ebookclassics

Book to Movie Challenge 2015 – Check-in #2

Book2Movie
Welcome to the second Book to Movie Challenge check-in! Please share links to your posts or comments below. No time? You can fill out my super-easy mini-review form and I’ll feature your review on a special challenge post. Don’t be shy, anyone can submit a review!

And now for my Book to Movie mini-reviews for this quarter (may contain spoilers):

june movie

* * *

Persuasion (2007) starring Sally Hawkins and Rupert Penry-Jones

Book by Jane Austen

watchBoth the book and movie are great

watchWatch it

Thoughts: Deviations from the book were acceptable.

* * *

Cloud Atlas (2012) starring Tom Hanks, Halle Berry and many many other wonderful actors

Book by David Mitchell

watchBoth the movie and book were great

watchWatch it

Thoughts: The adaptation makes major changes to the complicated storyline for clarity and I think it worked well. You would definitely want to read the book before watching this movie. I loved how the actors would play anywhere from 2-4 characters in the movie, but would be completely transformed by make-up and costumes.

* * *

Silver Linings Playbook (2012) starring Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence

Book by Matthew Quick

skipDid not read the book

watchWatch it

Thoughts: Pleasantly surprised by how much I loved this movie. Funny, quirky and heartfelt.

* * *

Warm Bodies (2013) starring Nicholas Hoult and Teresa Palmer

Book by Isaac Marion

skipDid not read the book

watchWatch it

Thoughts: A zombie romance? Who would’ve thunk?

* * *

A Long Way Down (2014) starring Pierce Brosnan, Toni Collette, Imogen Poots and Aaron Paul

Book by Nick Hornby

skipDid not read the book

skipSkip it

Thoughts: Great cast, but it’s a silly story and painfully dragged on.

* * *

The Fault in Our Stars (2014) starring Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort

watchBoth the movie and the book are great

watchWatch it

Thoughts: I smiled throughout the whole movie except for the sad parts where I bawled. Beautiful movie, incredibly sweet and inspiring.

* * *

Insurgent starring Shailene Woodley and Theo James

Book by Veronica Roth

skipMovie was better

watchWatch it (if you are a Divergent fan)

Thoughts: I didn’t like the book at all, but this action-packed movie made it up to me.

* * *

Have you watched any of these movies or read the books? What movie or TV adaptations have you been watching? Submit a review and let’s discuss!

11 comments on “Book to Movie Challenge 2015 – Check-in #2

  1. janceewright
    June 4, 2015

    I read A Long Way Down and enjoyed it, but I haven’t seen the movie. And I really loved Divergent, but haven’t seen Insurgent yet.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2015

      I don’t know if the book is like the movie, but I felt like it was trying too hard to be funny. I did like the combination of actors and that was probably the only thing that kept me watching.

      Like

  2. jessicabookworm
    June 4, 2015

    I loved Silver Linings Playbook book and film! I also enjoyed the Insurgent film but I still have to read the book. I have never seen an adaptation of Persuasion. I would like though so I will have to keep this one in mind as you enjoyed it.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2015

      For whatever reason, there haven’t been many adaptations of Persuasion. But the BBC always do a good job and I liked this version.

      Like

  3. Naomi
    June 4, 2015

    I can’t get past Jennifer Lawrence’s long face. Does she ever look happy in anything?
    I read A Long Way Down and liked it, but I haven’t seen the movie. Maybe the book is better.
    I haven’t seen The Fault in Our Stars yet, but probably will now that it has your blessing. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Naomi
      June 4, 2015

      I’d love to submit a mini-review – I just have to think of one to do. I would do Far From the Madding Crowd, if only it would come to our theater, but, unfortunately, I don’t think it’s going to. Hmm… I will think about it.

      Like

      • ebookclassics
        June 5, 2015

        TFIOS has my whole-hearted blessing! I was so surprised by how much it touched me. Yes, please submit a mini-review. It can be any movie or TV adaptation you’ve watched over the last 3-6 months.

        Like

  4. I’m glad you liked the Insurgent movie. It just made me mad. I hated all the changes, but that’s probably why you liked it, lol. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 5, 2015

      Yeah, I probably did like it for that reason, LOL! Through the whole movie I was like, is that different, did they change that?

      Like

  5. DoingDewey
    June 14, 2015

    I haven’t done anything for this challenge yet, so I’m very glad you’re hosting this year! It looks like you’ve been having a lot of fun with it πŸ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 15, 2015

      Thanks! I wish I could be doing more to get people participating.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2015 by in Book to Movie Challenge and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

