ebookclassics

BEA 2015 Book Haul – Part One

stack

While I wanted to grab every single book being given out at BEA and there were many, I tried to only pick books that truly appealed to me. I did commit some cringe-worthy behaviour at a couple of free-for-alls because it’s hard to resist a table full of shiny free galleys. If anything those moments proved bloggers may be introverts, but deep down inside lies a killer instinct when it comes to books!

Here’s what you can look forward to for the Fall and Winter.

Geraldine Brooks – The Secret Chord
The life of King David in the Second Iron Age of Israel. I find insight into the life of such a prominent figure from the Bible fascinating.

Julie Checkoway – The Three-Year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui’s Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory
The next big inspired by true events movie of the year, perhaps?

Ernest Cline – Armada: A Novel
A pop-culture infused coming of age tale with video games, science fiction and alien invasions. Sounds perfect!

Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranfor –Welcome to Night Vale
From the creators of the popular podcast, a small town mystery where the supernatural is the norm. I keep hearing about this podcast and want to find out what these guys are all about.

Jonathan Franzen – Purity
A dark comedy about a young girl who becomes involved with an organization that traffics secrets. I haven’t read anything by Jonathan Franzen before, so this will be my introduction.

Elsa Hart – Jade Dragon Mountain
In eighteenth century China, an exiled librarian investigates the murder of a Jesuit astronomer. I haven’t read anything from this time period in China, so I’m curious how the story plays out.

A.S. King – I Crawl Through It
Four stressed out teenagers find bizarre and creative ways to escape their problems. Yeah, I’m not quite sure what this is about either, but still excited to read it.

Liza Klaussmann – Villa America
An American couple and their ex-pat friends enjoy a glamourous lifestyle on the French Riviera while hiding secrets and heartbreak. Sounds like a great book for summer!

Dan Marshall – Home is Burning
A funny and scathing memoir about a man who returns home to care for his ailing father and is reintroduced to his messy family life. Who doesn’t like a book where someone else’s family is more dysfunctional than your own?

Gavin McCrea – Mrs. Engels
A poor Irish girl moves to England and witnesses the attempted revolution of the working class by Frederick Engels and Karl Marx. I can’t ignore the significant historical figures and events in this book.

Katie McGarry – Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1)
The attraction between a young girl and boy is complicated by their loyalty to a motorcycle club. Maybe I’m just missing Sons of Anarchy, but I was sold as soon as they mentioned “hot motorcycle guy”.

Alison Pick – Between Gods
A woman discovers that her grandparents hid their Jewish heritage and finds that she is obsessively drawn to the faith. One of my favourite Canadian books from last year, I hope the international release is successful.

Garth Risk Hallberg – City on Fire
The entangled lives of several New Yorkers in the time leading up to the July 13th, 1977 blackout. The cross-section of lives during this turbulent time period really grabbed me.

Amy Stewart – Girl Waits With Gun
Based on the true story of one of America’s first female deputy sheriffs. The main character sounds so cool!

Ruth Ware – In A Dark, Dark Wood
A young woman wakes up in the hospital following a hen’s night with long-estranged friends knowing someone has been murdered, but not what actually happened. The story sounds so eerie and mysterious!

Nicola Yoon – Everything, Everything
A young girl with a rare disease leads a lonely life stuck inside her home until her new neighbour gives her every reason to venture out into the world.

Over the next week or so, I will post all of the children’s books I picked up, the best tips and tricks from Blogger Con and my overall experience at BEA with Laura from Reading in Bed. We had an amazing time!

Have you heard of any of these books? Do any of them grab your attention?

 

25 comments on “BEA 2015 Book Haul – Part One

  1. janceewright
    May 30, 2015

    So jealous about Armada!!! Ready Player One is one of my faves! You know, that whole gaming thing! You’ll have to let me know how it is!!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 31, 2015

      Really excited about this book too. Very curious to see how it compares to Ready Player One.

      Like

  2. I’ve heard a lot about Nowhere But Here lately. It sounds good and like something I might enjoy. I look forward to seeing what you think. I also look forward to reading more about your experience at BEA. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 31, 2015

      Of all the YA books I picked up, I like the plot of this one the most, so we’ll see if I end up liking it. The publisher seemed to be really heavily promoting this one.

