ebookclassics

Tips from Blogger Con 2015

Although I didn’t know what to expect attending Blogger Con for the first time, I ended up being incredibly inspired by the bloggers and panellists who presented. In particular, I had a lot of whoa moments at the Creative Content Opportunities and Engaging Your Readers sessions.

Here are some of the great tips I picked up:

Tips from Blogger Con 2015-1  Did you attend Blogger Con or participate in Armchair BEA? What advice do you have about blogging?

27 comments on “Tips from Blogger Con 2015

  1. Angélique
    June 6, 2015

    Hm, the image doesn’t show for me. Curious to see what you learnt!

    Like

  2. Thank you for this post! No, I haven’t attended any Blogger Con yet. I’d love to.

    Like

  3. mithrril
    June 6, 2015

    I didn’t attend but I would have loved to! Maybe some year. It sounds amazing. All of these suggestions seem spot on.

    Cayt @ Vicarious Caytastrophe

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 8, 2015

      Thank you! It definitely inspired me to experiment more with my blog.

      Like

  4. I really like the way you did this post, and lots of good tips! I’m glad you had a great time at Blogger Con.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 8, 2015

      I got some really good ideas at Blogger Con and hopefully these tips will inspire others.

      Like

  5. Brian Joseph
    June 7, 2015

    Great tips indeed.

    I agree with the point about sharing interests not relating to books. With that, I find that books can cover so much territory that when often writing about them, I often end up relating other interests to books in some way or another.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 8, 2015

      I agree that you can usually make some kind of connection from books to other interests in your life. I just need to figure out out how to blog about it. 🙂

      Like

  6. Naomi
    June 7, 2015

    Good tips! The hardest thing for me is branching out from bookish things and getting personal. I’m better at doing that in the comments.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 8, 2015

      Comments are definitely a good place to discuss non-bookish topics. I often think of writing about non-bookish things, but not sure how to go about doing that in a post. Still need to think about it, I guess.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. brynhottman
    June 7, 2015

    Thanks! This is great and very helpful.

    Like

  8. lauratfrey
    June 8, 2015

    Did you learn how to create this at blogger con?? Did I miss a session?? 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 8, 2015

      No, but I would have loved a session about creating graphics. Again, I’m just experimenting with different sites. This took me forever to make.

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        June 8, 2015

        Yes, that would have been a great session!! Okay, time to get my butt in gear and post. I’m thinking along the lines of “is blogger con worth it for non-monetized bloggers” or perhaps just a photo of my unedited notes? haha

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          June 8, 2015

          I would like to see your notes since I could barely read mine! Good thing I tweeted that stuff or I wouldn’t have anything to work with.

          Like

  9. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review
    June 8, 2015

    Nice tips! (Note to self: check out Pictochart.) Going to BloggerCon is a dream of mine. I doubt I can make it to Chicago next year, but if it’s moving around, maybe it will come to Boston eventually? I can only hope!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 8, 2015

      I think it would be ideal if Blogger Con moved around so everyone had an opportunity to attend, but I’m already hearing grumblings about the move to Chicago. I guess the publishing industry doesn’t love the idea and may not support it being outside New York after next year.

      Like

  10. Aracely's Books
    June 9, 2015

    Great post!! Lots of great information for bloggers!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 10, 2015

      Thanks! I hope you found something useful. Did you like Blogger Con this year?

      Like

  11. Bec.
    June 17, 2015

    Useful and interesting, I review audiobooks, mainly mystery, that’s all I do so it is a bit boring as far as blogs go. I’m thinking of changing things as I also want to post non audio reviews plus a few other things. When you’re like me, that is, when you’re not very artistic or imaginative, posts like this are invaluable.
    Oh yes, then there’s the tech problem! Seems I can’t cope with anything more difficult than basic Blogger. I’ll keep reading though, may be hope for me yet.
    I love your blog, all sorts of interesting stuff. Good Job!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 18, 2015

      Blogger Con was very inspiring and I came back with all sorts of ideas, but like you said then it becomes a question of exactly how much one can do. They definitely suggested mixing things up on your blog to keep things fresh for you and your audience. I think it’s very interesting that you focus on audio books because they seem to be growing in popularity. I actually need some audio book recommendations, so I’ll definitely be checking out your blog!

      Like

  12. So exciting that you went to Blogger Con! And it was great that you got so much out of it. I wasn’t sure if it’s something I would go to if I ever make it to BEA, but it does sound very helpful. There are all such excellent points!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 22, 2015

      I wish there were more events organized like Blogger Con that talked about blogging ideas and improving your technical skills, not just trying to get you to read certain books or whatever (although I like that too!). Even if it was online, I would definitely pay to attend if I thought it was worth my time.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

