ebookclassics

2015 Book Blogger Discussion – Me Talk Some Pretty Some Day: On Being Social Media Challenged

2015-Discussion-Challenge3

Among all of the very good nuggets of wisdom I heard at Blogger Con last month, being consistently active on social media was one of the most emphasized pieces of advice I heard. Hearing this inspired me to try a little harder to put myself out there on Twitter. So I tried talking to some bloggers and literary sites, but I have to say I felt really dumb doing it and cringe when I look at my tweets. I honestly think I’m more comfortable talking to other bloggers from the security blanket of my blog or their blogs via comments.

Are you active on Twitter or other social media sites? Or are you social media challenged and prefer commenting on blogs instead?

If you’re able to build a good rapport with other bloggers through commenting, do you think it really matters how active we are on social media?

Thanks for your thoughts!

Visit the challenge hosts Feed Your Fiction Addiction and It Starts At Midnight to see more interesting discussion questions for bloggers.

37 comments on “2015 Book Blogger Discussion – Me Talk Some Pretty Some Day: On Being Social Media Challenged

  1. janceewright
    June 3, 2015

    Some days I can spend all day tweeting and I can have some really great conversations. Other days I’m like “Ugh, I don’t want to do this at all”. I think there’s value in Twitter, but not necessarily more or less than something like blog comments. I can certainly type a lot more here than in a Tweet.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 3, 2015

      I enjoy sharing information and getting information on Twitter. I also like seeing what people are reading and doing or are excited about on Twitter, but talking on there feels so awkward even with people I know quite well. Even family, lol!

      Like

      • janceewright
        June 4, 2015

        Right? I think it’s the 140 character limit. Either I have to send a ton of tweets to the same person or condense into something that feels stilted.

        Like

  2. Amber O (AmberBug)
    June 3, 2015

    Twitter is super strange… I got into it for a little while but it was more sharing my love of something. I found myself an outsider looking in. I also HATE the format – for someone who likes to write, I find it very constraining!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      I like how you say “outsider looking in” because that’s how I feel most of the time on Twitter. Although, I quite enjoy lurking about.

      Like

  3. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    June 3, 2015

    I just can’t do Twitter, it’s not me. I’m with Amber — I can’t take the space constraint! And I’m distracted enough without looking at hundreds of tiny messages all day long. I do use Facebook, which I know is not popular, but I find it easy and quick.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      I’m okay with Twitter’s character constraint and mostly because that means less space for me to babble on. Is your Facebook page mostly personal or do you share book reviews too?

      Like

      • Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
        June 4, 2015

        I have both, a personal page and a page for my blog. I have different populations of friends/fans on each. I used to do book reviews on my personal page before I started my blog, but now I keep those separate.

        Like

  4. I feel dumb on Twitter a lot and sometimes I feel like I’m talking to no one. It’s hard. But, I do love being on Twitter because of all the relationships I’ve been able to strengthen.

    I think Twitter does help. I don’t think it’s the end all be all by any means, but I’ve met a lot of other bloggers that I never would’ve and become active readers of their blogs and the same with new followers for my own blog.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      I also definitely enjoy Twitter because of the bloggers and reading events I’ve discovered. Actually, I think I discovered the North and South read-along you hosted because of Twitter! 🙂

      Like

  5. Last year, after BEA, I made a real concerted effort to do more on Twitter, but I’m still hit or miss with it. And I agree that it sometimes just feels awkward. I DO love having some small interactions with authors on Twitter, but I prefer comments to talk to other bloggers most of the time. I’ll have to go make sure I’m following you on Twitter and then we can talk awkwardly at each other – you know, for practice. 🙂

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      Ha! Yes, let’s practice talking awkwardly on Twitter. I can promise you I’m very good at it. Interacting with authors on Twitter the few times it has happened has been very exciting for me too. Social media has definitely been great for connecting authors and readers.

      Like

  6. Naomi
    June 3, 2015

    I am definitely social media challenged. I don’t even have a twitter account. Mostly I don’t want one, because I feel like it would be another time-suck, but sometimes I feel like I am probably way out of the loop. I love the blog commenting – we can go on for as long as we want!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      You are making the right decision because Twitter really is a time-suck. I try to restrict how long I’m on it and on most weekends I’m too busy to check get to it anyway. Commenting on blogs is definitely easier for conversations and not feeling like hundreds of people are listening in.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. WordsAndPeace
    June 3, 2015

    I think it gives more visibility to your blog. You can also easily set your blog so that each of your posts gets automatically announced on twitter

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      Ooh, I’m a little afraid of automatic posts to Twitter although I’m it works very well. I agree with you that Twitter is great for promoting your blog. Do you get a lot of new followers through Twitter?

      Like

      • WordsAndPeace
        June 4, 2015

        no problem at all. My wordpress i set to post automatically on twitter, facebook, google + and linkedin. My main source of new followers is twitter indeed

        Like

  8. jilliansbooks
    June 4, 2015

    Beautiful post! I am also social media challenged. While I feel really comfortable talking to other bloggers in Twitter, sometimes I refrain from tweeting them in Twitter too much. For some reason, I get really awkward trying to think of a response for them in social media. Whereas in their blogs, when you comment on them, you always have something to say — especially with the post they made that you want to comment on. Commenting on blogs gives me a perfect excuse to talk about something, you know 😛

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      Agreed! Even there’s a topic or conversation on Twitter I want to join, I always wonder if what I said made sense or sounded silly. Then I spend way too much time agonizing over a tweet. I do this with comments too, but not as much. Maybe because it’s a smaller audience and just bloggers, not publishers or all the random people (quote of the days, non-profits, musicians, soccer players???) who follow me for some reason.

