ebookclassics

Blogger Diaries #10

bea 1

Hello friends! It’s been so long since I wrote one of these posts. I hope you’ve been reading amazing books.

* * *

BOOK EXPO AMERICA 2015 AND BOOK BLOGGERS CONFERENCE

bea

BEA has always been on my bucket list and when Laura asked me if I wanted to go to the conference with her, how could I say no? We’re heading to New York in a few days and words cannot describe the combination of excitement and nervousness I’m feeling.

It’s all about Jonathan Franzen for Laura, but most of my must-sees are authors for children, such as Rosemary Wells, Jan Brett, Marc Brown, Shannon Hale and Kenneth Oppel.

I’m also looking forward to the Book Bloggers Conference to see what kind of new or interesting ideas they have for all of us, but most importantly I can’t wait to meet and network with other bloggers!

Look for my tweets between Wednesday and Friday @ebookclassics.

* * *

BOOK TO MOVIE CHALLENGE

The Book to Movie Challenge check-in post will be up following my trip to New York. I watched a lot of adaptations since the last check-in, including Persuasion (2007), The Fault in Our Stars (2014), Warm Bodies (2013) and Silver Linings Playbook (2013).

If you haven’t seen it, check out the new submission form for mini-reviews of book adaptations. ANYONE can submit a mini-review and I will post it as part of the Book to Movie Challenge check-in.

* * *

BOOKS ON THE GO

Is there a word for when you’re reading and the books are good, but not good enough? I feel that way about the books I’m reading right now. There’s a lack of excitement and connection that’s making me feel a little blah about them.

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – I love Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler. No problems with this book, but it’s long and I’m reading it at an easy pace.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – An interesting story, but it’s really slow-going right now. I can’t quite get into the story.

How to Read Literature Like a Professor: A Lively and Entertaining Guide to Reading Between the Lines by Thomas C. Foster – So close to finishing the audio book and I have one day before the title expires! It will be a race to the finish line today.

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley – I can’t connect with this book at all and struggle to get through every chapter. I told my friend yesterday and she said, “Life’s too short to read books you don’t enjoy!” But I’m half-way through … should I give up or soldier on?

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith – The book is okay right now. The contrast between this sexually confused teenage narrator and the narrator from When Everything Feels Like the Movies is so striking.

* * *

Should I give up on The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie? Are you going to BEA? Let me know and let’s connect! Happy reading!

19 comments on “Blogger Diaries #10

  1. Brian Joseph
    May 24, 2015

    Have fun at BEA. I am bit jealous of you. I am not far from the event, but sadly I will not be able to attend as my schedule will not permit it.

    I read How to Read Literature Like a Professor. I liked it a lot and found it to be very useful. I find that things that I got out of it come back to years later.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 24, 2015

      I really like How to Read Literature because he lays out the themes so clearly for the average person to understand. This is my second time reading the book. I thought I should revisit it since I’ve read quite a few more classics since the last time.

      Too bad you can’t it to BEA, but there are plenty of related events in the evening. Maybe I’ll get to meet you at one of them!

      Like

  2. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    May 24, 2015

    Oh, how I wish I could go to BEA but it didn’t work out this year. I was hoping for next year but since I learned it’s in Chicago I’m not sure. We’ll see!

    I think you should give up on The Sweetness if you don’t enjoy it. It’s not like it’s a timeless classic or anything, and I can understand it not being to everyone’s taste. I’ve read all the books in the series so far but I don’t think I’m going to read any more; I found the characters fun at first but they’re not going anywhere that interests me.

    Have a fantastic week!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 24, 2015

      I doubt I will be going, but I think BEA in Chicago will be amazing. I hope you get to go! I agree with you and think I’m going to give up on The Sweetness. I like that it’s an old fashioned kind of mystery and Flavia is a cute character, but where I am as a reader, I think I need more somehow.

      Like

  3. Naomi
    May 24, 2015

    I’d love to hear more about Grasshopper Jungle and how it compares to WEFLTM.
    It’s too bad you can’t get into The Sweetness – it’s been recommended to me by a couple of different people, and I had planned to read it sometime, but now…

    Very envious of BEA, although I would probably just be a bundle of nerves the whole time. It’s the kind of thing I love the idea of, but I’m not so sure it’s something I would be good at. I wonder what it’s like for introverts? Have so much fun!! I hope you get to do and see everything you want!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 24, 2015

      No way, I think most book bloggers are introverted and you would find yourself surrounded by people just like you and me at BEA. I think you would really enjoy yourself.

