg….really there are so many!! I’ll stop there! Oh…wait…Gillian Flynn, Khaled Hosseni, and whoever writes the Richard Castle books!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 12, 2015

      I didn’t think seeing Diana Gabaldon do a Q&A counted as meeting an author. I got a glimpse of Chris Hadfield and Kathy Reichs at the Toronto Book Festival last September. By the way, I’m reading Gone Girl! 🙂

      Like

  2. janceewright
    May 12, 2015

    I would choose John Green, Neil Gaiman, J.K. Rowling, Lish McBride, and Maggie Stiefvater. If I went further into celebrities who wrote books, definitely Wil Wheaton and Felicia Day.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 12, 2015

      I thought about Neil Gaiman, but he didn’t make the cut. He seems like a very cool person!

      Like

      • janceewright
        May 12, 2015

        I’m listening to the audio version of Ocean at the End of the Lane read by him. It’s one of the most amazing things I’ve ever heard!

        Like

  3. Naomi
    May 12, 2015

    Yes! Douglas Coupland’s art would be so interesting to hear about. Thomas King could tell me some good stories. Joseph Boyden would probably have some good stories to tell, too, plus he would be easy on the eyes. I would also add Margaret Atwood to my list, because I haven’t met her, and I think she’d be pretty fun to talk to.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 12, 2015

      Joseph Boyden was also on my list and for the very same reasons, but I would probably embarrass myself trying to flirt with him.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        May 12, 2015

        Haha. I thought of that, too. But, most likely, I would embarrass myself talking with any of these authors, so why not him too? 🙂

        Like

  4. jessicabookworm
    May 12, 2015

    Interesting choices, I think Stephen King would be really interesting to talk to. I would love to go back in time to meet J R R Tolkien and C S Lewis 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 12, 2015

      Even if we didn’t talk about writing and books, I think Stephen King is the kind of person who has all sorts of interesting anecdotes to share.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. John Green made my list too. And, even though Stephen King didn’t make mine, I think it would be so awesome to meet him!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 12, 2015

      John Green looks like so much fun. I feel like he’s fairly normal despite his popularity and fame.

      Like

  6. I haven’t read The Inconvenient Indian but aside from its thematic value, only focusing on the literary merit, I’m curious as to if you think TII still should have won CanReads15′? I also didn’t know that Hadfield was THAT popular as an author until I saw the giant line-up for his book signing at the Toronto Int. Book Fair. Simply bananas.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 13, 2015

      The Book Fair is where I saw Chris Hadfield too, but I had to sneak to the area where his handlers were so I could see his face.

      Ooh, tough question. I haven’t read The Inconvenient Indian either, but my understanding of the book is Thomas King talks about the hopes and dreams of First Nations people, as well as their mistakes and what they can do about it. To me that seems like an attempt to shift any misguided perceptions anyone might have about them and absolutely qualifies for the “breaking barriers” theme of Canada Reads. When Everything Feels Like the Movies was so good though, so I would have to read TII to make a final decision on who deserves to win.

      Like

  7. Rory
    May 12, 2015

    I would love to meet Stephen King, but I strongly suspect I’d be star struck (and thus completely ridiculous).

    Like

  8. Cayt
    May 12, 2015

    Nice list! I love Stephen King when I read him but I think I’d want to read more of his book before I meet him. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 13, 2015

      If I didn’t get all weird around him, I think Stephen King and could probably talk about baseball, music, TV shows and movies. He seems to be a pretty regular guy, other than the famous novelist thing.

      Like

  9. Brian Joseph
    May 13, 2015

    This is another so very interesting top ten list. I like your picks.

    It is causing me to think about my own.

    A short list off the top of my head would include Margaret Atwood, Philip Roth and Salman Rushdie.

    Like

  10. ebookclassics
    May 13, 2015

    I think it would be very cool to meet Philip Roth and Salman Rushdie too. When I met Margaret Atwood at the book signing, I asked about her visit to the Buzzfeed office in NY. She liked that question, but then was silent. So I asked her about the pen technology she invented and she totally lit up, and said many things about it that went over my head.

    Like

  11. lauratfrey
    May 14, 2015

    Yes Douglas Coupland. I would be star struck.

    The Butter is still a thing! I don’t think it has it’s own website but you get to it from The Toast.

    Excellent list. I hope you meet them all.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 14, 2015

      I think I would be star struck if I met Douglas Coupland too and everything he said would go over my head.

      Like

  12. I would also like to meet Roxanne gay!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 21, 2015

      I had tickets to see her speak, but she injured her ankle and had to cancel the event. Maybe one day we’ll both meet her!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

