ebookclassics

Armada by Ernest Cline (2015)

armada

Armada was probably my biggest must-get ARC at Book Expo America (other than the Princess in Black sequel) and it was worth the hour in line to get the book and meet Ernie. He was really cool in a Geek God way and we joked about how he should fix his hair for my photo.

THE AUTHOR
Formerly a poet, Ernest Cline is best known for writing the script for the cult film, Fanboys, and for his phenomenal debut novel, Ready Player One.

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

THE STORY
Zack Lightman is on the verge of graduating from high school, but he doesn’t know what he wants to do with his life. Despite his mother’s prodding, he’s quite happy working at his local video game store and getting to know his dead father by going through his mammoth stash of sci-fi paraphernalia. He’s especially interested in a conspiracy theory his father was working on about a connection between video games and the government. Then one day, Zack sees an alien fighter from his favourite video game, Armada, flying around. Is he hallucinating? Or is Zack about to find out the conspiracy is true and he’s going to join an Earth-wide effort to save the world from an alien invasion?

THE GOOD
Armada is a magic carpet ride for any die-hard sci-fi fan. All of the eighties pop culture references I loved in Ready Player One have been replaced here with a mega-ton of references to science fiction books, movies and video games, such as Star Wars, Star Trek, Aliens, Independence Day, Robotech, Space Invaders and Dungeons and Dragons, just to name a few. Pure nerd joy!

THE BAD
Very much like Ready Player One, the plot is a little far-fetched and cheese ball, but I still loved it. If you can suspend your disbelief, you’re in for a very cool ride.

CONCLUSION
If you haven’t heard already, Wil Wheaton will be back to narrate the audio book and I’m sure he’ll be as great as he was for Ready Player One. Overall, Armada has plenty of action movie-style thrills and heroics that I think will make a lot of fans of the last book happy. I certainly was not disappointed and dare I say I may have even liked this book more! The Force is strong with this one.

4/5 Stars

14 comments on “Armada by Ernest Cline (2015)

  1. janceewright
    June 16, 2015

    I am so excited to read this!!!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 17, 2015

      I think you will love it!

      Like

      • janceewright
        June 17, 2015

        Yay!

        Like

      • janceewright
        July 12, 2015

        Okay, so shortly after this post, Armada showed up in the mail! Yay for book mail! It was so good! And it made me realize just how many staples of nerd culture I haven’t seen, like E.T. So now my roommates and I are taking a journey through science fiction classics!

        Like

        • ebookclassics
          July 19, 2015

          Yay! What are you guys going to read/watch first?

          Like

          • janceewright
            July 20, 2015

            We’ve started with a few very early films (A Trip to the Moon, The Great Train Robbery, the first part of Les Vampires) but now we’re more in the modern age. So far we’ve done Blade Runner, Jaws, and E.T. My family wasn’t big on movies, so I missed many of the classics!

            Like

            • ebookclassics
              July 21, 2015

              I love that you started with those very early films. I’m so excited for all of the cool movies you’re going to watch.

              Like

              • janceewright
                July 21, 2015

                Me too! I can’t believe I missed so much! I’m dreading all the classic horror films though!

                Like

  2. Naomi
    June 16, 2015

    His books sound like a lot of fun. And, he looks like a fun guy, too. See me judging an author by his looks. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 17, 2015

      He was very down-to-earth and like someone you could just hang out with. I’ve enjoyed both of his books, although I’m curious about his movie now.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Brian Joseph
    June 16, 2015

    This sounds like something that I would love.

    I am indeed partially a product of the films and games that you mentioned. The plot sounds like such fun. A contrived plot might actually enhance a book like this for me.

    I have not read Ready Player One but I want to read that one also.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 17, 2015

      Both books are so enjoyable, it was very easy for me to put aside any criticisms. I hope you get to give them a try.

      Like

  4. lauratfrey
    June 17, 2015

    I didn’t know you were on an “Ernie” basis with him 🙂 Do you think a newbie should read this one first, or Ready Player One?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      June 17, 2015

      I think you would get a kick out of all of the eighties pop culture in Ready Player One. Again, some of it is cheese ball, but all in the name of good fun.

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