      Please do read The Sweetness if you had your heart set on it because I know a few people who really love the series. From what I’ve read so far, I think it’s also a book that your daughter could probably read at some point.

      By the way, Laura lent me her copy of Fifteen Dogs, so I’ll probably start it tonight. Eep!

      Like

      • Naomi
        May 24, 2015

        I have already given it to my daughter to read – it is sitting on her shelf. I thought it would be a good one for us to read (kind of) together. So, my timing with it depends on when she feels like reading it.
        Enjoy Fifteen Dogs! 🙂

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          May 24, 2015

          I think your daughter will like Flavia because her character is incredibly smart and charming. It’s possibly not good timing for me to read The Sweetness. After all, I did just finish reading Gone Girl and that mystery was pretty messed up.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. janceewright
    May 24, 2015

    Agh! I have so much to say about this post. So here goes.

    1. I think Katie just went on a Rosemary Wells reading spree and really enjoyed her books. Have fun seeing her at the conference!
    2. I’ve heard so many good things about the Alan Bradley series, so I’m really sorry you aren’t enjoying it. I hardly ever DNF books, but in theory I definitely agree with the practice. If you don’t like it, don’t read it.
    3. I’m about to read Grasshopper Jungle, as it’s part of the YALSA Hub 2015 challenge. I’ve heard it’s very strange, but I’m pretty excited!

    Like

  5. ebookclassics
    May 24, 2015

    Wow! I’ve read so many Rosemary Wells books with my kids, I guess you can say I’m a fan too. Her signing is at the same time as a blogger networking event, so I still have to figure out how I’m going to see her. No matter what, I will try to get my hands on her book.

    I’ve heard so many good things about the Alan Bradley series too, so I wondered why the book was not doing it for me. Again, I wonder if it’s just timing and I just try reading it another time.

    I like Grasshopper Jungle so far (it’s not weird yet), so it will be fun to compare notes. How are you doing with the YALSA challenge?

    Like

  6. Have an amazing time at BEA!!! Maybe next year for me 🙂

    Like

  7. jessicabookworm
    May 25, 2015

    I find it really hard to give up on books too but I am teaching myself to because life really is too short!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 25, 2015

      It really is hard! I’ve put the book aside and I may go back to it another time.

      Like

  8. Congrats! I’m excited to hear about your BEA experience when you get back. I’ve always wanted to go too. Someday. 🙂

    Like

  9. Amber O (AmberBug)
    May 29, 2015

    So happy we got to finally meet in person! What a freakin’ day huh? We’re back in Brooklyn drinking some wine while we unwind and then force ourselves to work on Armchair.

    Regarding “Gone with the Wind”, I think I felt the same way but it really came together with that complete felling in the end. I love Rhett, his views on the rich, poor, war and business are fantastic. Not sure how far you got so I won’t go to into that.

    Anyways… happy travel back!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 31, 2015

      It was so much fun hanging out with you guys and definitely one of the highlights of our time in New York! Wow, my hat off to you for also participating in Armchair BEA. I can’t wait to read al of your posts.

      I’m in the twenties in terms of chapters for Gone with the Wind. I’m a little in love with Rhett Butler too. I find him incredibly charismatic and smart, a loveable scoundrel.

      Like

  10. Lynn at Smoke & Mirrors
    June 19, 2015

    Hah! Honestly, I can’t imagine not being totally enthralled by the Flavia series! My husband and I both are, but everybody reacts differently to each book. That is the fun of reading and sharing reactions!

    Honestly, I rarely do not finish reading a book, even if I don’t like it. However, I know many people who are able to do so. I guess I keep thinking, “It must get better. It must get better. It must…” Well, you get the idea!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 20, 2015

      I really loved Flavia as a character. I thought she was wonderful and know some many people who read the series and think she’s great too. I just couldn’t get into the story and maybe it was just a matter of bad timing. I actually think I would like to read the book again some day with my kids when they are a bit older. They love mysteries and I think they would love Flavia too.

      What was the last book you didn’t finish? A big part of me really doesn’t like not finishing a book and if I’ve made it half-way, I used to tell myself I might as well keep going, but now it’s the thought of my ginormous TBR that makes me say okay I’m going to let this one go.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 24, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

