ebookclassics

2015 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Do You Ever Seek Advice from Booksellers and Librarians?

2015-Discussion-Challenge3

I visit the library on a weekly (sometimes bi-weekly) basis and book stores at least once a month. I usually know what I’m looking for and other than directions, I don’t usually seek help or advice or even chat with anybody. However, the other week I ended up having a discussion with a bookseller about Karl Ove Knausgaard because I noticed his copy of My Struggle at the cash and I asked him what he thought and if I should read it. It was a fun conversation!

Since I believe a majority of us get book recommendations from bloggers or the media, I wondered whether you ever get book advice from booksellers or librarians. Or are you like me and already know what books you want whenever you visit libraries or book stores?

Thanks for your thoughts!

Visit the challenge hosts Feed Your Fiction Addiction and It Starts At Midnight to see more interesting discussion questions for bloggers.

24 comments on “2015 Book Blogger Discussion Challenge – Do You Ever Seek Advice from Booksellers and Librarians?

  1. I know booksellers and librarians can be great sources of information, but I never actually ask them! Maybe because I usually go into bookstores and libraries with large lists of books I already want to read? Sometimes I do end up chatting with them about my selections, and that’s always fun. I also like it when they put notes on the shelves with staff recommendations.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 7, 2015

      I like staff recommendations too and when the book store or library creates a table with a theme, such as Black History Month, etc.

      Like

  2. Naomi
    July 6, 2015

    I usually know what I’m there for, but sometimes I’m just browsing. I don’t need help to do that, either. If I ask for advice, it’s usually for books for my kids, since I don’t know as much about all the new kids’ books. Or, to ask if they have something in particular that I’m having trouble finding.
    I do have a friend who works at the library that I talk books with, but that doesn’t really count.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 7, 2015

      I also have a librarian friend and we talk about books, but mostly picture books because our kids are the same age.

      Like

  3. Heather
    July 6, 2015

    I am a librarian, so when I ask for recommendations from my co-workers, I’m really asking friends.

    But SO MANY PATRONS ask for recommendations. All the time.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 7, 2015

      Do people take the time to chat with your or are they all business? It’s great to hear that patrons are asking for your book recommendations and I hope it’s for a variety of books and not whispering where can they find 50 Shades … πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heather
        July 7, 2015

        We’re a very small library serving a small community, so people take the time to chat. And yes, people are looking for a variety of books–I’ve never heard a patron ask for 50 Shades. \o/ Hahaha!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. For some reason, I hardly ever ask booksellers or librarians for suggestions. Your story makes me think I should start though!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 7, 2015

      Me too! Writing this post made me realize I’m all business and now I think maybe I should try to be a little more engaging especially if someone has come up to me and said hi.

      Like

  5. janceewright
    July 6, 2015

    I’m a librarian, so it’s usually the other way around…but these days I get my recommendations from publishers and bloggers.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 7, 2015

      Do you receive a lot of requests for book recommendations? Do people take the time to to chat with you about books?

      Like

      • janceewright
        July 7, 2015

        I’m in an academic library, so it’s more often class related, but I do try to do reader’s advisory bulletin boards, and I sometimes get questions about those. And some of our students are readers and will chat about books. I do get a lot of requests from coworkers though!

        Like

  6. Brian Joseph
    July 7, 2015

    I occasionally talk to folks in bookstores. Usually I am interested in recommendations for non – fiction books. I almost never talk gto people in the Library.

    I get a lot of my ideas from articles, bloggers and particularly for non fiction books, C – Span’s Book TV.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 7, 2015

      I need to read more non-fiction too! I really don’t enjoy when retailers try to upsell or get me to sign up for a loyalty program or an extended warranty. I think this paranoia and frustration has carried over into my bookstore outings and may be part of the reason I try to get out as fast as I can.

      Like

  7. lauratfrey
    July 7, 2015

    I follow so many librarians and booksellers on Twitter (mostly those who have blogs!) and always hear about this “handselling” business and I’m like – where have I been? I visit new and used book stores and libraries on a very frequent basis and I’ve never been “handsold” anything in my life. I go in and browse or else I am looking for something specific. I didn’t know this was a “thing” until I became a blogger.

    Another thing I didn’t realize is that most book sellers are big readers. Does that sound dumb? I assumed they were regular retail workers in that they don’t really give a shit πŸ™‚ I say that having worked retail for 5 years in a field I didn’t care about at all. It also never occurred to me to apply to work in a bookstore, even though I was a huge reader at the time that I worked retail.

    So basically I am ignorant lol.

    Like

  8. ebookclassics
    July 7, 2015

    Ha ha … I fear I’m a big ignorant too. I’ve heard of the term “handselling”, but I don’t really know what it means. Is it when they convince you to buy a particular book? I don’t think this has ever happened to me either. I also used to think for book sellers it was just a job and not that they loved books and wanted to be around them. I only really thought of librarians and even teachers that way.

    Like

  9. The Paperback Princess
    July 7, 2015

    Sometimes I chat with the people in bookstores but it’s rare for me to engage a librarian. In the library, I kind of just want to be left alone to browse. I rarely have specific books in mind when I go to the library so I’m content to just wander. Maybe it’s the atmosphere there – it feels blasphemous to engage in a lively conversation in the library. And I always get lively when I talk books (nerd, I know.)

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 9, 2015

      Hmm, I never thought of the quiet factor when at the library. I would probably talk too loud myself if I got into a good conversation. I also didn’t think about how nice it is to quietly browse and take in all the books either at the library or the bookstore.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. jessicabookworm
    July 7, 2015

    I have spoken to booksellers before, although not librarians. I sadly haven’t been to my town’s library in years, as its just not that convenient to get too. I don’t think I have actively sought out these conversations though; they just seemed to happen πŸ™‚

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 9, 2015

      Yes, the best and most memorable conversation is probably the one that happens spontaneously.

      Like

  11. DoingDewey
    July 14, 2015

    The main reason I’m not more excited about the idea of being a librarian is that I don’t ever ask them for help. They’re not a resource I take advantage of at all.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 19, 2015

      I completely understand because this post made me realize I don’t take advantage of their wealth of knowledge either.

      Like

  12. Priya (@tabularasa92)
    July 15, 2015

    In spite of my love for libraries, I did not have a good experience with the school librarian as a kid (like scepticism for picking up books from the older kids’ sections.) The only time I ask librarians or salespeople in bookstores for advice is when my spatially challenged self is lost in endless aisles or I can’t find a particular book or section. πŸ˜€
    I came to your blog looking to participate in the Book to Movie Challenge, but perhaps it is too late in the year to join in?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 19, 2015

      Hi Priya, no it’s not too late to join the Book to Movie Challenge at all. There will be another check-in in a month or two, so stay tuned.

      Did the librarian not allow you to take books out because of your age? I’ve had a few experiences with librarians that have not been positive, but I looked at it as an interaction with an individual. I still greatly love and admire librarians!

      Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2015 by in Bookish Thoughts and tagged .

Now reading

and …

and …