      Like

  9. Brian Joseph
    June 4, 2015

    This is a great topic.

    Though I had a twitter account for years I mostly stuck to my blog and comments for a long time. I actually began to get more active on twitter in relation to social and political issues.

    I find that many, though not all, book bloggers, though they have twitter accounts, are more “blogger type folks” and do not really interact a lot on twitter.

    Conversely when I blog about social issues, my twitter “Social issue” friends rarely comment on my blog but want to discuss my post via tweets.

    It seems that with some folks there is a divide between ‘Twitter thinking” and “Blogger” thinking.

    Lately however I have been interacting with some literary folks on twitter who are not bloggers. Using hashtags like #JamesJoyce and #CharlesDickens has led me to meet and interact with some great people. Some are just enthusiasts, others are academics.

    By the way, I love your twitter feed. It is not only really interesting and informative but your use of pictures makes it very visually appealing.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      Thanks Brian! I’ve admired how much supporting feminism is important to you and you have been so active with the #YesAllWomen and #HeForShe tweets (I also like the beer pics). I really liked how you mentioned a “Twitter” and “Blogger” thinking divide. Maybe we all lean more in the blogger direction.

      Like

  10. KatieMcD
    June 4, 2015

    I love some of the conversations, in real time, I can have on Twitter. And that you can chat with more than one person at once. I think I’m still getting the hang of it, and there are definitely days that go by where I’m away from Twitter all day, and it’s all a-okay with me. My weird thing, is I don’t have Facebook. Hate it. Never going back. If you don’t like Twitter, it’s all good, and you shouldn’t have to feel uncomfortable just because it’s what us bloggers are “supposed” to do.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 4, 2015

      I don’t have Facebook either. I enjoy Twitter, but I don’t think I will go out of my way to talk to other people there especially when I’ve had so many great conversations in comments (like this!) and it feels so much more relaxed. I agree we don’t necessarily have to do what bloggers are “supposed” to do.

      Like

  11. jessicabookworm
    June 4, 2015

    I don’t use social media sites, for my blog or personally. Actually my blog is the only way I communicate online. I love having chats on my blog posts and perhaps sometimes exchange an email, but never felt the need to do more. I think you should do what you’re comfortable with.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2015

      I like social media, but it can be very time consuming. Sometimes I have to remind myself that my blog should be the priority.

      Like

  12. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    June 4, 2015

    Aside from my blog, I only have a Twitter account. I considered getting an Instagram account, but I don’t think I would have enough time for that, on top of everything else. I don’t use Twitter all that much, and I don’t like interacting on it too much either. I’ve tried Twitter chats but found them confusing. So I just use it for bookish information and links. (You always send links to the best lists!) I have my Bloglovin’ account set up so that it automatically tweets when I post, and that seems to work fine.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2015

      Thank you! I come across such interesting bookish information and thought it would be fun to share it. I’ve thought about Instagram too, but then that would be another thing to worry about and might take me away from focusing on the blog. I like to try and participate in Twitter chats too, but understand how they can be confusing because it truly is noisy chatter you’re trying to keep up with.

      Like

  13. Silvara
    June 5, 2015

    I’m active on Twitter, though there’s really only a few people I talk to. Mostly because they’re the only ones who respond if I comment on something. *laughs* And I have Instagram, but mostly use it to follow other people, and post pictures of my latest crafty things.

    So for the most part, I stick to commenting on other people’s blogs, and responding to the comments left on my blog.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2015

      Actually I hesitate to talk on Twitter sometimes because I wonder if anyone will respond, so it really is good if you know there are a few friends out there who won’t leaving you hanging.

      Like

  14. I still have trouble with Twitter – I would love to be on it more though because I do enjoy reading tweets and it’s probably my favorite social media platform (well that and pinterest). I don’t know if it’s more beneficial than replying to comments, but I do feel that being active by commenting on posts is more fun. There’s more to read and engage with in a post!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2015

      I forgot about Pinterest! I always forget I have an account until I get an email from them. I haven’t used it much because I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to pin or how much time I wanted to devote to it. What do you pin?

      Like

  15. Elizabeth
    June 5, 2015

    I am also socially media challenged, but I am trying. When I read an interesting post I will hit the share button for one of the social sites, and I sometimes go back and re-tweet my old posts, or re-tweet things I see. I think being active on social media is important for publishers to see you, so if I tweet something w/ a particular author I try to include their twitter handle or that of their publisher. I’ve only done a couple twitter parties/discussions and I have trouble keeping up.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2015

      I like Twitter parties too, but they are hard to keep up with sometimes or are scheduled at a time that doesn’t work for me. I sometimes add publishers to my tweets, but find they mostly seem to ignore me. At Blogger Con, I went to a panel about working with publishers and the publishers there encouraged bloggers to tag them in tweets even if we didn’t receive copies of the book directly from them. A blogger on the panel responded to this by saying to be fair the publisher should acknowledge the tweet by replying or retweeting. It was an interesting conversation.

      Like

  16. DoingDewey
    June 5, 2015

    I’m working on getting better at social media, but it doesn’t come naturally to me! I love when I do get into conversations with other bloggers and readers though, so I’ll keep trying 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 6, 2015

      I think you sound very natural on Twitter. I guess that’s all we can do keep trying, right?

      Like

      • DoingDewey
        June 9, 2015

        Thanks! It’s true, we all do the best we can. I was recently reading a post by someone who spends 4+ hours a day on blogging and I was a little bit jealous. I think if I could devote more time to social media, I’d be much better at it!

        Like

  17. Pingback: Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore 6/7/15 - Feed Your Fiction AddictionFeed Your Fiction Addiction

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