      Like

  3. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    May 30, 2015

    I’m very interested in The Secret Chord, as I love Geraldine Brooks. Jade Dragon Mountain also sounds fascinating. In nonfiction, The Three-Year Swim Club and Girl Waits with Gun pique my interest. So glad you had a great time, thanks for sharing your haul with us!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 31, 2015

      I was iffy about some of these books going into the conference, but once I heard more about the plot and background to the writing of the story, some of them became must-haves. Those publishers really know how to convince you, lol!

      Like

  4. lauratfrey
    May 30, 2015

    Yay!! I need to do my post. So… I already finished In a Dark Dark Wood. Read it so we can chat! I love the writing style and I need to talk about the plot 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 31, 2015

      Whaaht?! I knew you were a faster reader than me. Sounds like you really liked the book. Okay, I’ll get on it.

      Like

  5. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    May 30, 2015

    I am jealous that you got a copy of Girl Waits With Gun and The Secret Chord. Both are high on my list, so I am looking forward to your opinion of them. I’m glad that you had a great time and that trip was worth it!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 31, 2015

      We were completely exhausted by the end of it (I’m still recovering), but had a great time and met so many interesting people. I’m so happy we also had the chance to see you even for a short time. Hopefully we can again one day.

      Like

  6. Amber O (AmberBug)
    May 30, 2015

    I grabbed some of the same, I look forward to discussing them!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 31, 2015

      Did you grab them or dive over a crowd of people onto the table like I did, lol? Can’t wait to discuss them with you too! 🙂

      Like

  7. DoingDewey
    May 31, 2015

    I admire your restraint! And I’m also very jealous of your copy of Welcome to Nightvale. I love that podcast 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      May 31, 2015

      I hadn’t heard of Welcome to Night Vale until Laura told me about it and the podcast sounded so cool. We had some interesting conversations with people about how the podcast is very popular among the YA crowd, yet has this old school Weird Tales vibe you wouldn’t normally associate as being their thing.

      Like

  8. Naomi
    May 31, 2015

    I am especially coveting your copy of the new Geraldine Brooks – I have loved all her books so far. Most of these are new to me, but Laura’s comment also has me curious about In a Dark Dark Wood.
    So glad you guys had fun! I’m picturing you diving over people and fighting for your life over the books. 🙂
    Can’t wait to hear more!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 2, 2015

      The Secret Chord looks really good and it’s not one of those 900-page monsters. I’m hoping to read it soon. Laura and I had an amazing time. We were totally fried by Friday, but worth standing in line to meet all those authors and get the books.

      Like

      • Naomi
        June 2, 2015

        It really does sound like a lot of fun! Maybe someday…

        Like

  9. Brian Joseph
    May 31, 2015

    It sounds like you really had a great experience.

    I am going to make an effort to attend this event next year.

    That is also a great haul of books.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 2, 2015

      It looks like BEA and Book Con is going to be held in Chicago next year. Would you consider going to a different location?

      Like

  10. Ooh you picked up so many new-to-me books! Can’t wait to hear what you think of them! I really enjoyed Everything, Everything!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 2, 2015

      Did Everything, Everything remind you of If I Fall, If I Die with the girl being allergic to everything and never leaving the house? Was the romance good?

      Like

  11. Freda Mans
    May 31, 2015

    A.S. King is calling out to me! 😀 Nice haul!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 2, 2015

      Thanks! I’m still not sure what it’s about, but I really liked A.S. King’s last book.

      Like

  12. Lynn at Smoke & Mirrors
    June 19, 2015

    Ooohh…what a haul! So many of these sound compelling or at least very interesting! Like Naomi, Geraldine Brooks is one of my favorites and her newest would probably hold a stronger appeal to me than the rest.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 20, 2015

      Once I get a few more books finished, I’m going to start the next Geraldine Brooks. We saw her interviewed at BEA and she was incredibly charming and intelligent. The way she explained her interest in writing this story really intrigued us. We were also impressed that the book is a reasonable length because we figured other authors would have made a book about King David into an 800-pager.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

