ebookclassics

Celebrities in Classics – Carey Mulligan

carey-mulligan-435Celebrities in Classics is a regular feature where I highlight the classic novel adaptations some of my favourite actors have starred in.

WHO IS IT? Carey Mulligan is a young actress whose sleeper career skyrocketed overnight. She went from playing Kitty Bennet (surely the least interesting Bennet sister) in Pride and Prejudice (2005) to the much loved and coveted, Daisy Buchanan in The Great Gatsby (2013), and is much in demand by Hollywood.

WHAT’S SO FASCINATING? Carey not only has an understated beauty and grace, but a depth and maturity that shine through in her acting. She has received multiple nominations for her performances and won Best Actress awards for her roles in An Education and Never Let Me Go. In 2015, she received a Tony nomination for her part in the Broadway play, Skylight.

FIRST ENCOUNTER: I don’t remember Carey in Pride and Prejudice, so the first time I saw her on screen was probably An Education.

CLASSIC BOOK FILMOGRAPHY
2005 ~ Pride & Prejudice ~ Kitty Bennet
2005 ~ Bleak House ~ Ada Clare
2006 ~ Agatha Christie’s Marple: The Sittaford Mystery ~ Violet Willett
2007 ~ Northanger Abbey ~ Isabella Thorpe
2010 ~ Never Let Me Go ~ Kathy H
2013 ~ The Great Gatsby ~ Daisy Buchanan
2015 ~ Far from the Madding Crowd ~ Bathsheba Everdene

For more of Carey’s filmography, visit Wikipedia.

FUN FACT: Carey is married to Marcus Mumford, the lead singer of the band Mumford and Sons, and is expecting her first child.

GREAT QUOTE (on Never Let Me Go): I loved it first and foremost as a love story and about people who want very simple things from life and can’t get them. Keira Knightley and I did Pride & Prejudice (2005) together and we’ve done lots of adaptations of Charles Dickens and Jane Austen, where the author is not around to tell you if it’s rubbish. And so this was sort of doubly intimidating, because we had Kazuo Ishiguro with us, and you want to be everything that he imagined when he wrote it.

What’s your favourite Carey Mulligan movie? Who should I profile for Celebrities in Classics next?

13 comments on “Celebrities in Classics – Carey Mulligan

  1. janceewright
    August 12, 2015

    I don’t know, Mary may have been less interesting than Kitty. But it’s a toss-up. I recognize Carey from the episode of Doctor Who she was in!

    Like

  2. ebookclassics
    August 12, 2015

    I’m very very behind Doctor Who, so I haven’t seen Carey in that episode. I chose Kitty over Mary because at least Mary did all that piano playing and had a smidge of a chance at marrying Mr. Collins in the book.

    Like

  3. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy
    August 12, 2015

    I don’t remember Carey from P&P either – I need to rewatch it. I loved her in the Doctor Who episode, and Northanger Abbey (her character wasn’t nice, but that is one of my favorite period dramas!) I really want to see Far From the Madding Crowd too – it seems like a great movie. Great spotlight – I’m glad I was reminded of how much I love her! 😀

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 12, 2015

      I’m planning to read Northanger Abbey for Austen to Austen, so I will probably try to get the version of the movie with Carey.

      Like

  4. jessicabookworm
    August 12, 2015

    Carey Mulligan is so beautiful! Looking at your list of adaptations I think I’ve seen them all; except Far From the Madding Crowd. I look forward to watching it though. Like you I must have seen her first in Pride and Prejudice but it is in Bleak House that I first took notice of her.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 12, 2015

      Carey really is beautiful! I want to read and watch Far From the Madding Crowd too. The trailer for the movie looks really good.

      Like

      • jessicabookworm
        August 13, 2015

        I really enjoyed the novel. I hope you do too and hopefully we both enjoy the film 🙂

        Like

  5. Jillian
    August 12, 2015

    I think she’s going to be in a movie called Suffragette soon, which I’d quite like to see!

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 12, 2015

      I think I saw that movie trailer when I was conducting my research. It looks like a good movie and on a very important topic!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lauratfrey
    August 12, 2015

    I need to see Far From the Madding Crowd. Now.

    Like

    • ebookclassics
      August 13, 2015

      Have you read the novel? I haven’t read anything by Thomas Hardy. The movie looks really good and I want to get to know this strong-minded female character who has men falling all over themselves for her.

      Like

      • lauratfrey
        August 13, 2015

        Yeah, I went through a Hardy phase in my early 20s, I read Tess and Far From the Maddning and The Mayor of Casterbridge. Loved it all. But so many years ago I don’t remember much apart from Tess, because there are more cultural references to that story. This movie looks GORGEOUS though.

        Like

Thoughts? Comments?

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2015 by in Celebrities in Classics and tagged , .

Now reading

and …

and …

