ebookclassics

Born With Teeth by Kate Mulgrew

kateWhat I remember the most about William Shatner’s fascinating, yet also dreadful, The Captains documentary where he interviews the actors who played Star Trek captains over the course of the franchise’s history, is Kate Mulgrew talking about trying to balance working on an extremely popular show television series and raising two small boys as a single mother. She said things didn’t go so well and to this day her kids won’t even look at Star Trek: Voyager, the show that robbed them of their mother. That kind of honesty about not being able to have it all always stayed with me.

* CONTAINS SPOILERS

THE BOOK

Actress Kate Mulgrew, best known for her television roles on Ryan’s Hope, Star Trek: Voyager and Orange is the New Black, chronicles a life that began as the eldest daughter of a big Irish family, growing up in the Midwest and then moving to New York City to pursue her dreams of acting. Kate was discovered not too soon after she began college and her career sky-rocketed as she juggled working in both television and the theatre. But her glamourous life was not without bad choices, sad endings and a heartbreak that would continue to haunt her no matter successful she became.

THE GOOD

As a fan who admires Kate Mulgrew’s work, I eagerly got my hands on this audio book. Wow! I love Mindy Khaling and Lena Dunham, etc., but here’s the memoir of an actress with real substance and who has many stellar accomplishments. Kate is a fantastic storyteller, keeping her story light in tone, down-to-earth and humourous. She doesn’t feel the need to dish out advice or life lessons. Instead, she emphasizes how she is human and this is her messy, complicated, yet fully lived life.

THE BAD

As a huge Star Trek: Voyager fan, I was a little disappointed that Kate merely touches on her Star Trek career. However, I suspect this is because she has future plans to write a book solely dedicated to this subject.

CONCLUSION

I highly recommend Kate’s memoir to anyone who is a fan of her work and wants to get a better sense of what makes her tick. She’s an impressive storyteller and I can’t wait for her to share more chapters from her life with us.

5/5 Stars

17 comments on “Born With Teeth by Kate Mulgrew

  1. Naomi
    August 4, 2015

    I have to admit that I’m not a Star Trek fan and I don’t know much about Kate Mulgrew, but this book sounds good. And, I love what you said about remembering her honesty about juggling her work and her children – that alone makes me think I’d like her book. Does she concentrate more on her personal life or her career in the book?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 10, 2015

      Sorry for the late response, I was on vacation. The book is definitely focused on the launch of career, her many romantic relationships and her one big regret which I won’t share because it’s a spoiler.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. TJ @ MyBookStrings
    August 4, 2015

    Like Naomi, I would be a little more interested in the working mother aspect of this memoir. I’m always interested to hear others talk/write about how they juggle family and career. I’ll have to check this out.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 10, 2015

      I’m also interested in how mothers balance work and parenting, but this is probably not the best book on this topic because while she talks about her struggle with this, it’s mostly focused on her career and relationships.

      Like

  3. lauratfrey
    August 4, 2015

    I roll my eyes when a celebrity under than age of 40 (let alone under 30, Lena Dunham!) writes a memoir. I love the title of this one. I’m curious about Naomi’s question as well, not being a super-fan of Kate Mulgrew, do you think this would still appeal?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 10, 2015

      After reading this memoir, I think I will be scrutinizing celebrity memoirs a little harder. Kate Mulgrew’s book definitely does not focus on parenting and the more I think about it, may be more suited to someone who is super-fan.

      Like

  4. Danielle Olson
    August 4, 2015

    I love to read memoirs. Adding this to my TBR list! Great review.

    Like

  5. buriedinprint
    August 4, 2015

    I would want to know more about those years too. That feeling is similar to what I had after reading Alan Doyle’s memoir last fall, even though he was clear (from the subtitle of the book!) that it was going to be about the lead-up to his Great Big Sea years. Still, the itch, right?

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 10, 2015

      Did you enjoy Alan Doyle’s book? It’s on my TBR since I’m a big Great Big Sea fan, but I also assumed it was about his years with the band. I will still read it.

      Like

  6. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    August 5, 2015

    I recently listened to the audio of this and fully agree with your review! It was refreshing to read a memoir that felt as honest as this one, and even though I wonder if I would make the same choices as Kate did throughout her life, I really admire how openly she talks about it, and for how she always went with her heart. This was a great memoir!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 10, 2015

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the audio book too and look forward to reading your review. I found her voice to be refreshing too, how she was ashamed of her decision and wanted to do everything to make things right.

      Like

  7. Brian Joseph
    August 5, 2015

    I am a huge Star Trek Fan. I thought that Kate Mulgrew’s performance in Voyager was extremely impressive in its complexity.

    I also saw captains and she is indeed an interesting person. I would like to read this.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 10, 2015

      If you are a fan of both Star Trek and Kate Mulgrew, I think you will really enjoy this book and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

      Like

  8. DoingDewey
    August 5, 2015

    This does sound like a particularly substantial memoir! I haven’t been in the mood for memoirs lately, but this one appeals to me anyway 🙂

    Like

  9. ebookclassics
    August 10, 2015

    Maybe it does have something to do with the fact that Kate Mulgrew is an older actress and fairly accomplished, but I definitely felt there was more to this book and some of the previous memoirs I’ve read were quite fluffy in comparison. I hope you enjoy the book if you decide to read it.

    Like

  10. I don’t read many memoirs, but I love Mulgrew in Orange Is the New Black and would be interested in checking this one out!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2015 by in Reviews and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

