ebookclassics

Captive by Claudine Dumont

Hello friends! Hope you are all reading really good books. I’ve been enjoying a hot, steamy summer in my part of the world and haven’t felt very motivated to write reviews. However, I’ve been obsessively experimenting with images and videos. Back to posting soon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

NOTE: I received a copy of Captive with much thanks to House of Anansi Press, but this in no way influenced the thoughts and opinions expressed in my review.

15 comments on “Captive by Claudine Dumont

  1. janceewright
    July 28, 2015

    Sounds really intriguing! I’ll have to add it to my TBR!

    Like

  2. Naomi
    July 28, 2015

    Oooh… this sounds good. I want to read it right now. 🙂
    And, I love what you did with the video thingy. It made your review feel atmospheric.
    Have a nice break! And, maybe send some of that warm weather this way (but, not too much)!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 30, 2015

      Thank you for the compliment! We are still enjoying a lot of hot weather in Ontario and I don’t mind after the long winter.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naomi
        July 30, 2015

        I meant to tell you that I read Miss Emily and loved it. So, thanks for sending it! I will probably put up a post about it, but I’m kind of behind right now (because of summer), so it might take a while. 🙂

        Like

  3. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    July 28, 2015

    This is a great review format; very appealing. And the book sounds pretty good, too. 🙂

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 30, 2015

      I may be a little bored with the traditional review format right now. But maybe because it’s summer and all I want to do is sit outside and read.

      Like

  4. Brian Joseph
    July 29, 2015

    The book sounds really good.

    I like really like what you have done with those images and the slideshow. It seems that the slides all have muted shades yet they are attention grabbling. The effect works well.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      July 30, 2015

      Thanks for your comments! I want to try different ways of talking about the books I’ve read other than just writing reviews, but not sure how to go about it.

      Like

  5. DoingDewey
    August 1, 2015

    Interesting review style! I was dubious when I saw it was pictures because I haven’t really taken to any of the new, visual social media platforms, but I really liked it. It added some great atmosphere to your review 🙂

    Like

  6. Naomi
    October 24, 2015

    I just finished reading this, and I loved it. I also liked the ending – I thought it made sense that it ended so abruptly (even though I could have read more of it). The idea for the end seems a bit extreme, but I also can’t help but wonder if it might be a good idea.
    I was also surprised by how much I came to care about what happened to the characters. At first, I didn’t think I was going to like Emma much. It’s amazing that she could have a realistic character turn-around in such a short book.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      October 26, 2015

      Oh wow, I’m so glad somebody else has read this book because it was so good. I agree that the idea for ending was extreme, but plausible. Did you imagine yourself in their situation? I thought about it a lot reading the story what would it would be like.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Captive by Claudine Dumont | Consumed by Ink

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , , .

Now reading

and …

and …

